We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location and great value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moderno Hotel Bcn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Moderno Hotel Bcn to your Saves list
Moderno Hotel Bcn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer Hospital 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #280 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Palm Beach, Fl
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Perfect location and great value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

You could not pick a better located spot for touring Barcelona. This hotel is located a few steps from the center for Las Ramblas and the Liceau subway stop. The breakfast is included and there was much to choose from such as meats, cheeses, eggs, pastries, cereals along with juices, coffee and tea. The rooms were rather small but clean and adequate. A safe is in the room too. What prevented a 5 star rating is the noise coming from other rooms and the hallway. The front desk staff are very friendly and even provided us with good detailed maps and much useful information. If you are not a very light sleeper then this hotel is a great value.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    221
    98
    32
    12
See reviews for
122
127
36
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Amazing location. Great value. All staff helpful and friendly with good English. Made phone calls on our behalf and printed tickets for us.
Breakfast wide variety of choice. Cereal. Breads. Meats/cheese. Hot eggs/bacon/sausage. Ask for a room with a view of outside. Wifi worked well. Rooms on the small side (however free tea and coffee, fridge, toiletries and a bath) but fantastic location. Will return on my next visit

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My wife and i stayed here for a long weekend in november and wanted to review . Great staff ( reception very helpful , chatty , rooms cleaned well ) Location excellent for a touristy time (just off the ramblas) , breakfast buffet ok , but book for the location , staff and view the buffet as a bonus ! We will be booking again !

Room Tip: we had an inner courtyard room , ie , no view BUT more importantly NO noise at 3am !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The hotel is located near the metro station (Liceu) and really accessible to the hustle and bustle of La Rambla and other sites. They have English speaking receptionists. We were provided with maps and directions. They would even let you leave your bags after check out if you have other plans before boarding your train/plane to another place.

The rooms is average but clean. What surprised me the most is the breakfast as compared to the other hotels I've stayed at. What a joy! Assortment of breads, sliced meats, eggs, juices and fruits. You can just pack your tummy with stomach to last you until past lunchtime.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I checked the reviews on trip advisor and was a little concerned but booked it anyway. I am so glad that I did. The taxi from the airport was 25 euros and you get a good look at the city on the way to the hotel. The first thing I noticed was the friendiness of the reception staff (Habid and Eli). Check in was very easy. They spoke excellent English and were very helpful in explaining where to eat and drink etc.

Our group had rooms 306, 309 and 310. All of our group were extremely happy with our rooms. They were very clean and had everything that you needed for a short stay in Barcelona. I do not understand the reviews that say this hotel is unclean - this hotel is spotless throughout, from the hallways to the lifts, including the breakfast room and bedrooms. The bathrooms were modern and again very clean. We were provided with a good number of towels and shower accessories. The breakfast is typical of a modern hotel and caters for all nationalities. There is no limit to how much you can eat and drink.

This hotel is situated in a perfect location, a few steps from the Boqueria market and the main street La Rambla which looked fantastic at this time of year (December) lit up with Christmas lights and decorations. My room had a little balcony from which I could see La Rambla and hear the hustle and bustle of the city. Personally I liked hearing the world going on outside. If you don´t like the noise of the city then find a hotel in the country !!! This hotel is right next to the Liceu metro station and so you can easily reach the other areas of Barcelona. The walk to the port takes about 10 minutes and is worth a visit.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and I have already booked up again to stay here in April 2013.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

As times are hard, one has to squeeze even travel budgets, and instead staying in 4 star on business, i have stayed a few times in 3 star hotels.
I found this hotel from Booking.com. The Pictures of this hotel were absolutely rubbish in Booking.com, and only reason I looked at this hotel was because the price. I went to Hotel's own website, and there still images were clear and website, being basic, but content had all the most important info.Images could be bigger but I got an idea, and booked this hotel. As location was perfect, I thought, let's take the risk.
Well, as soon as I walked in, I had an excellent service. The reception service was like in 5 star hotel: Staff in this hotel is one of the most helpful, friendliest I have experienced a long time.4-5 star hotels could send their staff for training here, how to be helpful and polite to your tired customers.

I had a quad room ( my special request on reception : a bigger room what I had ordered) .

Small Tv in the room, and only English station was Sky News. Reception wasn't that good, but I managed to see the news. I hope they upgrade their TV stations.

Separate toilet and bathroom (as it seems to be common practice in Spain) Small bath, but powerful shower. Small writing desk with desk lamp and water kettle and coffee/tea. Tiled floor and air condition .

My room was really quiet, as window was to inside of the building ( not a proper day light in this room, but did not bother me as I as there only evenings).


Room was clean, beds are a bit soft but I slept OK , as room very quiet!.
Room had free Wi-Fi, however, it last approx 45 min, and then you have to load it again. Again, it was free, reasonable fast, so no complaint there. There was a telephone in the room (does anybody use them any more)!

Brfst was basic, but hei ho, you get what you pay ( Approx £45 per room in brfst, city centre hotel: In London you would not get even one star hotel without facilities with that price and brfst would be a bad coffee and cold toast. Here you get a good coffee, some fruit, different type of bread rolls, some pastries, 3 different type of serials( Weetabix would be great)).

By the breakfast room there is like a small lounge area, where they have two PC's for customers
My Over all view:

If you are looking for , in Barcelona city centre ,a reasonable hotel with low price, this is the place to be .I will go back, and that's a compliment to this hotel!

Las Ramblas is 2 min walk, nearest Metro is Liceu 5 min walk. Hotel is in the middle of Les Ramblas. Near by (just of Les Ramblas )is a famous Barcelona Market area, and I found from Les Rambals also (4 min walk from Hotel) Fab and very cheap Wok place (like a small take away place) They cook fresh ingredients in front of you. I had egg noodles with vegetables and Beef in teryaky sauce and that was Euro 6.20. It was fresh , and tasted really good and the best: you see when they cook it in front of you!
Taxi from terminal one costed Euro 27. I flew back from terminal 2 ( Brand new and beautiful, fast and the most effective terminal I have experienced a long time) where taxi costed 37 Euros. Good to note: These two terminals locates approx 5 Km from each others (according to Taxi driver) so, pls check beforehand which Terminal you fly from!!!!!

Room Tip: Call the hotel. They are Honest and very helpful!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moderno Hotel Bcn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moderno Hotel Bcn

Address: Carrer Hospital 11, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #280 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Moderno Hotel Bcn 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Moderno Hotel Bcn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moderno Hotel Barcelona
Moderno Hotel Bcn Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moderno Hotel Bcn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.