We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for us” 5 of 5 stars
Review of el Jardi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added el Jardi to your Saves list
el Jardi
Placa Sant Josep Oriol 1 | Barri Gòtic, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (El Barri Gòtic)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #189 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Luton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
253 reviews 253 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
“Perfect for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and had an absolutely fantastic time. The location was perfect for us as it is situated in a picturesque square that is bustling with activity and yet remains both charming and practical for eating, drinking and shopping.

The staff were extremely friendly and courteous with both our check in and departure being smooth and efficient.

Yes the room and bathroom is small, but, that in no way detracted from what we thought about the hotel. The room was very clean and when we returned each evening it had been cleaned to a very high standard.

All in all this is a gem of a hotel and we would most definitely stay here again when we return to Barcelona.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    194
    76
    29
    14
See reviews for
46
211
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Last Summer we stayed at this Hotel for 5 days. It was our third stay at El Jardi and it won't be our last. The rooms are on the small side and it's strictly "no frills" but it's very clean and its location, in the heart of the Barri Gòtic, the old part of Barcelona, can't be beat. We had a room that looked out on to a smallish square such that we could see the moonlit tower of a neighbouring church. Many restaurants are nearly and the street animation kept us entertained the whole evening. A few minutes' walk brought us to La Rambla.

We found the room to be quite quiet in spite of the balcony opening out on to the square. All the plumbing was up to date, the bed was comfortable, the WiFi worked, and the optional breakfast at 6 Euros served good coffee. The reception was efficient, pleasant to work with and very knowledgeable about the city.

The only downside was the stairs leading from the front door to the reception which can be a challenge when you're lugging two 20 kg suitcases with you.

We'll be back at El Jardi when we return to this beautiful city.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnley
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Don't be put off by the word hostel- this is anything but. A fantastic hotel in a brilliant location just off the Ramblas. Set in a delightful square with many bars and restaurants within walking distance. The staff are excellent and the room we had on the eight floor was superb with its own private terrace with great views over the square and rooftops of the city. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Room 84- great views over to cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The title says it all, this is a clean, no frills place but in a great setting between 2 squares with lots of rooms with views and tiny balconies. This was my second visit this year and other than problems with the safe key I was very happy. I think it is time to invest in digital safes.

Room Tip: A balcony room overlooking either square and earplugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

The Hotel El Jardi is excellent value for money and wonderfully positioned right in the centre of the old part of Barcelona. It is spotlessly clean and the room we had had am delightful roof terrace with table and chairs. There was a well equipped shower room, a small dressing table/storage shelves, a large wardrobe and a TV. The room was well lit and were was an excellent air conditioning/heating unit .All the staff were friendly and helpful, especially those on the reception desk who were very knowledgeable about the sites of Barcelona.

Room Tip: The rooms on the top floor (numbers 82-85) all have a lovely roof terraces.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Great location and helpful friendly staff, but little else to recommend. Tiny rooms, 30cm depth balcony with a great view. Taxi driver could not find it from the Ramblas as streets pedestrian or one way.

Room Tip: Make sure there is space to turn around in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hostal Jardi doesn't try promote itself as something it is not. It is not luxury accommodations but it is very clean, centrally located and the staff is friendly and welcoming. You do have to climb a flight of stairs to get to the reception area, which my husband and I did not think was a big deal but then there is a small elevator to take you to the upper floors. Breakfast is served at an additional cost, if it is desired. I should mention that the hostal is on a small plaza that can be a little noisy but having said that, the windows that lead to our little balcony (which was lovely) were double paned and kept out most of the noise. We were in a room facing the square on the same floor as the reception.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to el Jardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about el Jardi

Address: Placa Sant Josep Oriol 1 | Barri Gòtic, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Barri Gòtic
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#134 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#174 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a privileged location, "el Jardí" is at the artistic and commercial heart of the city center. The Plaça del Pi, near Las Ramblas is a meeting point for visiting the main sights. On foot, you can visit the Cathedral, the Plaça Catalunya and the Palau de la Generalitat, the Passeig de Gracia, el Born district, the beach, the maremagnum or the port.In a 300 years old building, "el Jardí" offers 40 rooms equipped with bathroom, air conditioning / heating, safety box, satellite TV and telephone. The lobby is wi-fi ready and there is a personal computer available for our customers. "el Jardí" also offers the option of a Continental breakfast.With a friendly atmosphere and a multilingual team, our reception strives every day to provide a personalized attention to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your el Jardi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Jardi - Hostal Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Jardi Barcelona
Jardi Hotel Barcelona
El Jardi Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage el Jardi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.