We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Heart of All That is Happening!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inglaterra Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inglaterra Hotel to your Saves list
Inglaterra Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer De Pelai, 14, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #129 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manalapan, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“In the Heart of All That is Happening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We arrived at the hotel following a two week cruise, during which I had caught a persistent cough. By the first evening, I was sick enough to seek out a doctor. My husband spoke with the people at the desk and within less than half an hour, a doctor was in our hotel room examining me. He ordered me to immediately go the hospital and the hotel staff quickly arranged a taxi for us. Fortunately, we made it back to the hotel later that night. The staff was right there for us through everything. They even made sure I had hot water for tea available when I needed it. We were able to salvage the next three days of our vacation.

I must start off by saying that the room, the Loft Terrace, was very, very large and clean with a large attached bathroom. It also had a private rooftop terrace, fenced off from the one that was available to all other guests. It was roomy, had chaise lounges, chairs, tables and an umbrella; the perfect place to sunbathe. Although there is a pool upstairs in the other part of the rooftop, it was very small - just a tiny pool to sit in, really, but the water was still too cold to use this. The suite we had was pricier than that other rooms, but it was really luxurious and well worth the extra money was paid for it. Other rooms seemed to have French windows only and if they had other actual balconies, I didn't notice them.

The staff at the desk was awesome, especially Philippe. He was most helpful in directing us anyplace we asked and quickly became our personal GPS System. His recommendation of restaurants was right on the money, especially the tapas places he directed us to. On my husband's birthday, Philippe sent a bottle of chilled cava on ice to help us celebrate. The hotel staff was indeed generous and thoughtful and Philippe is solely responsible for the fact that it is run so smoothly. Whatever his is paid, it isn't enough. This man works very hard and we really appreciated him being such a vital part of our Barcelona vacation.

Our stay at the hotel included breakfast each morning; the dining room was immaculate, like the rest of the hotel, and even though taste is subjective, I cannot imagine that anyone would be unable to find something good to eat there.

The location was absolutely the best. We were just a hop, skip and a jump from the Rambla, which is an experience in itself. If I had the time, I could have sat on one of the benches and just people-watched the entire day. We were warned of pick pockets, but had no negative experiences at all. It is barely a block to the bus stops if you choose to venture out of the area.

Shopping in Barcelona was wonderful. I even managed to do some damage on the block where the hotel was. In fact, I might have single-handedly raised the Spanish economy. Make sure to visit Park Guell. We bought our tickets directly at the hotel desk (Philippe, of course) and spent a day there. The Park is unlike anything you have ever seen before.

I only wish I had been feeling better so that I could have done more than we did, but we did the best we could under the circumstances. So, now that you have made the decision to visit Barcelona, go and enjoy yourself. Stay away from anyone who coughs! LOL Do give a serious thought to staying at the Inglaterra. You can't go wrong.

Room Tip: The Loft Terrace faces the back of the building and is excellent for privacy if that is what you pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    344
    94
    22
    12
See reviews for
107
360
18
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pisa, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

wonderful breakfast included if you book through internet hotel site

very nice and welcoming staff . Very high level for a three stars hotel.

Rooms very quiet ;no noise . Very large bathroom fully equipped with very good products fair trade

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this hotel is very near metro stop for the university and a 2 block walk to plaza catayluna and cortes ingles and the northern start of las ramblas.... the location was superb! there was a market across the street and a subway sandwich shop! we had the breakfast everyday and it was a very nice buffet. i would recommend this hotel. the rooms are european small and there was no electric kettle for tea making in the room. again, the location was everything for us.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vitoria, ES
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

At first appearance the hotel just seemed a nice, clean hotel in a central location but during my stay I appreciated that although we were in a very noisy part of the city when we closed the windows that noise was non-existent. Only one complaint was the air conditioning was broken and although it was April and cool enough if you have a window open, this wasn't possible due to street noise, the solution was to give us a fan which solved the problem but it would have been good to have been told at the time of checking in.
Staff were friendly and spoke english which was a help. The location was amazing, close to everything, especially La Rambla. I would recommend this hotel to to anyone who is looking for a middle of the range hotel.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The upside- The staff are very welcoming and friendly. The location is great for the tourist sites. The room was comfortable, clean and spacious.
The downside- the wifi is horrific- if like me you have any work to do requiring downloads or streaming it is impossible the connection is dire. I spoke to reception about this and was told it was probably too busy at the time with everyone connected- at midnight? This seemed a lazy excuse.
My room had a pod style coffee machine which I thought was a nice touch until you see that there is a charge of €1 for a pod! Why do this? It felt insulting to guests and shows a lack of genuine hospitality. The roof top terrace is very pleasant but there is no service up there - coupled with the fact that there is a sign stating it is "forbidden" to consume any food or drink not bought from the hotel- fair enough if it was a simple procedure to get service whilst on the terrace but you have to return to the reception to order anything! It also says it has a pool, but this is a small tub atop the rooftop terrace, so don't expect a swim!
With a few simple adjustments to these issues it would be reasonable value and a much better stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015 via mobile

We've stayed at a number of hotels in Barcelona. We had pleasant memories of a stay a few years ago at the Inglaterra. We decided to return. We weren't disappointed. Jessica greeted us when we arrived from our overnight flight (the hotel is close to one of the airport bus stops). She helped us store our bags until we could check in during early afternoon. She was friendly and extraordinarily helpful. She made us feel very welcome and offered useful tips for our stay. The breakfast offers a number of options. The hotel is close to the Barri Gotico and the Ramblas but in a quiet location. Barcelona has excellent public transportation and the hotel is close to the subway. Barcelona is one of our favorite cities. When we return, we'll choose the Inglaterra.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2015

Very good location, 100 metres from Catalunia Placa, in the center but quiet calm, corner rooms are very quiete, two metro stop very close, clean and comfortable rooms, very kind reception staff, free wifi, .

Room Tip: Corner room are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inglaterra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inglaterra Hotel

Address: Carrer De Pelai, 14, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#143 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Inglaterra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique hotel entirely renovated and located in the centre of Barcelona, at the entrance of the famous Ramblas. It is next to Plaza Catalonia, MACBA Museum, Barrio Ghotico and prestigious Passeig de Gracia. It is the sister property of prestigious Hotel Majestic. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Inglaterra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inglaterra Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inglaterra Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.