We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“grear stay at casa maca :D” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Maca Guest House

Save Saved
You added Casa Maca Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Casa Maca Guest House
2.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Bruc street, 08037 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #90 of 292 Barcelona B&B and Inns
1 review
“grear stay at casa maca :D”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Clean room, clean bathroom. Beautifull building.We stayed 4 nights and never had to wait for the showers.Nice breakfast( bread, cake, cheese, ham, salami, yoghurt, cereal) en we could take whatever we liked. Wifi in the room( i couldnt live without it ) and an electric fan. Busstop to centre and beach right in front. And the girls of casa maca were very helpfull...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMaca, Propietario at Casa Maca Guest House, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review! We really appreciate that you took the time to do it.
Buuuut, we have to say that it's easy our job when we have guests as you! Thank you for have been so respectful and friendly.

We hope to be your host next time!

Bests,
All the Casa Maca team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    21
    6
    6
    2
See reviews for
8
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maassluis, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A B&B like a B&B is supposed to be. Whhen you enter the B&B there is a place to hang out and use the internet. Our room was very big and the bed slept fine. There were two bathrooms so you never actually did have to wait. The breakfast was just a normal breakfast, toast with cheese, jam, choclat spread, salami etc,, juisces, yoghurt and (I think) home made cake.

Highly recommended if you are going to Barcelona!.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMaca, Propietario at Casa Maca Guest House, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Cute B&B?? Thank you for this compliment!!!! We love what we do, and of course make us very happy to hear that our guests spend a nice days with us.
Did you enjoyed also the city? We hope so! and of course we hope to be your host next time that you visit Barcelona!

Best regards,
The Casa Maca team ;-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

We booked via a travel agency... the room sucked... you could barely walk around the bed.... No closet in the room just a coat rack with a few hangers...No private bath... no bath robes....The one and only window opened up to a wall 10 feet away... It was very noisy... you could hear all kinds of stuff I don"t want to hear.. We stayed 4 nights and the bed was never made nor was it offered...For breakfast you had to go to the kitchen and figure out for yourself how to make coffee and were the food was hidden. Once we found the food we discovered that all that was offered was some cheese and sandwich meat... and some granola.... In short this was a real experience being used to B&B's in North America... where we get full service and often a la carte breakfasts...Now the hostess.... She did her best to be correct but you could notice she hated her job and was very unfriendly...In short we did not like our stay and would never come back...The only only positive thing about this place ...good location and it was clean...All guests were Dutch and it seems to cater to them all sign are spanish and dutch....

Room Tip: find a different place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMaca, Propietario at Casa Maca Guest House, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Melanie & Wilhelmus,

Thank you to take the time to write a review, this is very important to help the other guests and to help us to improve.

We would like to clarify some points of your review:
- In none of our website we say that we offer bath robes, or daily cleaning.... and of course in our website we say "shared bathroom" always. Obviously you came with different expectations and/or the agency where you booked did not explain our offer well.
Our philosophy is to offer a clean, cozy and good located B&B for very attractive prices. We don't offer private bathrooms nor a-la-carte breakfast, nor a daily cleaning and our price is adjusted to our offer. We think that people come to see Barcelona rather than stay inside or place.
- For the breakfast, I have to say that we have much more that you mention: 2 types of bread, juices, tea, coffee, ham, cheese, jam, butter, chocolate and nuts cakes, sponge cakes, yogurt, milk, cereal...
- And finally, all our signs are in english and dutch. We don't have ANY sign in Spanish.

Regards,
Carla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemskerk, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed last week in casa maca 2,it is cosy and clean and good service.
The breakfast includes all you need,all places are in walking distance or you take the metro or bus.
The best to buy is a T 10 (9.80 euro)card at the station that you can use on the train,bus or metro.
You only use one at a time,so it means that you only pay 98 cents from the airport to the city!
From the airport you can take the train and go out at gracia station and walk from there or go to sants barc and take a metro to verdaguer.(but then its a long walk underground)
Its a old building so you can hear the people in the other room..But it is a good place to stay and explore Barcelona :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Casa Maca is definately a great bed & breakfast. I visited this place with my mother, who is always very fussy when it comes to cleanliness but she immediately fell in love with the place. When she sat down for the first time, she said: "This is a real holiday", and that's about the biggest compliment a place can get from her. The room was clean and light with separate beds and a balcony. Two showers were available, of which one was not working perfectly by the way. Two minor downsides, sound isolation is not perfect (but it's located in a fairly quiet neighbourhood, so that's not the bigest deal) and the breakfast was nothing special. There were plenty of things to choose from (There was bread, cheese, meat, honey, chocolate paste, cereals, milk, yoghurt, coffee, tea and even some sweet pastries). However, the bread was not that tasty and with a total of 7 people we had to share 8 slices of ham. The girl who has working there was not overfriendly, but she was correct and helpful, which is by far the most important thing. The B&B is located in between the city centre and the famour Sagrada Familia and both can be reached by foot. A metrostation and bus stop are also pretty much next to the B&B. I cannot say anything about the price, since I booked it as a package deal, but if it's not too expensive, I would recommend this for everyone. It's just a wonderful place to relax after a long day of sight-seeing. And several details made it just slightly more luxurious than many other places.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

My sister and I found this place via bedandbreakfast.com , though we found that it doesn't have a lot of reviews on TripAdvisor, we decided to book it as we liked the look of the rooms in the  photos. the building looks just like any other historic residential building  on the same street, there is no sign only a small label, once arrived we fell in love with the homey atmosphere immediately, there is a small common area, but the guests don't really hang out in there, our room is spacious enough, the twin beds are a tad small, also, there are a lot of books in case we need to kill time in the room, they even provided clean towels and chocolates on arrival, what a nice touch, perhaps we don't really expect  these in a hostel/ b and b. Breakfast is provided in small room with one large dining table, they have got enough selections for you - types of cereal, little cup cakes, toasts, different types of teas and coffee, i opted for hot chocolate. 
For those who have concern on hygiene of shared bathroom, we find the two bathrooms both very clean with lovely fragrance. We had a very nice sleep on the first night, the street is extremely quiet, but don't worry about convenience, it is mins walk from the closer Metro station.  
Will spend another night in this place, I think it will be as nice as the first night. 

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California City, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

My first time in a Guest House, and I can't wait to repeat the experience with them. The owners were helpfully and friendly people, the location of the house it's better impossible and the room was biggest and clean. Thanks people for the really nice stay! hope to see you again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasaMaca, Propietario at Casa Maca Guest House, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for choosing our guest house for your holiday!! It was a pleasure to be your host, if you think to repeat Barcelona, don't forget that we are here!

Best regards,
All the Casa Maca team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Casa Maca Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Maca Guest House

Address: Bruc street, 08037 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #90 of 292 B&Bs / Inns in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Casa Maca Guest House 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Accommodation in Casa Maca Guest House in Barcelona, Spain In the famous district of Eixample in Barcelona, surrounded by the most significant works of Gaudi, you will find Casa Maca Guest House. This Bed and Breakfast has been designed specially for our guests, where you can enjoy a clean, comfortable and very well located Guest House. In our kitchen we offer you free access to the fridge, microwave, toaster, kettle, cups, plates and everything you will need for your breakfast buffet self-serviced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Casa Maca Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Maca Guest House Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Maca Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.