We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very impressed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amrey Sant Pau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amrey Sant Pau to your Saves list
Amrey Sant Pau
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   173 Sant Antoni Maria Claret | Esquina Sant Quintí, 08041 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #235 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very impressed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2011

Booked the hotel based on the good reviews on Tripadvisor. When we got to hotel, reception was very warm and friendly. We asked for a room facing the Hospital de Sant Pau and the receptionist reassured us that he had a good room for us. The room was on the top floor and from there up another flight of steps which initially got me slightly concerned. But we opened the room - it was good size, cozy, good double bed and the bathroom/toilet was immaculate. The best bit was - I thought it was just going to be a little window facing the beautiful Sant Pau hospital - but upon drawing the curtains, we stepped onto a wide balcony with chairs and table to lounge on whist taking in the amazing view.
The reception later pointed us to a few tapas bars nearby as that was what we meant to go to Spain for. The tapas, as I had anticipated, were divine. I knew the Sagrada Familia was within walking distance from the hotel but in fact it was only about 10mins walk away. So I'd say a superb location in that respect. However it in the centre (La Rambla) where everything is but it's only a few metro stops away. Bought the T-10 ticket based on Tripadvisor advise as well which served us very well indeed.
The only thing was that personally, we like thicker/bigger pillows as the ones in the room were slightly flat. Nonetheless we asked the reception for extra pillows which they graciously obliged us with. Also could do with slightly better directions to the hotel on the website (although it was relatively easy to find on Googlemaps). Finally, perhaps the hotel could consider room service?
Also very impressive was that the room was cleaned everyday when we were away - they never disturbed us when we were in the room but once we got back from city sightseeing, it's like little elves had come to clean the room. Superb.
Overall I have to say, the hotel was absolutely superb - all the basic things you need from a hotel. Good value for money (for Barca standards and close to town and on Easter weekend!) Totally recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    168
    61
    12
    9
See reviews for
41
170
14
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petrovac, Montenegro
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Nice hotel with good location(10 min walk from Sagrada Familia).Service is really good only thing that is negative in this hotel are thin wall through you can heard everything.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2010

The staff of this hotel were exceedingly rude. Whenever we had a problem or concern, they were very defensive and did nothing. We wanted a double bed but they provided two twins even though a few hours later (during the dead of the night) a double miraculously appeared. They stated we hadn't asked for a double when it was clearly stated on our reservation receipt.
One day the housekeeping had not been done by 3pm. Their response was "She has till 4pm. That's out policy; get used to it. And by the way, stay out of the room till it's made up". (This took an hour.)
All I can say is that front desk staff in this hotel are nasty, nasty, nasty. My advice to anyone is "Don't put yourself through the humiliation of staying at this awful hotel". And all this for $115 per night. The old adage, "you get what you pay for" clearly does not apply here unless you consider you are paying for abuse.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

We were very pleasantly surprised by this hotel, great location and great value for money. Its location is in suburban Barcelona, so we got a feel for a real city and not the ‘tourist’ view.

What we liked:
- Price was very good for a stay in July in middle of tourist season. Even their breakfast was solid and not too expensive.
- Location – whilst not in center of Barcelona this hotel is well connected with two train lines nearby, one up the road, and the other down the street. As Barcelona Metro is very well connected we did not feel we were too far away from anything. Metro is cheap and runs till late. Even the taxi ride from Placa Catalunya is only about 10 Euros.
- Also Sagrada Familia is literally within walking distance. The walk down the Gaudi Avenue in the morning was best way to start our day. Not only are you getting a great view of one of the worlds most known buildings but you also get a feel for real ‘Barcelona’. Gaudi Avenue is a street littered with local cafés, restaurants and shops, great spot to have something to eat and much cheaper that all the restaurants and cafés in the city center, the old town and the beach.
- Service – staff are friendly and helpful. Hotel is clean, our bathroom was huge. Rooms are bright and feel very spacious even though they are quite small.

What we did not like:
- No safes in the room, safe usage was a bit expensive. Hotel staff recommended we lock our valuables in our bags in the room, which we did.
- There is a computer with access to Internet in the foyer; it is only for a short-term use and in an awkward position as there is no privacy when you are using it.

Overall we were thrilled to stay in this hotel and will definitely go back there again on our next stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2010

My friend and I had a very satisfying stay in this hotel. The quality of their services were far beyond our expectations for a 2 star hotel. We definitely would go back there!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2010

The hote workers are very helpfull, breakfast is very good, the view of the room is to amrey sant pau hospital, a marvelleuous building. We will come again.

Aydin & Duygu

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Bad things:

No security deposit box in room
Horrible room with no view, obscured glass on all windows, could have been a prison cell
Bathroom looking slightly tatty, bathroom door deformed so wouldn't close properly
Shower with shower curtain over bath - I hate these
Room didn't smell particularly fresh
Not a great location in terms of closeness to old town but it's safe
No free wifi

Better things:

Breakfast is ok (not great) and well managed by the staff
Safe location

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amrey Sant Pau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrey Sant Pau

Address: 173 Sant Antoni Maria Claret | Esquina Sant Quintí, 08041 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #235 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Amrey Sant Pau 2*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in downtown, very near the Sagrada Familia; close to the architectonic complex of the Sant Pau Hospital. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amrey Sant Pau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrey Sant Pau Barcelona, Catalonia
Amrey Sant Pau Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrey Sant Pau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.