We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm, good value and great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of el Jardi

Save Saved
You added el Jardi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
el Jardi
Placa Sant Josep Oriol 1 | Barri Gòtic, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charm, good value and great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We booked El Jardi first of all because we were looking for a good value hotel in the Bari Gothic. El Jardi fulfilled way more than these two criteria. The rooms are quaint and clean with a lovely view on the plaza below. The staff was most welcoming and helpful. So close to the Ramblas you can walk to the amazing market, the beach and the metro is right there too if you feel more adventurous. It is lovely to walk around the pedestrian streets around the hotel and enjoy the cafés too. I also recommend the great value breakfast.

Room Tip: Remember to ask for a room with the view on the plaza. I booked by phone and the rooms we were recom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    164
    66
    27
    13
See reviews for
39
180
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for our first three nights in Barcelona. The location of the hotel is great for sightseeing downtown, just minutes from the Ramblas. The rooms are very clean, good bed and a very nice view over the square below. From our balcony we have enjoyed a lot of streetperformers and lovely sunrises. Keep in mind this hotel is in the middle of a busy part of town, so expect noise from outside on weekend nights, sunday and monday were quiet, we could sleep with our balcony doors open. Breakfast is simple, but costs us only 6 euros, so its a fair price. We would come back here and do recommend this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
cornwall
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We have stayed at El Jardi several times, and also the sister hotel La Terrassa. Situated nicely in the Barri Gotic and close to the Ramblas, it overlooks the Placa Sant Josep Orial and is sideways on to Palca del Pi. Accommodation is basic but clean and rooms facing either square are excellent value but need to be booked well in advance. One square holds an art display daily and the other a food market. Each square has bars and restaurants ideal for people watching. We try to visit during the Merce Festival in September, one of Barcelona's best kept secrets. Non stop entertainment, bands of all types, fireworks and beautiful displays of the elegant catalan sardanas dance. We awoke one morning to a group of Castellers practicing outside our window and we were 3 floors up. Lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Stayed in hotel jardi in barcelona for 6 nights. Great value for money, very central,rooms are very clean and hotel saff very helpful and friendly. Would recommend this hotel. Rooms are very quiet, not much noise.

Room Tip: We were in room 45, very spacious and nice view over the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed at El Jardi for two nights in November. I had a standard exterior room that overlooked one of the plazas -- I say "one of" because there are two adjoining plazas upon which the hostal sits. The room was basic and small with two twin beds, a desk with tv stand and armoire -- not much more room to move. The bathroom was basic with a small shower stall. Keep in mind the walls were thin as I heard most of the noise from the adjoining room as well as when the window is open, the plaza can be noisy. (I also always bring ear plugs so that is rarely a hugely upsetting issue for me. I merely point it out to encourage others to do the same.) Also, the wifi only seemed to work in the lobby area. That being said, the location was fantastic -- surrounded by such lovely plazas in Barri Gothic. The staff was friendly and helpful. The room was clean. The price was on par for what I would expect. Overall, good experience. If I were to take a short trip to Barcelona again, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had an absolutely fantastic time. The location was perfect for us as it is situated in a picturesque square that is bustling with activity and yet remains both charming and practical for eating, drinking and shopping.

The staff were extremely friendly and courteous with both our check in and departure being smooth and efficient.

Yes the room and bathroom is small, but, that in no way detracted from what we thought about the hotel. The room was very clean and when we returned each evening it had been cleaned to a very high standard.

All in all this is a gem of a hotel and we would most definitely stay here again when we return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Last Summer we stayed at this Hotel for 5 days. It was our third stay at El Jardi and it won't be our last. The rooms are on the small side and it's strictly "no frills" but it's very clean and its location, in the heart of the Barri Gòtic, the old part of Barcelona, can't be beat. We had a room that looked out on to a smallish square such that we could see the moonlit tower of a neighbouring church. Many restaurants are nearly and the street animation kept us entertained the whole evening. A few minutes' walk brought us to La Rambla.

We found the room to be quite quiet in spite of the balcony opening out on to the square. All the plumbing was up to date, the bed was comfortable, the WiFi worked, and the optional breakfast at 6 Euros served good coffee. The reception was efficient, pleasant to work with and very knowledgeable about the city.

The only downside was the stairs leading from the front door to the reception which can be a challenge when you're lugging two 20 kg suitcases with you.

We'll be back at El Jardi when we return to this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to el Jardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about el Jardi

Address: Placa Sant Josep Oriol 1 | Barri Gòtic, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#29 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#146 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#179 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, "el Jardí" is at the artistic and commercial heart of the city center. The Plaça del Pi, near Las Ramblas is a meeting point for visiting the main sights. On foot, you can visit the Cathedral, the Plaça Catalunya and the Palau de la Generalitat, the Passeig de Gracia, el Born district, the beach, the maremagnum or the port.In a 300 years old building, "el Jardí" offers 40 rooms equipped with bathroom, air conditioning / heating, safety box, satellite TV and telephone. The lobby is wi-fi ready and there is a personal computer available for our customers. "el Jardí" also offers the option of a Continental breakfast.With a friendly atmosphere and a multilingual team, our reception strives every day to provide a personalized attention to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your el Jardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardi - Hostal Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Jardi Barcelona
Jardi Hotel Barcelona
El Jardi Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage el Jardi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.