We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best locations possible . . !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of el Jardi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added el Jardi to your Saves list
el Jardi
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa Sant Josep Oriol 1 | Barri Gòtic, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #191 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bolton
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“One of the Best locations possible . . !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Just back from a great 3 nights at El Jardi. As mentioned in other reviews it is plain and simple but it is very clean ( rooms cleaned each day ) , friendly staff throughout and great location at the heart of the Gothic district next to Santa Maria Church and a few min's from the Cathedral. Easy to find when walking down the Ramblas, just turn left just before Liceu Metro station and go down the alley for 3-4 min's .Wifi works throughout the Hotel (we were on the 7th of 8 floors and got wifi in the room ok ) . The rooms are very small though and the Bathroom must have been on the limit of the minimum size for a shower , toilet and sink ( if there is such a thing ! ). Plenty of Hot water and descent towels thou. No hairdryer in the room. Breakfast very basic so we opted to go down to the local Bakery just down the alley past the Church entrance.
2 Euro for a Cappucino and 1 Euro for a Croissant

If you plan to go to Gaudi's unfinished Cathedral buy your tickets on-line as there is a seperate que for on-line tickets . The regular cash que goes around three sides of the Block and this was in April . Minimum 2 hour wait !!

For Tapas we would strongly reccomend Mikel Etxea ( despite the reviews on here ) as w had a brilliant last night and the best of 6 different Tapas meals was here . A Bottle of Vina Sol (16.90Euro) and a selection of 6 Tapas dishes was total of 45 Euro and the Tortilla and Croquettes were excellant.
Also reccomend the small bar on the main marine road at the bottom of La Ramblas after turning left at the statue of Columbos , La Taverna Del Portas for three Tapas and a Beer for 5.95 !

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have small "standing only" Terraces with no room for a chair but still g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    206
    80
    31
    14
See reviews for
49
230
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rhode island
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This hotel has a great location just off the Ramblas. We were in a 6th floor interior room and there was no problem with noise. Very clean. Beds are hard, but okay for us. Only prob was with shower - it ran hot and cold a lot and the door was broken so it was hard to get in. Also, do not buy breakfast there. You can walk less than 10 minutes to La Boqueria outdoor market and buy fantastic food - but may not find a seat. Near what became our favorite restaurant in Barcelona - Arcana. Take the Runner Bean tours - which again - are a very short walk away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Chose the el jardi for a last minute trip as we wanted to stay in the Bari Gotic area and this hotel had a room available at a good rate for central Barcelona. Great location 10 mins walk from the Placa Catalunya airport bus drop off, 2 mins off the Ramblas and right in the middle of a lovely maze of pedestrian streets with endless shops, bars, patisseries and restaurants. Basic hotel room, no window for us as all the outside rooms were already booked, clean bathroom with toiletries and fresh towels every day. Good value would not hesitate to return though I would like a balcony next time!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The el Jardi is a superb value considering its prime location just off Las Ramblas and the much higher prices at other hotels in the area. We opted for the 8th floor terrace room and were not disappointed. The fairly large terrace is a great place to sit in the evening with a bottle of wine and enjoy the night sky. Highly highly recommend the terrace room although the rooms on the lower floors with balconies are very nice too and save a bit of money.

The room was small as is to be expected in the midst of a large city but it was spotlessly clean, very comfortable bed and perfect location - just 5 mins walk to las Ramblas, 15 mins walk to Placa de Catalunya and surrounded by many good tapas places.

One word about the restaurants in the area - up on las Ramblas they cater to the tourists with high prices and mediocre quality food. But once you get 2-3 blocks off las Ramblas there are tons of neighborhood places....Hint: if you are being charged more than 2 or 3 euros per tapas then that's a clue you are in one of the tourist traps.

One more word about finding the hotel - we arrived at the airport late and because of the late hour decided to take a taxi thinking it would be easier. Unfortunately it quickly became apparent that our taxi driver had no idea where the hotel was. We were reassured however, when he found the address in his Sat/Nav....or so we thought. Long story short, there is a Sant Josep Oriol street on the OTHER side of las Ramblas that is about 1.5km from the PLACA Sant Josep Oriol - his satnav took us to the STREET rather than the PLACA. Not wanting to spend more money for him to drive around in circles we elected to leave the taxi and ask for directions along the way. We found a youth hostel and the welcoming young man at the desk pulled up our location on Google Earth and showed us exactly how to walk to the el Jardi.

If you do take a taxi and the driver is lost, tell him to drop you off at #80 las Ramblas. It's a bank building I think, but if you stand on las Ramblas facing #80 you will see a small street angling off to the left at about a 30 degree angle. Walk down that street about 5 minutes or less and you will pop out into the plaza facing the hotel and there is a big sign on the side of the building that says Hotel el Jardi.

On the return to the airport, we simply walked up to Placa de Catalunya and caught the airport bus which was fast, cheap, and efficient. The airport buses park at about the 2 to 3 o'clock position on the plaza if you envision the plaza from above as the face of a clock with the fountain at 12 o'clock. The buses run every 10 minutes or so all day long.

Room Tip: 8th Floor terrace rooms are worth the extra charge. Very nice place to unwind at the end of the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We chose the El Jardi because of its great location and good reviews but had rather a disappointing stay. Our room was a good size with little balcony overlooking a pretty square but we weren't told that rooms are serviced only every second day resulting in a missed siesta whilst we waited for a housekeeper! We were on the 6th floor which was a bit of a problem when the lift failed and little interest was shown in fixing it. Also the coffee machine was out of action so we had breakfast out, no problem luckily as there are good options on the Ramblas. Barcelona is a wonderful place to visit for a few days with so much to see and do. A jazz/blues trio at the Jamboree club was a particular pleasure. Also a Saturday morning in the busy park ,very popular with local families and having a spectacular fountain. The elegant Placa Reial was one of the cheaper places to eat and have a beer surprisingly.

Room Tip: It is worth paying a bit more for a room overlooking the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Located in the Plaza del Pi makes el Jardi a prime spot for rambling on las Ramblas or visiting el Barri Gotic, and other amazing places. My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in April 2013 and we absolutely loved the modern comfort and central location of this awesome hotel. Our room had a pretty (albeit tiny) balcony facing the Plaza and we loved people watching from our room. They have installed a ridiculously small elevator in a 300 year old building. It was enough to get myself, my husband and our backpacks up to our room so it was perfect - though cramped. They have free WIFI in the their lobby, and if your device is powerful enough, in your room. There is a Cathedral next door and like most cathedrals with bells, they toll the bells - starting around 7 AM, so bring earplugs if you like to sleep in. There is a small organic farmers market on the weekends in the little plaza next door. When we come back to Barcelona we will stay at the El Jardi without hesitation and without needing to look at any other hotel. I thoroughly recommend this place!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Small hotel in one of the prettiest location in Barri Gotic. 5 mn walk from Ramblas, nice view on Plaça Sant Josep Oriol and Plaça del Pi. 8 floors, narrow corridors and staircases. No lounge. Clean rooms, fair prices.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to el Jardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about el Jardi

Address: Placa Sant Josep Oriol 1 | Barri Gòtic, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#127 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#184 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — el Jardi 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, "el Jardí" is at the artistic and commercial heart of the city center. The Plaça del Pi, near Las Ramblas is a meeting point for visiting the main sights. On foot, you can visit the Cathedral, the Plaça Catalunya and the Palau de la Generalitat, the Passeig de Gracia, el Born district, the beach, the maremagnum or the port.In a 300 years old building, "el Jardí" offers 40 rooms equipped with bathroom, air conditioning / heating, safety box, satellite TV and telephone. The lobby is wi-fi ready and there is a personal computer available for our customers. "el Jardí" also offers the option of a Continental breakfast.With a friendly atmosphere and a multilingual team, our reception strives every day to provide a personalized attention to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your el Jardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardi - Hostal Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Jardi Barcelona
Jardi Hotel Barcelona
El Jardi Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage el Jardi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.