We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel!!!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U232 Hotel

Save Saved
You added U232 Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
U232 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #36 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This excellent hotel is very well located, at one and a half block from the Hospital Clinic subway station. That station has an elevator perfect for persons with dificulties or very usefull if you carry your luggage with you. Through the subway network, you can be absolutely connected with every turistic place of the City.

We love to walk so, if you take your tennis shoes and walk 15/20 minutes, you can reach Rambla or Passeig de Gracia.

The hotel is very modern, with a nice and spacious lobby. There is a bar-restaurant, and in the back you can find a living room with two computers, with free internet service and a printer.

The staff is extremely friendly and allways prepared to help. The check-in process was very fast and pleasant.

Our room was, in line with the rest of the hotel, modern and comfortable. We had an excellent King bed, a large LCD and everything necessary for a pleasant stay. The bathroom was remarkable. Nice, spacious, excellent. The room was in the front with a small but nice balcony with a very opened view.

The hotel offers a buffet breakfast for 14 euros per person per day. We considered that price expensive. There are many small restaurants and bars around. We have gone to a small bar half a block and have taken a nice breakfast for less than 4 euros.

Finally, the daily rate was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,405 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    751
    511
    110
    22
    11
See reviews for
193
766
55
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This hotel is located about a mile away from the city centre. The area is full of restaurants but it is also quiet by night and it is very well connected by public transport to the main sites. The hotel itself is confortable and clean. It is a good deal for the rate they charge. Rooms are not large or luxurious but they come with all you need to get good sleep and a nice stay (confortable beds, free wifi, safebox, flatscreen tv.etc). All in all, a good base from where to explore Barcelona.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed at U232 hotel on our last tour in Spain. The hotel is not very obvious. However, the location is pretty good. There are plenty of restaurants and shops around the hotel. It is within walking distance to a nice shopping area. You can walk to Casa Batllo - the work of Gaudi. The room is nice and the bed is comfortable. Breakfast is great too.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Excellently located hotel in a tranquil area not too far from the hustle and bustle of the main hot spots of Barcelona.

Hospital clinic metro station is 1 minute walking distance from the hotel to take you anywhere within the metro system.

The hotel itself is very modern & beautifully designed, has incredibly helpful staff who are always happy to help with a smile. Has a great bar by the reception area & they serve a very good buffet a la carte breakfast.

The rooms are exceptional, very clean, simple design & spacious. I would highly recommend upgrading to the top room, simply AMAZING! The rooms are perfect for a great nights sleep.

In conclusion, if you want to completely relax, switch off & be we'll looked after, this is the hotel for you. Wonderful staff, great location & perfect hotel.

Room Tip: Go for the Top room, just simply breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent a few days in Barcelona and we decided to stay in this well designed and chic establishment! We couldn't wait for more, the staff were great and smiley.The room cosy and very modern!The hotel is located very close to a metro station which made our quick visit in the city more easy. We will be back very soon to the city and the hotel because we loved them both.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is located in a very nice and affuent area of the city and is a 3 minute walk away from the nearest Metro station which is an excellent way to see the city. Booked online through the hotel website which was the cheapest way. Arrived at 2.30pm room was ready, very modern and had a small balcony. Rooms cleaned daily to a high standard. There are some excellent restaurants and bars nearby so if you enjoy good food and drink at the end of a long day sightseeing this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elora, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I booked this hotel online for 2 nights for our last two evenings in Spain. When we arrived (at 2:00 p.m) we were told that a room wasn't ready yet, however, the receptionist stored our luggage and took our cell phone number, promising to call us when a room became available. No problem - we left and had lunch. We returned to the hotel at 3:15 p.m. (check-in time is 3:00 o'clock), only to be told that a room still wasn't available, but if we sat in the lobby she would call us in what she hoped would be just a few minutes. We sat in the lobby for 30 minutes, by which time I was getting a bit annoyed as it was now nearly 4:00 o'clock. I approached the desk again - the receptionist has forgotten we were waiting!! Anyway, we get to our room which was clean, modern and beautifully decorated. There was very little closet space and the bathrooms were small but functional. Big flat screen television and free wifi. The bed was king size and very, very comfortable. We did not have breakfast in the hotel as we thought it was a bit expensive considering we could walk out the door to many cafes.

The lobby of this hotel is beautiful - all black and white and has a lovely ambiance. I would recommend this hotel for short stays, but the lack of closet space would make it too uncomfortable for long stays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#27 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Priceline and Venere so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U232 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.