We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic city break in a fab hotel!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of H10 Itaca Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added H10 Itaca Hotel to your Saves list
H10 Itaca Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Roma 22, 08015 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #122 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic city break in a fab hotel!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

I am writting this review from the sun terrace at the back of the hotel! My friend and I (both mid 20s) chose hotel Itica as it was a budget city break and we were just looking for a place to stay near the centre of the city. We were pleasently surprised on arrival and I would highly recommend staying at here!!
Cava was served on arrival to all guest and the staff were very friendly and informative! The rooms are modern and clean. The terrace is beautiful on a sunny day and you can enjoy a chilled atmosphere either on the chairs on from the comfort of a sun lounger!
Food is amazing and excellent value. We came on a bed and breakfast board basis and we were not disappointed. We also enjoyed an evening in the hotel restaurant. The food was fantastic and it was great value for money!!!!
Overall we have had a brilliant stay and I would defiantly recommend it to anyone! Transport links are close by and it is very easy to get in and out of the main hussle of the city (10mins max via metro).

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    356
    331
    74
    25
    11
See reviews for
69
411
40
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The hotel was in a great location with regards train station, metro and airport buses. There were lots of grocery stores and a cheap supermarket directly underneath, and lots of nice restaurants within walking distance. The staff were very friendly and accommodating, and could not have been more helpful. Breakfast was great, however the hotel itself wasn't perfect. Our shower leaked, there was no bathroom work surface, the mattress was terrible and the fridge didn't work at all. The fantastic staff did what they could to help us, but there is only so much they could do. I get the feeling the manager or company running the place are more interested in cost cutting than customer experience.

Room Tip: It is essential to have a rear/courtyard facing room because the other side of the hotel faces a bus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
camberley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights over the Easter holiday and enjoyed 4 days of lovely warm weather, especially as it was freezing in England at the time. Great choice for ease of getting from the airport, bought a T10 as other reviewers have said. Only need one ticket between 2 of you and great value for money at less than 10 euros for the ticket. Underground close by so everywhere in Barcelona easy to get to. Not much in the neighbourhood so in the evening it is either dinner in the hotel or out on the underground again. |We had a 5th floor room so noise wasn't a problem. Staff were very helpful and breakfast was a real treat. Outdoor area was pleasant to sit in, but my husband was disappointed that the "pool" was only about 12" deep.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Perfect Value for money
Great location
Good breakfast
Nice staff
For those who going the most of the days outside its perfect
Nice place to put your head on after a long and busy day in the city
If we will come again I would choose this place again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This is a great Hotel. You can get a T10 card at the airport, and travel to the Sants railway station for less than 1e (can you get anywhere in London for 1e) in about 15 minutes - the T10 card then gives you another 9 journeys on the Metro, plus two of you can use 1 card. From Sants its a 10 minute walk to the hotel so easy if you just have hand luggage. The hotel is smart and clean and the room that we had was very comfortable, although Air-con was not great, but we wondered if as it was March had they turned it down. Bathroom was smart, and on the third floor we had great shower water pressure and no temp issues (see other persons review). Wi-Fi free and we got a good signal in the room.

Breakfast is absolutely first class - about the best hotel breakfast I've ever had. Loads of choice both hotel and cold, plus loads of fruit, donuts, sliced meats - the list if long. We ate so much each day, we skipped lunch.

Roof terrace has some gym equipment, plus a really hot spa-pool and a couple of loungers. I spent an afternoon up there in the sun. Yes, I went up in my swimmers and t-shirt, but since you get out of the lift and then up a few stairs, not a problem and they have plenty of towels when you get there.

Location is not totally central, but we walked to the centre of town, and then down the sea front, plus the castle is also walking distance. If you don't like waking then use your T10 card on the metro - the metro is great and really well sign-posted and station only 5 minutes from hotel.

If you want somewhere to eat in the evening, then come out of the hotel, turn left towards the Sants Railway station, and then take the second left (the main road), Carrer Tarragona. After about 10 minutes you will see a large circular building, which has been converted into a shopping centre, but on the top has a open walk-way with loads of restaurants - food is good value and wine cheap. Nice at night to have a walk around the building (or daytime). Don't bother taking the external lift, as you have to pay and can get to the top via the internal lifts/escalators for free.

Room Tip: Go for a room at the rear - can get some noise at the front, but not too bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Itaca is a pleasant enough hotel, let down by its location and a few small, niggling, things.

The bathroom, for example, is very smart, as one would expect in a 4 star hotel. However the shower is fed from the bath tap and does not have a thermostatic valve. The temperature fluctuates rapidly from tepid to scalding and back again. Another niggle is that we were provided with just one tiny bar or soap that disintegrated on day 1 and was never replaced.

The rooms are advertised as having 'international TV' and sure enough there are about 60 channels to choose from. However, all but 2 or 3 (presumably local) stations are so very badly pixellated they are impossible to watch or even listen to. The TV is therefore useless.

Free wifi throughout the hotel? Yes! Hurrah! More hotels should realise that these days, for the majority of guests, wifi is like hot water. It should be free and unmetered. Speed in my 4th floor room was generally only about 2mbs but adequate for email etc.

On the top floor of the hotel, there is a gym, sauna and sun deck with outside jacuzzi. However, there are no changing facilities, leaving you the prospect of wandering through the hotel in swimming costume..... (we chose not to).

The restaurant does a good buffet breakfast and the evening menu is very good. Our meal for two was 66 euro including wine and was only let down by being served on cold plates - such a simple oversight!

Despite the above niggles, we enjoyed our 3 night stay here, the staff are helpful and friendly. But I doubt we will be returning, because of the location. Prospective visitors should be aware that Itaca is quite some distance from the tourist area of Barcelona. There is next to nothing within easy walking distance of the hotel and a taxi down to the old town costs between 12 and 20 euros depending on traffic. The buses however are plentiful and clean, and if you can work out where they are going, are a bargain at only 2 euros.

If I visit Barcelona again, I will find a hotel in the Born district.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Great staff who were very helpful and accomodating. As we found everywhere in Spain, hot food at breakfast needs to be kept hotter. Rooms were fine, but a bit noisy at night and we had to have window open because of warmer weather arriving. I am sure in summer, the air conditioning would eliminate this problem. There is a supermarket right next door where you can get wine and snacks which is always nice. Hotel recommended a restaurant which was outstanding - Nectari - a Michellin star winner just a block away. The hotel is very close to Barcelona Saints Station from which you can get everywhere, but it is some distance from the town centre. There are restaurants within walking distance so if you don't mind the subways and trains, its ideal. One disappointment was that none of the gym equipment was working.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to H10 Itaca Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about H10 Itaca Hotel

Address: Avenida de Roma 22, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#120 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#137 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — H10 Itaca Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The H10 Itaca is ideally situated in the heart of the Eixample neighbourhood, very close to Sants Station (AVE) and the Montjuïc exhibition centre. You´ll be impressed by the hotel´s recent refurbishment with modern and innovative touches to the front entrance, Front Desk and Lobby Bar. The hotel´s new features include a plunge pool on the revamped Chill-Out Terrace and the Itaca Restaurant, which offers select signature cuisine in the evenings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your H10 Itaca Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
h10 Itaca Barcelona
Hotel h10 Itaca
H10 Itaca Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage H10 Itaca Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.