We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Continental Barcelona

Save Saved
You added Hotel Continental Barcelona to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Continental Barcelona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rambla de Canaletets, 138, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #235 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel continental for a 2 night stay over Xmas 2012.
This very charming hotel with the totally over the top wallpapered walls,ceilings and even coving is idealy
Situated on las ramblas. Our room had a small balcony which being on the 4th floor of the building was a bit scary to sit out on. The room decor was dated with old pink wallpaper and plastic furniture. This was not a problem for us but maybe would be for other people who like a few home comforts whilst away.
The free wifi was a good quality and also the all inclusive drinks were welcome. Shame the beer was served in plastic cups though.
Now again we were not bothered as we ate out , but if I was depending on the buffet for meals, then I would have been disapointed. We used the buffet for breakfast which consisted of toast , hard boiled eggs, a few bits of ham and not much else. I did notice that there wasn't anyone who would constantly refresh the dishes. Once the ham was gone then hard luck.
There was what appeared to be a rice dish laying around untouched for the duration of our stay. So when you come back to the hotel after a night out and feeling a bit peckish , you may be a bit disapointed.
There didn't appear to be a lot of staff at the hotel but the 3 receptionists who appeared to be on a shift system were all friendly , helpful and spoke good English.
On to other suggestions.
Make sure you allow lots of time when you visit sagrada familia. This stunning gaudi cathedral is a must visit but the queue to see inside went all around the site. Even if you stay outside and admire this masterpiece it's worth it.
Travel around the city is easy using their excellent transport system.
We purchased a travel card online before we went.
You exchange your online voucher at the desk just as you leave the airport terminal . Then on the Renfe train into the city then use the excellent metro service. I would definitely recommend this as we used a metro a lot.
A lot of people I spoke to commented on the scams and pickpocketers in Barcelona.
Just be vigilant , always zip up bags and put them fully over your neck and not just draped over your shoulder.
We didn't have any problems or did not see any. You will notice though a lot of police around the place which may have scared a lot of the culprits away.
Barcelona is a great place to visit, we will return one day and I would definitely recommend it.
We may not return to the hotel continental but don't be put off staying here.
In summary, it's ideally situated and you get free drinks.



Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Continental Barcelona.

Very special thanks for taking the time to let us know about your experience between us.

We take note about the reasons why your stay between us did not meet your entire expectations and we feel sorry to hear that sometimes our 24hours free buffet, one of the reason of our pride was not always refilled on time during your stay.

We appreciate customers who let us know the things which things aren’t well because it will assist us in becoming better as what we do.

We also thank you for taking the time to recommend other people to stay with although you would not choose us once again in the in the future.

Always at your service.

Sincerely,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    157
    254
    101
    39
    29
See reviews for
117
243
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Let's start by the location- excellent. just between the Gotic and the Born (note to self- next time explore the Born, only had an hour there but beautiful and tres chic). it's on the main street and every night we would go explore the Gotic streets. It's located just behind the main post office- there were always policemen around. very safe.

Big plus-As you can deduce from the title- we were 3 persons in a room, and unlike other hotels that put an extra lousy bad with a thin mattress, there's a sofa with an actual thick and good mattress in the room. I'm 5'9 (1.75m) with some back problems, and had no problems at all. The room itself is indeed very dark but if you're a couple, there are better lit rooms. Anyway- no biggi. Also you can sometimes feel the metro passing underneath the hotel, but really not a problem.
The staff- some are very nice and helpful, some less so.

The bathroom is very nice but the shampoo and stuff are of a very low quality- for women (or men) with long hair- better bring your own.

The breakfast- very disappointing! I'm not a fussy eater but seriously unless you like all kinds of cold meats or sausages for your breakfast... There were some cereals + yogurt, hard boiled eggs and white bread (also some really not nice-looking muffins), one kind of yellow Swiss cheese, no vegetables at all and the fruits have seen better days. Don't let the lousy breakfast stop you- all around the hotel there are fruit shops, markets etc. we bought some veggies, fruits and nuts and ate like kings!!!

To sum up, it's recommended if you get it for a decent price, but you need to improve the breakfast and pay extra for WiFi +safe.

And if you're in the area pay a visit to the Santa Caterina market (5 min. walk in the Born) and treat yourself for lunch in their restaurant- excellent food, average prices and excellent venue.

Room Tip: if you're a couple ask for the better lit rooms with a view to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest:


We thank you for choosing the Continental Barcelona for your recent stay in Barcelona.

Your comments about our 24 hours free buffet were most troubling but we want you to unequivocally thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Our 24 hours free buffet prides itself on providing our guests with highest level of freshness and also quality of its products.

Regarding the breakfast, our hotel provides much more variety of products than other 3 and four stars hotels of the surroundings.

Making our guests´stay between us enjoyable is our highest priority and we feel very sorry to know that we did not meet your expectations.

In hotel’s business, our reputation and success is built on your appreciation and we thank you once again for letting us know about your experience at our property.

Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wildomar, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We really enjoyed staying at this hotel. The location is amazing, just a few doors down from Plaza Catalunya. We liked that we could just tell cab drivers to just drop us at Plaza Catalunya. The decor is over the top but we enjoyed it. Definitely not a cookie cutter chain hotel. The rooms are small but adequate, with plastic furniture. We had a balcony room over looking Las Ramblas and would stay in one again. It was great sitting on the balcony with a cappucino [free] watching the world go by. The included buffet was sufficiant for our needs. We really just used it for breakfast and to grab a little something between forays out into the city. We never felt like we had to find something eat. We could just stop somewhere that looked interesting. We figured out that the we drank half our room rate in free cappucinos and espressos. The staff were amazing. Answering all our questions, mailing post cards etc. We would definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Get a balcony room. You can hear some street noise but worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you for choosing the Continental Barcelona for your recent stay in Barcelona.

Your positive feedback is extremely helpful and important to us in delivering the highest levels of quality and service to our valuable customers.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience between us.
It really means a lot to everyone on our staff.

We hope to serving you again in the future.

Always at your disposition,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We were 6 men ,who runs a bar in Norway, on a business and "visiting bars in Barcelona" tour. The hotelromm was large and pink but very charming. The madrasses are a little to hard as many spanish hotels. I dont understand why they just travel to IKEA and buy some better madrasses. It is free food and drinks in the reception area. The wine and beer is ok but we decided after the first breakfast to eat other places.
As we were 6 guys, drinking a lot during the Barcelona night, I have to say thank you to the personal working at the hotel for their patience and nice service :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony , it is worth the extra price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Guest;

Thank you for choosing the Continental Barcelona for your recent stay in Barcelona and also for taking the time to review your stay at the hotel.

Regarding our mattresses, these have been conceived to ensure you have a nice sleep during your stay at the hotel and we feel very sorry to hear that our goal did not meet our expectation.

We thank you for your kind words about our staff.

We know that you have many hotel choices and hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed her for one night after getting off a cruise ship. The location is excellent to see the main area of Barcelona. We took a cab from the cruise ship (approx 17 euros) and the following morning we walked to the Placa Catalunya to catch the Aero Bus (5.5 euros each). The hotel is quirky and very pink, but clean. We had a Ramblas view room on the 3rd floor. The room was fine and big enough for us with all of our luggage. Since we left for the airport at 7am, we did not eat breakfast at the hotel but looking at the buffet, there was plenty of food to pick from. We left the hotel and spent the day in the Gothic Quarter. We also toured Gaudi's Palau Guell which is a few blocks down Las Ramblas. I would stay there again if in Barcelona as it is very convenient. We did hear noise during the night from people leaving bars/restaurants. Since it was Saturday night, that didn't surprise me. If you are a light sleeper, a Ramblas view room may not be for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing the Continental Barcelona after your cruise.

We also would like to thank you for leaving such lovely comments about our property.

We're glad that you enjoyed your short stay and will look forward to receiving you again.

Always at your service,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed 1 night post cruise. The hotel is in a great location on Las Rambla. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the 24 hour buffet was an added bonus, and was worth it for the drinks alone ! We had a balcony room that overlooked Las Rambla, and as we arrived the day of the strike and protest march there was a lot to watch from the balcony ! The room was good, and very pink.......as we expected. I would definatley return. Taxi to the port only cost 14 euros.

Room Tip: choose las rambla balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMMV, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Continental Barcelona, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for spending your time to inform us that our service did meet your expectations.

We thank you so much for your feedback because satisfied customers are our biggest achievement.

Thank you once again for your choice and have a nice day.

Sincerely,

Viviane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Continental Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Continental Barcelona

Address: Rambla de Canaletets, 138, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#186 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Continental Barcelona 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Continental Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Barcelona
Hotel Continental Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Continental Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.