We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stylish and Comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added U232 Hotel to your Saves list
U232 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel) (Eixample)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #39 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Camberley
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Stylish and Comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a business meeting here and I stayed for two nights. I had room 501 overlooking the busy street. The room was very comfortable and I slept well. Meals and service are good. Not close to the city centre but not too far either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    925
    608
    127
    23
    14
See reviews for
236
920
69
135
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Quiet, clean hotel with fresh ameneties. Internal rooms offer no light, but I didn't mind. Beds were comfortable. Staff was friendly, and breakfast was good. The location wasn't great for us, but a cab will quickly get you anywhere you want to go.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Like many other reviews about this hotel, there are many great points. A lovely room, great balcony, helpful staff, free wifi and good value for money overall. Negatives were that some rooms look awfully small, and the biggest problem is the heating. It's centrally managed and in March during our stay it was far, far too warm at night. We tried to leave the door open but it felt unsafe, but worse was the traffic noise. U232 - you really should allow guests to regulate room temperature; it'd make all the difference. Other than that, a really fab find.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I booked a room over the website with this information: Peaceful and quiet courtyard-facing rooms, without views. It appeared to be room 406. The room indeed had no view but also not daylight. After some discussion with the manager, I could upgrade to what they call a room with "a view". I could not see any view, but I had daylight, though I had to pay 10 euros extra.
The breakfast is ok, but nothing special. It's not really fresh.
The location is bad, no bars and restaurants. I think you might better stay at another hotel. Last time I tried SOHO hotel, which was way better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apareja, General Manager at U232 Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear U232 guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel U232. I sincerely regret that even though we tried to solve your concerns upon arrival, you were not satisfied with our hotel. I just want to indicate that all our basic rooms are interior rooms with no views, and the amount of daylight depends on the floor location. Since our hotel has 10 floors, rooms in lower floors can be darker. In regards to the solution provided by myself, you were offered two different upgrades at reduced rates, as a gesture of goodwill for the misunderstanding, one to a Basic2 room, with daylight and no view, at 10€, and another one, that you declined, to a Top Room with terrace, at 20€ if I am not mistaken. At no point during my interaction with you I mislead you in terms of the features of your new room. I also regret that you were not pleased with our neighborhood, since in fact it is very much appreciated by many of our guests, as it is away from the tourist areas and includes many restaurants and bars for locals, and at a very affordable prices and good quality.

If your future travel plans bring you back to Barcelona and you are willing to give us a second chance, please contact me at apareja@nnhotels.com, so I can personally handle your reservation. Otherwise, if you prefer to try one of our sister properties, I can assist you with that as well.

Best regards from Barcelona,

Asun Pareja
Hotel Manager
apareja@nnhotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chappaqua, NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Just returned from stay at U232 and loved this hotel.
We had a nice, clean room, very comfortable bed, quiet -- never heard any neighbors -- and excellent service. Staff was very friendly and helpful. It has a nice little bar area for a drink after dinner. Easy to get around from hotel by cab and metro.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very good location for a nice hotel very dual in its outfit (business/leisure). In fact, "business type" at first impact, the atmosphere is far from being cold or "efficient minimalistic design". The very good use of light, dark palettes on woods (floors, boiseries) and furnitures give the hotel a very relaxing (and charming) warm tone. This is augmented by the choice of large to very large wall-papers, mostly in black 'n white depicting old-time city scenes. Welcoming staff is very efficient and gentle. The room is clean and well furnished, the bathroom spotless. Breakfast service ok. All in all, good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#30 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#32 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#50 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U232 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.