We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years Eve” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tryp Barcelona Apolo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Tryp Barcelona Apolo to your Saves list
Tryp Barcelona Apolo
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain (El Poble Sec)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #271 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed here for two nights, new years eve and the day before that.
The immediate impression when you go in is that they cater for a lot of people, and a custom to greeting you with a smile.
We speak little to no Spanish and almost every member of staff had English as a second tongue, which was refreshing.
Free wi-fi codes which last a day have to picked up from the service desk.
The bar was a little expensive, but it is next door to the theatre so was expected.

The room at the end of the day was just a place to crash at the end of a long day touring the city. The 1st night the air-con stopped halfway though the night and woke up feeling awful, but the next night we went out drinking in the centre and felt fresh in the morning, issue was solved without us even having to ask.

The breakfast was included in the price of the room, but some people did have to pay on the door. Its a buffet style layout similar to that found in every other chain hotel (e.g. hoilday inn)

Price wasn't too bad either. Its a good stay but 4* because it wasn't a 100% experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for tanking the time to leave your comments after your stay!
It is fantastic to know you spent New Years Eve with us, in Barcelona! We are so glad it was a nice stay for you. Please feel free to contact us any time; we remain at your entire disposal.

Best regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    771
    371
    118
    69
See reviews for
307
715
56
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (336)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cupertino
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I was in Barcelona for business and we chose this hotel because it is was in walking distance to work. That is the only redeeming feature of this hotel. This hotel is so far below acceptable! Here is a list of things that went wrong during our stay: we were put on a smoking floor (we were moved to another floor the next day), the air conditioning did not work, the phones did not work, the hair dryer did not work, the Internet is very slow, the towel rack fell off, the bath towels are thin and old, the blankets on the bed are disgusting - it looks like they have never been washed, the cleaning ladies actually mopped the carpets - no vacuum?, the shower curtain was moldy, the power went off in the room when we used the iron - that took two days to get,....the list goes on. Since we were a party of 14, we could not find other accommodations on such short notice so we agreed to stick it out! We will look back on this experience and laugh, but I would NEVER stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments after your stay.
We would like to offer our most sincere apologies since the service you received was below the standards you expected and for the inconveniences this may have caused you.
We are so concerned about all the aspects you mention since we are not used at all to receive a feedback in which anything is at your convenience. This is a new objective for us and a reason work even harder in order to to improve on our day to day service.
The Hotel TRYP Apolo follows a very standardized cleaning process and please rest assured we will revise it with the involved teams to make sure that everything is being followed as usual.
We would really appreciate if you can contact us (gex.tryp.apolo@melia.com) and provide us with more detailed information such as the room you were staying in to make sure that we can avoid whatever that can makes any of our guests to have such an unfortunate impression.

Kind regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location, right near bus and subway, very convenient. 10 min walk to the waterfront and to la rambla. Decent breakfast with no issues with the room. Clean and comfy bed. Had inner section room so it was nice and quiet. Definitely recommend and would stay again if going to Barcelona.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Experienc... T, Guest Experience Manager at Tryp Barcelona Apolo, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience with the world! We are happy you enjoyed our location and transport connection! Isn’t it USEFUL when visiting a city?
It is so fulfilling to know you would come back to the Hotel TRYP Apolo; please do not hesitate to contact us if you ever do, we will make sure we share a great experience together!

Warm regards,
Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
222 helpful votes 222 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I’d rate this hotel average. It wasn’t bad, but yet nothing really stood out either. The location, however, was excellent, as it was adjacent to the metro (subway) stop.

We stayed here after our Carnival cruise and there were about 30 of us from the cruise staying here. We all arrived at the same time via Carnival transportation. CHECK IN WAS A DISASTER, and therefore my first impression of the hotel’s organizational skills was poor. Our rooms were not ready, as we arrived in the morning, which was very understandable. They did allow us to check in our bags, which was a nice perk, however the process was a disaster. There was no line, just a mass of people standing in the lobby. We had no clue even where the bag check in was. You’d think they were new to this whole process and never had cruise guest before, or, even worse had no clue we were all coming at the same time.

Anyway, after we checked in our bags in, we explored the city. The Concierge was very, very helpful – he was the best asset of the hotel! Barcelona is very easy and inexpensive to get around using the subway pass. And we found everyone friendly and helpful if we needed help with directions. In our short visit, we saw Sagrada Familia, Guell Park, and the beach, all using the subway.

When we arrived back to the hotel later that day, we checked in, and our bags were delived to our room (very nice guy). The room was clean and the rooms were good size and had most of the typically amenities. No wash clothes, which I believe is typical of European hotels. No shampoo or conditioner as well, which I thought was odd. Our room was next to the street and noisy at night and early Saturday morning . .but hey, you are in the city and one should expect noise.

We went to the lobby café to get a drink and bite to eat. The staff was not accommodating nor friendly. We decided to leave and go elsewhere. We then walked to the Ramblas – an easy 10 minute walk. I read on this site not to walk to the Ramblas at night. Hmmm, although the street is somewhat shady with peep bars, we felt safe. As in any city, you just need to be aware of your surroundings.

I can’t comment on the free continental breakfast the next morning, as we had to get up too early for our flights and missed it.

All in all, the hotel is good. I’d would stay here again if I really had too. However, I have a feeling if you do some research you can find a better hotel in this area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salmiyah, Kuwait
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

I hve a tendency to find good hotel which have location as there main advantage so as to save time and money. Tryp Apolo is located next to metro station and is about ten min walk from La Rambla street. It also falls on major bus route, so connectivity-wise its great. Rooms are bit tiny but clean (take garden view room as road side rooms cud be but noisy coz of road traffic). Breakfast spread is good, if booking online add breakfast to your plan or else there are option across the street. Service is above average....overall Paisa Wasool :)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

stayed here for 4 nights had room at the back so wasnt nosiey. Didnt have breakfast so cant comment.Room was fine for what we needed it for just sleeping between walking everywhere.got a bus from airport no 46 right outside airport to the top of paral. lel street just off roundabout then you walk down the street on the same side the bus drops you off about 15 minutes then come to hotel it cost 2 euros each well worth it and we got it back.to airport this way as well.lovely chinese down the road on the corner opposite side. The musuem at the top of the road has a fountain infront fantastic when its going but be warned the music and light show in the night is only on thurs fri sat sun.

Room Tip: room at the back not so nosiey
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hotel is in an excellent location and the rooms are comfortable. Las Ramblas is a 10 minute walk. The Metro is right next to the hotel. Ask for a room away from the front street. Breakfast is okay as long as you are not expecting a first class American breakfast. Cooked meats include undercooked bacon and frankfurts. Cooked eggs.Plenty of fruits, breads, cheeses, cold cuts, juices. Crew can be challenged to keep food stations supplied when restaurant is full. The only other issue was not being notified properly when the hotel performed their water system flush--guests were not supposed to use the building's water while they flushed it with chlorine. As a result, my wife took a shower AND drank the water. Overall, not a bad place for the money. Complimentary fitness center around te corner

Room Tip: Away from front street
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tryp Barcelona Apolo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tryp Barcelona Apolo

Address: Av. Paral.lel 57-59, 08004 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Poble Sec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#152 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#169 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#196 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tryp Barcelona Apolo 4*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Melia, Venere, BookIt.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Tryp Barcelona Apolo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Tryp Hotel Apolo
Tryp Apolo Barcelona
Tryp Barcelona Apolo Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tryp Barcelona Apolo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.