We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments, friendly and helpful staff, ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atenea Calabria Apartaments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Atenea Calabria Apartaments to your Saves list
Atenea Calabria Apartaments
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calabria 129-131, 08015 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #187 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    214
    65
    16
    7
See reviews for
138
100
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This hotel isn't going to win any glamor awards, for sure. It was a little run-down and old, and our room was quite chilly and we couldn't get it to warm up. That being said, everything was very clean, and all the basics were cared for. The staff were very helpful when we asked for recommendations for food after we'd arrived late one night, and were in general friendly. The location was great, as it was just a few minutes' walk from the metro station and the Montjuic area. We also enjoyed the balcony, as it gave us a nice place to go out and relax with some Spanish wine. Overall, this is definitely a no-frills establishment, but it does get the job done.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AteneaCalabria, Director General at Atenea Calabria Apartaments, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thanks to your comments. Best regards

MFont
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great room with Double bed and bed settee and dining table with small kitchen area (including microwave, kettle, 2 electric rings and sink with crockery,cutlery etc) sliding door between bedroom /kitchen area which keeps smells out of sleeping area. Bathroom good powerful shower full sized bath. Small balcony with street view, table and 2 chairs, Room was cleaned and bins emptied every day. Staff very helpful, free use of computers and lounge room for relaxing with tea coffee magazines and childrens' toys. Supermarket right next door so easy, for looking after yourself without having to carry stuff a long way or worry if you forget something. Location is 5-10 mins walk to arena / metro /Art museum . Not posh but in a major city, for a sight seeing trip for a week it did the job!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with clever-hotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AteneaCalabria, Director General at Atenea Calabria Apartaments, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Many thanks for your comments. We hope see you next time you visit Barcelona. Best regards
Meritxell Font (manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I travelled with my seven year old son and found this hotel a really practical option. The room had a small balcony at the front, then a sitting area with a sofa bed and desk, then a screened off sleeping area with twin beds. This meant I could put my son to bed and sit separately. At the back was a kitchenette with a hob, fridge, microwave, sink, pots, pans, crockery and cutlery. This meant we could prepare some meals ourselves (there is a supermarket next door). The bathroom had a small bath and a powerful shower. The decor and fittings were basic, but the room was clean and priced to offer value for money. The staff were friendly. Rocafort metro station is about 5 minutes away on foot, so getting round the city was easy. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AteneaCalabria, Director General at Atenea Calabria Apartaments, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Many thanks for your kind words. We hope to receive you again.
Best regards.
Meritxell Font
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We visited Barcelona in February for our wedding anniversary. We booked flights and hotel independently.

We travelled as two couples, we had two rooms and breakfast was included.

The hotel is set in a suburb of Barcelona about a 15minute walk from the centre.

The hotel reception, greeted us very well a checkin was very efficient and friendly.

we had the same floor and the rooms are very spacious..

We had a bathroom with over bath shower , WC, and sink and a window, complimentary soap etc, which was replenished daily, fresh white clean towels.

The hall way the led along to a cupboard with a safe in it (if you want a safe you just need to leave a refundable deposit worth doing), then there was a kitchenette, with kettle, fridge, a couple of rings and a sink and drainer in the cupboards all you need for self catering break.

Then you move on to the bedroom area, and a divider for a seating area and a TV, there is a balcony and we over looked the back of the hotel.

The rooms where cleaned daily and we had fresh towels.

The breakfast was very nice and lots of choice, your typical continental and there was some bacon and sausage and egg it you wanted it, plus fresh fruit etc.

The hotel is located next to a tube station, we used the tube to come from the hotel, which would be fine if you didnt have suitcase!

We taxied back to the airport and this cost us about 25Euros.

We had a super time sight seeing and we used the bus tours which covered most of barcelona and you can hop on and off.

Loved this city and really liked the Atenea Calaria.

Room Tip: rooms have hairdryers!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

If you think of a hotel room as "just a room to sleep in" then this place will be fine for you. There are no frills and nothing luxurious about this place, but it is clean, the staff is friendly and the hotel is in a convenient location in Barcelona.

You're two blocks away from subway stop Rocafort and right next to a grocery store. That's helpful because the hotel rooms have a small cooktop, microwave and refrigerator.

The bathrooms have been recently renovated and the water pressure in the show is like a fire hose.

The sleeping area and work desk look a little tired and are in need of an update. I found no problems with the bed and sheets were crisp and clean. On the first night there was a ratty comforter on the bed, but that was replaced with a clean, white blanket on the second night. I'm not sure the reasoning behind that.

When you exit the hotel you leave your key at the front desk and upon return you tell the receptionist your room number and he'll retrieve it. This is all based on them remembering that you stay at the hotel. In the six days I was there I was never once challenged: "let me check your name" etc. In the rooms themselves there are no deadbolt or chain locks on the door. Both of these issues concerned me, but everything was okay during my stay.

If you're looking for just a room in a convenient location, then this place might be for you. If you expect luxury of a big brand, then you'll probably want to look somewhere else.

Room Tip: Try to get one far away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apopka, Florida
Top Contributor
291 reviews 291 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We stayed 3 nights here and encluded a breakfast buffet with our room. The buffet was the best I have ever had. Everything you could want was on the tables.

Our room was a shotgun style apartment with a balcony. Newly renovated i think and worth every penny. The room was real clean and had a full size but small kitchen even though we had the buffet.

Just down about a block from the underground and easy to use the underground if you come in via the train as we did.

The staff was great with helping us with recommendations and really friendly. This was one of our best choices for our whole vacation.

Room Tip: Any room is good and include a breakfast buffet is well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atenea Calabria Apartaments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atenea Calabria Apartaments

Address: Calabria 129-131, 08015 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#174 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#193 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atenea Calabria Apartaments 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aparthotel Atenea Calàbria is situated next to Rocafort Metro Station, 10 minutes walk from Plaza de Espanya, just over one kilometre from Ramblas Boulevard. It offers 35m square room with kitchen, balcony and free Wi-Fi.The studios are spacious and brightly decorated. Each has a seating area with satellite TV, air conditioning, kitchenette with a fridge, microwe, flat tv and coffee maker.Aparthotel Atenea Calàbria offers a daily buffet breakfast. There are also a range of supermarkets, cafes, bars and restaurants within walking distance of the aparthotel.Aparthotel Atenea Calabria is just over 10 minutes’ walk from Plaza de Espanya, whilst Sants Train and Bus Station is a further 500 metres away. The nearest Metro Station, Rocafort, is a 5-minute walk away and is just 3 stops from the top of Las Rambla ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Atenea Calabria Apartaments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atenea Calabria Apartaments Barcelona, Catalonia
Atenea Calabria Apartaments Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atenea Calabria Apartaments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.