We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for business trips or city break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added U232 Hotel to your Saves list
U232 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #36 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Timisoara, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good choice for business trips or city break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I traveled to Spain in September 2011 - I inserted March 2012 because it is the farthest option I had. On our way back from Palma de Mallorca, we stayed in Barcelona for 2 nights. Loved the room design - we booked without any meal service since there are plenty of bistros in the area and we were on a power-sightseeing tour.
We reached La Rambla and Sagrada in a 20-minute. There is a metro station nearby the hotel.
Very clean hotel; toiletry kits in the bathroom; minibar (extra charge) with wine, beer and sweets.
We slept deeply since we were tired after all the sightseeing hence I don't know what to say about the soundproof of the rooms :).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,558 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    841
    561
    122
    22
    12
See reviews for
216
845
66
117
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed for five days in February 2013 and had a wonderful stay in the U232. All the staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and made us feel very welcome. The hotel was as described and the photo gallery was accurate. We ate is some lovely restaurants recommended by the hotel reception. The hotel is a little outside the centre and we tended to use the Metro to travel to the City centre or other starting points. The Metro is only 5 minutes walk from the hotel and very easy to use. Would be very happy to stay at the U232 again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a family room. Fantastic! Clean rooms, spacious, great location, helpful staff. Photos on website are accurate. Nice breakfast buffet which was included in our room. Easy to get to public transportation and shopping. A couple of very good places to eat close by. It is off the beaten path and a bit quiet. If you are looking to be in the middle of the action, this is not the place to be. Will stay again on our next visit to Barcelona!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Sussex
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We really enjoyed staying in a quiet residential area rather than a busy tourist area. When I booked there was a special deal on the top room so I went for that. So glad I did - it was huge with a lovely roof terrace. The bathroom even had 2 showers in the wet room so that me and my husband could shower at the same time! It had a laid back feel - the staff would help when asked but were not intrusive. We almost felt like we had our own apartment. There is a kettle for tea and coffee and one of the strongest hairdriers I have ever used. The shower heads are huge and powerful. There is a large TV which only had Spanish stations apart from BBC news. There is free Wi-Fi. We didn't have breakfast in the hotel because it seemed very expensive. There are a number of nice cafes, and patisseries in the area which are much cheaper. You can easily get the metro to anywhere in the city from the nearby station, but we mainly walked. From the hotel to La Pedrera is only about 10 - 15 minutes. We walked back from the Gracia area one evening as we liked the restaurants and funky shops, and that only took less than 30 minutes. If you want to eat near the hotel to save going out too far at night, there is a truly excellent Indian called Sindar on Corsega, about 5 minutes away, plus a great family run Middle Eastern called Xix Kebab on the same street and several pizza and pasta places. It was lovely to come back to a huge room with sofas and a table after a hard days sightseeing. Complaints? Minor irritations - the bathrobes were heavily washed and very stiff.
Both pairs of slippers were the same size - so OK for my husband but impossibly huge for me. There was no powerpoint near the table so we had to plug the kettle in on the floor.
The heating/air con was super efficient and the bed was HUGE and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Top room was great with a huge roof terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molde
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a plus room, you pay bit more than in the basic and is worth it. The room was spacious and well decorated with a nice balcony which doors were good soundproof. The bathroom was modern but the bathtub was not so clean or practical for that matter.
The service was friendly and helpful and it has a nice gym and a lounge roof.
We didn't have breakfast in the hotel due that is not included in the room and in our opinion expensive but not far from the hotel, on the way to the metro station is a nice bakery/café in the same street (Comte d' Urgell 210) daily fresh and homemade bakery products and sandwiches.

Room Tip: U232 Plus room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

U232 plus room was nice. Comfortable bed. Breakfast good and staff all friendly. In a very nice area and to be honest we walked everywhere and then got on tourist bus. Recommend the hotel as comfortable and pleasant.

Room Tip: Don't take a basic room as apparently they are very small. We had a third floor room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

No complaints about the hotel. Rooms were modern and comfortable. No issues with noise from neighboring rooms, buildings, or streets. Hotel bar has an interesting design and is comfortable for a drink. Hotel breakfast is fine -- nothing memorable, but it meets expectations. Hotel staff was helpful with restaurants and such; they also helped me to get a tennis court reservation at a public facility.

My only gripe about this place is that it's a bit out of the way if you like to walk around. The main tourist streets / sights are a decent walk away. We ended up taking taxis about half the time, but luckily in Barcelona taxis aren't too expensive.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#25 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U232 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.