We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, comfortable, clean Family stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nouvel Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Nouvel Hotel to your Saves list
Nouvel Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Santa Ana, 18-20, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Mons, Belgium
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great location, comfortable, clean Family stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Gorgeous hotel right off Las Ramblas, easy walk to metro, restaurants, and many other area attractions. Hotel was clean and well kept. Nice architure in common area and in rooms. New/modern fixtures in rooms. TV (all in Spanish) and free wifi. My critique with the bathroom is that there is no curtain in the tub/shower. Only a glass door that extends about half way across the tub. I've seen this elsewhere in Europe and this is not condusive for taking showers. Always had to clean up water that splashed/leaked out. Shower curtains with a bowed rod is still elegant enough, while being cheap to replace and keeps almost all the water inside the shower area. Friendly staff, although get your extra towels/blankets if necessary before the staff leave for the evening. At night there is only the manning the desk and he/she does not have access to towels/linens or other service items. I would recommend this hotel to anyone with or without a family with kids, looking to stay in an area where many city attractions are located nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Balcony if available to sit outside and sip some Rioja.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    291
    97
    45
    33
See reviews for
124
217
22
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed here for four days amazing location, just 1 min walk from main plaza all staff were very helpful and friendly. The shower/bath was very powerful and the rod were spotless and cleaned everyday very clean. If I were to go back to Barcelona I would definitely stay at this hotel.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Figtree, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed two nights in this hotel. The location is fantastic. A 2 minute walk from the main plaza, bus stop and metro. So handy. Also very close to shopping and restaurants/cafes. If there are noisy guests surrounding you, you can hear everything. There are tiles everywhere. The bathroom is very big and the water temperature and pressure are good. Be careful to face the shower head otherwise the floor becomes a flood. The wifi worked and was very handy. We had access in our room. All in all good, basic accommodation in a great location.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just off the Ramblas , the Nouvel was a good choice for a short break to Barca. We asked for a low floor, and this is what we got - room 136 right at the front of the hotel. Room was quite small, 2 windows onto the street - but not a lot of light as a narrow road , so used the light most days. Didn't have breakfast at the hotel , but didn't miss out as lots of cafes near the hotel , El Mols right opposite. Room cleaned thoroughly each day , with fresh towels. Only downside was that the Internet signal was very patchy.

Room Tip: Seemed to be some rooms with just internal windows , so make sure you ask for a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My friend & myself spent 3 nights at this hotel for her 60th birthday. It was in a great location, just off Las Rambles but very quiet. Our room was very clean but we did find it quite dark which did become a problem when getting ready to go out. The lack of mirrors was an issue as we only had the bathroom for the both of us to use which meant once we'd had our showers it was difficult to see through the steamed up mirror. The only other downside was there were no tea making facilities in the room. The staff on reception were very helpful when needing information on places to eat & visit.
I would still recommend this hotel as the pros outweighed the cons. I would stay again in the future,

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for four nights with my husband and two daughters (23y & 20y). Ideal situation for exploring the streets around. Rooms small but well appointed. Staff very friendly and helpful. Would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Nouvel Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nouvel Hotel

Address: Santa Ana, 18-20, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #262 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nouvel Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Nouvel Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nouvel Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nouvel Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.