We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Continental Barcelona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rambla de Canaletets, 138, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #259 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
KATONAH
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at Hotel Barcelona. Room was a little crowded for 3 when our son joined us, but the room was clean and had a balcony on the Ramblas. The staff gave us great recommendations for restaurants, as we learned when we waited 45minutes-1hr to eat. The 24 hour food and drink was nice. The food is not a great selection, but for breakfast it was OK. The drinks were great, especially after touring all day. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your review and your recommendations to other travelers.
We are very glad that you appreciate your whole stay at our Continental Barcelona hotel during your last stay in Barcelona.
Thank you for your special mention about our staff members.

It is always gratifying to receive a positive feedback.
Thank you again and we do look forward to receiving your once again in the near future.

Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    265
    111
    47
    29
See reviews for
138
290
37
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 5 nights here over Easter weekend with beginning vacation of northern Spain. Wonderful location for many attractions with Metro station on one side & taxi stand on other. Loved having a balcony overlooking the beautiful tree lined Ramblas to rest & enjoy all the people rambling below with a cup of coffee or glass of wine. The 24 hour complimentary coffee & wine bar with plenty of snacks is a great convenience. The staff is the most accommodating of just about anywhere I've visited & never seemed to begrudge any task asked of them.
The only cons would be the quirky elevator & perhaps the all pink rooms & carpeting could stand to be updated.
I truly think the owners/managers tried to think of every convenience for travelers such as plenty of hangers, bathroom amenities, TV, microwave, & refrigerators.
Plan to stay here again in the future if I'm lucky enough to return to beautiful, friendly Barcelona.
Kathy B
NC, USA

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest:

We would like to thank you again for having chosen the hotel Continental Barcelona for your last stay in Barcelona.

Thank you for taking the time to communicate us why our hotel did not entirely meet your expectations.

We will further evaluate how we can improve the areas mentionned for the comfortability of our guest.

We highly appreciated your feedback and it will assist us in becoming better in what we do.

As with any business like ours, the greatest advertising we can have is word of mouth from satisfied customers. It is our goal to retain you as a satisfied customer and will hope to serve you again in the future.

We feel honor to know you will be back in the future. Thank you.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and all the Staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

First time in Barcelona and we were not disappointed, we stayed for 5 nights at Hotel Continental from the minute we arrived at the hotel to the minute we left the hard working, welcoming staff couldn't do enough, location was perfect whether you wanted a busy sight seeing holiday[metro outside hotel] or a beach holiday [the beach was a pleasant 1/2 hour stroll] & fantastic shops on your doorstep. lots of choice at breakfast, 24 hr buffet was convenient whether it was a quick snack or a cold beer on your balcony watching the world go by. fridge and microwave in your room. bedding and towels changed daily, rooms cleaned to a high standard. Hoping to book for girls weekend in September and this time next year. I would certainly recommend Hotel Continental to friends and family. Thank you for your hospitality.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our Continental Barcelona hotel in Barcelona and for taking part of your precious time to give us your feedback.
We are delighted to read your reviews and are pleased to know you enjoyed your whole stay!
Thank you for letting us know that you will recommend us and come Back!

Always at your disposition,

Viviane and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

On arrival at the hotel, we were a bit perplexed at how to get into the hotel (we finally figured out that you go up to the 3rd level where the check-in desk is located). Our room had a balcony overlooking Las Ramblas and we enjoyed eating and just watching the constant flow of people up and down the street. The rooms are overloaded with pink, and once you learn how the array of switches work, the room is very comfortable. The 24-hour buffet of snacks and light foods was very convenient to grab drinks, ice cream, or soup/broth with a variety of noodles or veggies. The staff was extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel based on its cleanliness, its quirkiness, and its proximity to local tourist sites (or convenient access via the metro directly outside the hotel).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, May 31, 2014
Dear Guest;

Thank you for your in-depth review of our Continental Barcelona in Barcelona.
Reading such a wonderful report of our service and facilities is a real pleasure.

Our team strives to deliver the highest levels of personal service and everyone in the team, including the management, like to engage with our guests at every opportunity.

We sincerely hope we will be able to welcome you back here.

Always at your service.

Viviane Komze and all the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, Michigan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

We took our grandson to Barcelona and stayed for a week at Hotel Continental Barcelona. We had a wonderful room with a balcony overlooking the Ramblas. 24 hour food. Our grandson loved the ice cream, pop and fresh fruit whenever he wanted. My husband could have a beer or wine. Location was great for access to many things going on in Barcelona.

Room Tip: Looking for quiet? Ask for a room not on the Ramblas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback after your stay at our Hotel Barcelona. We are happy to hear that you appreciated your stay, especially our 24 hours free snacking buffet.
Thank you again for booking us.
Looking forward to your soon return visit and our soft ice-cream will always be here for your grand son.

Always at your disposition,
Viviane Komze and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We've stayed at both this hotel and the Continental Palacete before, so we knew what to expect. It's a very nice hotel, with well-equipped rooms, a 24 hour buffet and a fantastic location.

Our room was on the 3rd floor rather than the main floor, so using the lift was a bit fiddly. On the other hand, the room was dead quiet, with nothing to disturb us. The bed was firm, as others have said, but was actually very comfortable despite this.

We arrived at the hotel at around 2pm, and the first thing we did, after taking our cases up, was to go to the buffet for a glass of wine, and then sit on the balcony overlooking La Rambla. The food on the buffet is pleasant and varied, with some very nice bread (about 3 kinds) in the mornings. Both the coffee and the beer are very pleasant, and the wine is easily drinkable.

On the first morning, my wife found that the hair dryer didn't work, so we mentioned this at reception on the way to breakfast. We found on our return that the dryer had already been changed! I must also say that both the room and the bathroom were kept absolutely spotless.

Although the staff at reception changed during the day, we mainly dealt with two charming young ladies; both of whom had excellent English, and were really helpful.

Something which may be new since we were last there is that residents at either hotel can use the buffet at the other. Since we were on R. de Catalunya one lunchtime, we called in at the Palacete. We were welcomed by a charming man who spoke excellent English, and enjoyed the buffet, eating in the magnificent dining room.

Definitely a place we'd stay at again, and would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for taking the time to share your invaluable impressions after your recent stay at Hotel Barcelona.
We are happy to hear that everything was fine and that you will choose us again next time you visit Barcelona.
Feel free to select the Continental Barcelona or the Continental Palacete as you will be at home whenever you decide to stay.
Looking forward to your return visit.

Always at your disposition,

Viviane Komze and all the staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

My husband and I have stayed three times in Hotel Continental, twice just us and once with the whole family (11 persons). We all love the kitchy atmosphere, the 24 hours buffet, the service and the location.

Room Tip: You have to take a room with view of Las Ramblas. Can be a bit noisy in the night but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful comments after your recent stay at our Hotel, especially for repeating your experience.

Looking forward to welcoming you soon again.

Always at your service,

Viviane Komze and the Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Barcelona

Address: Rambla de Canaletets, 138, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #259 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hotel Continental Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.