We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hostel made our trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Consell, Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Casa Consell, Guest House to your Saves list
Casa Consell, Guest House
Consell de Cent 324 Principal 2a, Entre Paseo de Gracia y Pau Claris, 08007 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #29 of 724 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“This hostel made our trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

- I stayed at Casa Consell the first week of June with 4 of my family members (No kids), the staff were all very friendly and helpful.
- The location was awesome, easy access to everything including a line to the airport for 3.80 euros.
- The rooms/shower/washrooms were clean as well
Great vibe in general

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    57
    9
    0
    2
See reviews for
51
46
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kyoto, Japan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I'm writing this from my room in Casa Consell Guest House. I arrived yesterday from Japan and it was super easy to get here from the airport. The guest house is located very close to Paseo de Gracia, a beautiful tree-lined avenue full of the goregous architecture unique to Barcelona, and dotted with lovely sidewalk restaurants and cafes. Convenient and comfortable, and the staff are very kind. It's a hostel but I really feel relaxed & comfortable, as if I'm staying at a friend's home. The 2nd door (not in front of reception) allows you to avoid other guests if you are in a more introverted mood, and the comfy common area is great for socializing at other times. Bathroom and rooms are clean, and I slept like a log ~ super quiet! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed at Casa Consell with my mother for 3 nights in May/June 2013. Francisco was adorable from day one (emails from me started 6 months prior) from advice on the best paella, tours, he even booked Sagrada Familia for us online and helped me with my Spanish!

If you're seeking a five star hotel room then pay the price but if you're seeking secure, clean and perfectly located accommodation this is perfect. (jaw dropping Gaudi only a few blocks away & attractions such as markets, Barceloneta, Park Guell & La Ramblas very close)

Our room had a bathroom with a great shower/water pressure & comfy beds. Not huge but we had no issue as we were rarely there and when there it served us well. The main kitchen and lounge/dining area was comfortable, spacious and practical, continental breakfast & free wifi made it amazing value for money. No laundry but a great little eco friendly laundromat nearby.

I will return to the magical city of Barca and will stay at Casa Consell again. Francisco was friendly, generous and a genuine professional.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere in idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

One block from the metro, renfre, and quiet. The rooms are comfortable. Everything is clean, clean, clean. The community kitchen and lounge are a great place to meet fellow travelers and to plan the day's adventures. Wifi and quality computers/printers that work. All for a very modest price. My wife and I slept well. Stay there!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PhilJerz
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here last year in August with two other friends. We had a huge room in the front of the building with three bed. It was perfect for us before our cruise. Stewart and his crew were excellent. He was very helpful...answered all of my questions. It was a warm and friendly place. The communal area we nice and cozy. It definitely gives you a chance to meet other people from around the world. The rooms were nice and clean..bathroom were clean. Nice and fast wifi and ...my favorite...free breakfast! lol...Nothing fancy, but it was just what I needed. Its about a two block from the Passeig de Gracias Metro stop..and its not far from Placza de Catalunya I will definitely stay here again and I recommend you check it out too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Great family room, helpful & friendly staff, good location, Wi Fi, nice breakfast, good facilities. Can't wait to visit again, wouldn't stop anywhere else when visiting Barcelona. Very comfortable after a day enjoying all that Barcelona has to offer. Very homely.

Room Tip: Large room was with our own bathroom was perfect for 2 adults and 2 teenage girls. On street side bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We received a warm and friendly welcome. The owner is a lovely person and everybody else of her staff was also extremely helpful. We could ask them for advice and help, they never got tired of our questions. The communal area is cosy and attractive with free WIFI and computers to use. The simple breakfast was all we needed and we liked it. The location is very central, close to all attractions and the way to either underground or train station is just 2 minutes away. The downside was our room: it was pretty terrible: so tiny, you could not swing a cat in it and with no natural light. Also, as it was situated between two bathrooms, we could follow exactly the bath habits of the other guests all too closely. When someone decided to take a bath at 1.30 in the morning, it sounded like standing next to the Niagara Falls. Although we did not spend much time in our room (that's not what we'd come for, obviously), it still put a slight downer on our experience with Casa Consell. There are better rooms available, we just were unlucky with the straw!

Room Tip: Tell them you do not want No. 6!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Consell, Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Consell, Guest House

Address: Consell de Cent 324 Principal 2a, Entre Paseo de Gracia y Pau Claris, 08007 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 724 Specialty Lodging in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm place hosted by its owners, where everything has been thought and designed to make you feel at home away from home. Casa Consell is situated in the city center, next to Paseo de Gracia's famous street where you can find Gaudi's arquitecture such as Casa Batllo and La Pedrera. You can also find Gaudi's emblematic cathedral, La Sagrada Familia, just 15 minutes away. Professional service, comfort and friendly atmosphere as are our keys to make your stay a pleasant and relaxing experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Casa Consell, Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Consell, Guest House Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Consell, Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.