We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added U232 Hotel to your Saves list
U232 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

The hotel is located in a very nice and affuent area of the city and is a 3 minute walk away from the nearest Metro station which is an excellent way to see the city. Booked online through the hotel website which was the cheapest way. Arrived at 2.30pm room was ready, very modern and had a small balcony. Rooms cleaned daily to a high standard. There are some excellent restaurants and bars nearby so if you enjoy good food and drink at the end of a long day sightseeing this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    553
    119
    22
    12
See reviews for
216
830
63
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I booked this hotel online for 2 nights for our last two evenings in Spain. When we arrived (at 2:00 p.m) we were told that a room wasn't ready yet, however, the receptionist stored our luggage and took our cell phone number, promising to call us when a room became available. No problem - we left and had lunch. We returned to the hotel at 3:15 p.m. (check-in time is 3:00 o'clock), only to be told that a room still wasn't available, but if we sat in the lobby she would call us in what she hoped would be just a few minutes. We sat in the lobby for 30 minutes, by which time I was getting a bit annoyed as it was now nearly 4:00 o'clock. I approached the desk again - the receptionist has forgotten we were waiting!! Anyway, we get to our room which was clean, modern and beautifully decorated. There was very little closet space and the bathrooms were small but functional. Big flat screen television and free wifi. The bed was king size and very, very comfortable. We did not have breakfast in the hotel as we thought it was a bit expensive considering we could walk out the door to many cafes.

The lobby of this hotel is beautiful - all black and white and has a lovely ambiance. I would recommend this hotel for short stays, but the lack of closet space would make it too uncomfortable for long stays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is very contemporary, clean and modern. Hotel staff was super helpful and friendly. One of the nicest hotel we stayed in on our 7 cities, 5 countries vacation. If we go back, we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from Barcelona and would recommend a visit in November as weather perfect for sightseeing.Hotel staff were very friendly and the hotel immaculate and very modern.The entire hotel decor was black, white and mustard and we had the added benefit of a balcony which we would recommend. Breakfast was great and available from 7 until 11.Hotel which has free internet access is very centrally located as the metro is a very short walk away.Public transport is first class and at no point did we have to wait more than three mins for the metro.Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms are interior and therefore have no natural light. Would recommend a balcony room as it wa...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just home Nov 2012 from Barcelona. Perfect time of year for experiencing this facinating and beautiful city from the U232 Hotel.An immaculate, modern, clean masterpiece of modern interior design. Matt black, marble, golden brown and crisp white at its best. Friendly staff and an excellent city location. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The balconies are very pleasant to take in the bustllng atmosphere of this great city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

U232 Hotel Barcelona is comfortable and safe-away from the tourist area hotels. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our triple room had 2 bathrooms so that really helped us get ready each day. Their lounge was cozy and convenient. My only suggestion would be to have the lounge close a little later. When I return to Barcelona I would definitely stay at U232 again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#29 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#57 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Otel, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U232 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.