We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cera 23

Cera 23
Carrer de la Cera, 23, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)
+34 934 42 08 08
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Cera 23 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #27 of 6,910 Restaurants in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish, Fusion, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: El Raval
Description: Nuestra unica pretension es hacer que salgas del restaurante, al menos algo mejor de lo que entraste. Para conseguirlo ofrecemos el producto del mercado mas fresco, preparado con carino y servido con una sonrisa. Abrimos todos los dias a las 7PM, Lunes, Jueves,Viernes, Sabados y Domingos tambien de 1 a 4PM. Open everyday from 7PM.Monday, Thursday, Friday, Sat and Sun also opens for lunch from 1PM to 4PM.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really enjoyable meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a very enjoyable meal here. Had pre booked a table and it was very busy when we left so recommend you pre book.

It's slightly off the normal trail as in Raval which is the area dominated by immigrant type eateries and this is perhaps one of the more Spanish based restaurants in the area.

Had a great rib eye at a reasonable price and my wife had monkfish which was very enjoyable, both were reasonable prices but the steak was best I have had in sometime.

Didn't try the infamous blackberry mojitos but it appeared every other table did.

All in all an enjoyable meal/location and good price as well.

Highly recommend and favourite meal for my 4 days in barcelona.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,364 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,662
    488
    149
    53
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Fabulous food, great atmosphere, loved the eclectic lights and chairs. The best meal we had in our stay in Barcelona, a fantastic change from the mainstream food around las ramblas. Wish we'd found it earlier on our holiday! Really reasonably priced, we had fabulous rib eye steaks and catalan mushroom risotto (has to be the best risotto I've ever had). Waiting staff were attentive and friendly. Gotta try the blackberry mojitos.... We turned up before the kitchen opened and an aged to get a table, but there were people waiting for tables all night - so would recommend booking.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hard to find gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

It was an adventure finding the restaurant but well worth it. We had reservations and had to wait a few minutes for a table in the back, right near the kitchen. Watching our meals being prepared added to the delightful evening. The food was terrific and the staff was wonderful. They explained all of the dishes and made recommendations allowing us to enjoy a true Spanish experience. We sat next to a rowdy table of Scandinavians, who were thoroughly and loudly enjoying their food and drink, especially drink. We wound up bonding with the staff over our boisterous neighbors and were rewarded for our "go with the flow attitude" with numerous after dinner drinks, on the house. Don't be put off by the neighborhood. Make a reservation and enjoy!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
392 reviews 392 reviews
240 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
339 helpful votes 339 helpful votes
“Good dinner .. rough location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We went here for dinner on our recent trip .. rough location though it was well worth the hike to get here.

We did make reservations which is recommended as this place gets busy. Nice atmosphere ... friendly staff.

The menu was quite nice; my wife had the cheese/tomato salad to start which she really enjoyed. She then had the tuna as an entree which was really good.

I didn't see anything on the appetizer list I wanted so just ordered an entree with was the pork .. it was OK at best.

As for drinks, we had one round and tried to order a second but they never came.

Total bill was $60.

My wife gave her dinner a "4.5" while mine was a "3" so we settled in the middle as we have different options on this dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“don't be scared off by the neighborhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We made reservations here based on the trip advisor ratings, and we started out from our hotel on foot, using our cell phone as GPS. We could have sworn we had taken a really bad wrong turn, and then when the GPS told us to go down a small alley, we were a little wary. We found the restaurant and inside the door were large containers of fresh vegetables, fruits and herbs at the bar, so we went in. I am glad we did - we were seated near the small open kitchen, and got to see our food being prepared. Everything was excellent. We had a shrimp appetizer that was cooked perfectly. Their blackberry cocktail so good I had two. The owner was there and came over to see how we were doing. He offered us to send back anything we ordered and didn't like. We didn't take him up on that. We loved it all.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cera 23 also viewed

Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
Barcelona, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Cera 23? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cera 23, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.