We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, terrible everything else!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sant Agusti

Save Saved
You added Hotel Sant Agusti to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Sant Agusti
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Placa Sant Agusti 3, 8001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Newquay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Location, terrible everything else!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Looks nice from the outside.

Room like a prison cell, bed that gives you backache and about 10 homeless people that seem to live outside!

Has free wifi which is good, the rooms are clean but very dated and small.

This place is ok as a base / bed for the night but don't expect anything more than that.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    249
    82
    42
    12
See reviews for
87
193
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Great location, but not much else. The rooms was small and chilly, the blankets where not enough to ward off the nightly cold. When explicitly asking for a recommendation for a local restaurant where the staff would go I was recommended touristy places and in general it felt like I was intruding when asking for something, not very service-minded. The breakfast was very boring and disappointing and after having it tried once I decided to go to the Boqueria instead the following mornings. In general, the location is the great plus, with the old town and everything else in walking distance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gva
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

I stayed here from 22 - 24 November. I requested a room facing the square with a small balcony and that's what I got. I have been to Barcelona many times but usually stayed in Eixample area. For the first time, I stayed this close to la Rambla and Gothic Quarter. Only a block or so from la Rambla but when I was on the balcony, looking down at the trees and the old church, it did not feel like I was that close to the crowded, noisy center of the city. Ravel area, not considered as the nicest area of Barcelona, this time it was my travel partner who chose the hotel, who had stayed there already a few times. It was fine. There may not be many fancy building in the area but the to la Rambla and Gothic Quarter so close, it did not matter. I had a standard double room for €95.00 per night incl. breakfast. You can find cheaper rooms I guess in slightly off central area on the same category or maybe even 4* but over all, it was fine, the price I paid for what I got. The room and bathroom were both very clean. The mattress on the bed was a firm one just like what I like. The breakfast room was rather spacious ( 3 rooms + 1 outdoor terrace for smoker ). The food was nothing to write home about but ok to start a day. I’m not a big breakfast eater so that’s fine as well. The renowned market Boqueria is 1 block away. Once I bought some take-away fruit salad ( 3 for the price of 2 at closing hour) there and brought back to the room and ate sitting on the tiny balcony where I managed to put a chair outside. After a busy day, looking out on the square, relaxed, at sunset hour was quite nice ( with fruit salad + a half bottle of cava that I bought nearby Carrefour supermarket on la Rambla. I may not come back necessarily to this hotel but it sure will be one of the hotels I will look at.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This hotel is great to visit the heart of Barcelona and is in the centre of everything
The interior was lovely - particularly liked the computer area with the books on the wall.
Rooms were clean and well kept and quiet.
Good value for money.
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel has two positive things: it is close to Rambla street and serve a correct breakfast (unfortunately very salty also). The staff at reception has no interest in helping guests. The room we stayed was very small and very noisy from 10 PM until 3 AM (night terraces around and I guess the same situation was in other rooms). The room furniture was very old; the beds were small and matrasses very uncomfortable. No real air conditioning in the room (they have an AC from the 60th which did not help at all); no ventilation in the bathroom is available and as a results a lot of fungus including on/in the bathroom door. The rooms are doted with a very small TV with no English channels. This hotel might be a choice only if it is priced at less than 50$ per night. Try to avoid this hotel if you want a decent sleep.

Room Tip: I do not think they have decent rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We booked this hotel as it was recommended by friends. However, having been to Barcelona before, for the price, this hotel was slightly disappointing. Our double room was tiny, the bed uncomfortable and the bathroom you couldn't swing a cat in. You had to twist and swivel yourself to get on the toilet, as there was a stupid shelf placed right in front, so constantly banging head on it. There was a screw sticking up on floor right near the toilet too. The place could have been cleaner and re-vamped a bit too; just seemed tired and dated. On the plus side; the hotel was in a great location; just minutes off La Ramblas. Having a balcony was lovely. The staff were friendly and helpful; and on the whole the breakfast was ok. We have booked to go back to Barcelona again next year, but have decided to try somewhere else...

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just spent 4 days here. Great location just 2 minute walk from Las Ramblas and a short walk to all the tour buses. Standard room very comfortable (pillows bit hard but not a problem). Breakfasts great choice Could not fault it. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel, especially if you are in anyway handicapped with walking because it is so central.

Room Tip: Standard room great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Sant Agusti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Agusti

Address: Placa Sant Agusti 3, 8001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #258 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Agusti 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oldest hotel in Barcelona (1840), completely renovated is located in the historical building of the former Convent of Saint Augustine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Otel, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Sant Agusti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Agusti Hotel
Sant Agusti Barcelona
Sant Augusti
Hotel Sant Agusti Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sant Agusti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.