We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Nice Modern Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of U232 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added U232 Hotel to your Saves list
U232 Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #34 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Nice Modern Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I booked this hotel online for 2 nights for our last two evenings in Spain. When we arrived (at 2:00 p.m) we were told that a room wasn't ready yet, however, the receptionist stored our luggage and took our cell phone number, promising to call us when a room became available. No problem - we left and had lunch. We returned to the hotel at 3:15 p.m. (check-in time is 3:00 o'clock), only to be told that a room still wasn't available, but if we sat in the lobby she would call us in what she hoped would be just a few minutes. We sat in the lobby for 30 minutes, by which time I was getting a bit annoyed as it was now nearly 4:00 o'clock. I approached the desk again - the receptionist has forgotten we were waiting!! Anyway, we get to our room which was clean, modern and beautifully decorated. There was very little closet space and the bathrooms were small but functional. Big flat screen television and free wifi. The bed was king size and very, very comfortable. We did not have breakfast in the hotel as we thought it was a bit expensive considering we could walk out the door to many cafes.

The lobby of this hotel is beautiful - all black and white and has a lovely ambiance. I would recommend this hotel for short stays, but the lack of closet space would make it too uncomfortable for long stays.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    569
    126
    22
    13
See reviews for
222
865
68
120
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

The hotel is very contemporary, clean and modern. Hotel staff was super helpful and friendly. One of the nicest hotel we stayed in on our 7 cities, 5 countries vacation. If we go back, we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south wales
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned from Barcelona and would recommend a visit in November as weather perfect for sightseeing.Hotel staff were very friendly and the hotel immaculate and very modern.The entire hotel decor was black, white and mustard and we had the added benefit of a balcony which we would recommend. Breakfast was great and available from 7 until 11.Hotel which has free internet access is very centrally located as the metro is a very short walk away.Public transport is first class and at no point did we have to wait more than three mins for the metro.Would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms are interior and therefore have no natural light. Would recommend a balcony room as it wa...
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Just home Nov 2012 from Barcelona. Perfect time of year for experiencing this facinating and beautiful city from the U232 Hotel.An immaculate, modern, clean masterpiece of modern interior design. Matt black, marble, golden brown and crisp white at its best. Friendly staff and an excellent city location. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The balconies are very pleasant to take in the bustllng atmosphere of this great city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

U232 Hotel Barcelona is comfortable and safe-away from the tourist area hotels. Staff was friendly and helpful. Our triple room had 2 bathrooms so that really helped us get ready each day. Their lounge was cozy and convenient. My only suggestion would be to have the lounge close a little later. When I return to Barcelona I would definitely stay at U232 again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Temperature in our room was betwen 28-30 degrees. When we omplained we were told that Aircondition only was turned on or heating not for cooling. We were told to open the window to get freh air. A bit hard at night when one of te city's bsiest streets are just outside. Several other guests complained as well, we heard - and were told the same. Why don't they tyrn on the cooling?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apareja, Gerente at U232 Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear U232 guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Hotel U232. I sincerely apologize for your inconvenience regarding the room temperature. This fall is being unseasonably warm, and although we had turned the heating system on at the begining of the season, as a result of your suggestion and those of other clients, we have turned the A/C system on again. On the bright side, that means our visitors can enjoy beautiful Barcelona with a beautiful fall weather!

Thank you again for your time and we look foward to welcoming you back to Hotel U232 when you return to Barcelona,

Asun Pareja
apareja@nnhotels.com
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to U232 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about U232 Hotel

Address: Comte d'Urgell 232, 08036 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Nunez Urgell Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#23 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#28 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#53 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — U232 Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel U232 is located within the shopping and business zone of Plaza Francesc Macià, nestled between Avenida Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia. Easily accessible from all parts of the city, the hotel is just steps away from notable sites like Hospital Clinic and Camp Nou.The hotel offers 102 fully equipped rooms, including triple and family rooms, and an exclusive Top Room with private terrace. U232 also offers guests access to two meeting rooms, a fitness center, business center with complimentary Internet access, and a peaceful terrace-solarium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your U232 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
U232 Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage U232 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.