We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location and totally helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Continental Barcelona to your Saves list
Hotel Continental Barcelona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rambla de Canaletets, 138, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #274 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Alicante, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Location, location and totally helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

An excellent stay, our third.. We live in Alicante and come for meetings in Barcelona. The decor is totally idiosyncratic but somehow works. It is in one of the old historic buildings on the Rambla. Superb! All is clean, kind and helpful and the all day buffet is truly amazing for a hotel in the city. Security is excellent, though the lift is not my favourite (there are steps to use!).We shall continue to patronise. .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank you for taking time to share your experience at the Continental Barcelona with us.

We were delighted to read your reviews, and were especially pleased for your kind words about our hotel.

It made us happy to know you enjoyed your stay between us.

You are always welcome to stay with us when your travels bring you this way.

Always at your service,


Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    258
    105
    44
    29
See reviews for
131
272
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

The location is PERFECT. The staff is friendly - the all day and night buffet with free wine and beer (not to mention ice cream) is really cool... the decor is OMG! PINK! and hideous wallpaper.. on EVERYTHING. After the initial shock we actually were amused by it. I'd say it;s so ugly it's pretty, but it's just ugly. Prepare yourself for that and have a great stay.

Room Tip: Balcony is a must - otherwise you are trapped in pink and ugly wallpaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest;

We thank you for choosing the Continental Barcelona for your recently stay in the city of Barcelona.

You are right in that our rooms are pink!

That is evidently with our 24 hours free snacking buffet, two of the reasons why we are not a conventional Hotel.

We are a very historical hotel in the heart of Barcelona with a very unique décor!

We are not a luxury hotel and we are from the old school of small hotel principles that insists on earning a good reputation over time with excellent customer service.

As you can imagine, we really appreciate the time you took to do review your stay between us and recognize that your stay was pleasant.

We remain at your disposition.

Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

My family of four stayed at this hotel. The location was just a few steps from the metro, which was very nice since we arrived late by train. The doors are locked, and the front desk will buss you into the building, so security is really good. You make your way up by elevator or stairs around the elevator to the 2nd floor I believe, the front desk will buzz you in again, and the door will open for you. Our room was up a few floors, and again the front desk buzzed us into the hallways once we arrived, then there is a phone to use to buzz to get out (but the doors are automatic, so they open when they buzz as well). The decorations are very unique and very pink! The balcony was amazing and a great opportunity to watch all the action on the Rambla. We also enjoyed the 24-hour snack bar, including drinks and ice cream. It was always nice to come back from a long day and grab and drink and dessert, then head to our balcony. We really enjoyed our stay!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest:

We really appreciate that you took so much time to share your experience at the Continental Barcelona with all.

Your reviews made us felt great! It is so delightful to meet people who really appreciated the originality of the Continental Barcelona.

No words could express enough our gratitude.

Thank you for your confidence and for providing us more reason to improve our services every day.

Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night only (thankfully) and were encouraged by the generally positive reviews we had seen prior to visiting. I'm in no way a hotel snob but this place was nasty and my wife, who isn't particularly fussy about staying in 2* hotels, thought this was the worst hotel she'd ever stayed in.

Location - this is where this hotel excels. It's 150yds from the Playa Catalunya and in a prime position on Las Ramblas. That's about as kind as i'm going to be i'm afraid.

The Room - As I expected, the room was like an explosion in a pepto bismol factory with pink everywhere. I can deal with slightly garish decor. What I can't deal with is having to climb over the bed to get into the bathroom (there was literally 6 inches between the bottom of the bed and the bathroom door. The walls were stained with what looked like damp and the furniture was all plastic garden furniture.

The 24 hour buffet - prior to visiting I thought we would be able to get good use out of the 24-hour free drinks and snacks. How wrong was I?

The food as I expected was basic (this isn't a problem) but the drinks machine was swarming with flies. The hotel room was so bad we spent hundreds of euros in the local hard rock cafe getting drunk so we didn't have to face being in the room any longer.

I know this review seems harsh - trust me, this place is nasty.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest.

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your unfortunate experience at the Continental Barcelona.

It is frustrating when expectations are not met and we are sorry for your misfortune at the hotel.
We strive to reach everyone who chose our hotel during their trip but we understand that for some, our hotel standard is incompatible with their own.

Therefore, knowing that each experience is personal and totally subjective, we will then give a special attention to your review regarding the cleanness of the drink machine and also the moisture in your bathroom alerts us.

We appreciate your calling this to our attention. We may need more supervision of our crew.
Your comments will certainly help us, as we are constantly revising and redesigning the way we do things at the hotel.

It is our goal to provide an excellent service.

Thank you for your comments and for caring enough to tell us.

Always at your service,
Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hong kong
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Location is excellent, only 1 minute from metro station, on the busiest street, the Ramblas. Shops, restaurant are plenty! My first time to stay at a hotel which provide 24 hrs buffet. Of course, don't expect too much on the variety or the quality of food. But it's convenient, you can go out to have a drink at any time. The best thing is there is an electricity outlet under every table in the restaurant. Staff are nice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest;

Thank for your recent stay at the Continental Barcelona.

Receive a very special thank from all the hotel Continental Barcelona’s staff who has really appreciated your good valuation of their service.

We would like to thank you also for spending your time to inform us why our service didn’t meet your entire expectations.

We feel sorry to hear that our buffet 24 hours free snacking buffet does not meet your entire satisfaction as this is one of the essential parts of our service.

We always ensure that our customers are happy and satisfied by the large variety of products we offer on our 24 hours free buffet, but due to certain reasons our offer did not meet your expectations.

We will do our best to make sure that you will trust our hotel again and be confident with our services again.

Satisfied customers are our biggest achievement.

Thank you for your attention.

Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
morden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is a very pink hotel, with few frills but lots of facilities. The staff were friendly and very helpful and when i said I was cold, provided a heater. The cupboards are plastic but usable and it is lovely to have a balcony over Las ramblas if only you could sleep at night (too much noise) I had assumed this was only a summer problem however Barcelona football fans and Fete days are a serious barrier to sleep. The 24 hour buffet is great as is has on tap wine, beer, coffee and tea. However the food never changed at all and at times did run out so don't rely on it. Crockery, cutlery and glasses were all plastic. It was very helpful to have a fridge and a microwave though.
This was so central you could walk everywhere and being so near the airport bus stop we did not need our travel ticket which was just as well because we bought one and lost it. Would stay there again but not pay extra. Bed was very warm and comfortable and there were extra blankets and pillows.

Room Tip: Don't be tempted to pay extra for Las Ramblas rooms so noisy we couldn't sleep and this was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest;

We thank you so much for your recent stay at the Continental Barcelona.

Also a very special thank you for taking part of your value time to let us know what we did well and what we could better to improve our service.

We really regret the fact that our 24 hours free snacking buffet was not always refilled on time during your stay at the hotel.

We really apologize for this trouble due to our negligence.

We hope that this matter will not be an impediment to receive you one more time between us.

Thank you for your attention.

Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We are back from once again staying in the Continental. We stayed for two nights and we both enjoyed staying there. We had a balcony room. We did not hear any noise from the street.
Everyone on reception was very pleasant.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you gave us to serving you during your stay in Barcelona.

We are delighted to know that you had a great stay between us.

Thank you for your feedback as it will help us provide better services.
Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Continental Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Barcelona

Address: Rambla de Canaletets, 138, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #274 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Continental Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.