We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good mid range option” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Barcelona Centro

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added NH Barcelona Centro to your Saves list
NH Barcelona Centro
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Duc, 15 | Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly NH Duc de la Victoria)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #114 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good mid range option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

Stayed two nights on business. Modern, clean room in old building. Good shower. Free wifi on request. Room great for one but might be a little cramped for two for a longer stay (but this is the city centre so to be expected). Room was quite warm and opening the window quite noisy as lots of life on pedestrian street until late at night - air con was OK though. Close to major sights and Placa Catalunya with great transport links. Very generous breakfast buffet (includes Cava) but for less money there are numerous bakeries and coffee stalls nearby. I would return when back in Barcelona.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    636
    131
    18
    10
See reviews for
178
571
41
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Hotel is in excellent location in "old" barcelona. Easy walk to the Ramblas and Cathedral. Staff was very helpful and did speak English when needed. Room was a bit small but very clean and cozy. Hotel does serve full breakfast buffet (for additional cost), but we didn't try it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel from 1st - 4th Sept as a couple.

Pros:
There is Free WiFi
The rooms are clean and spacious with a balcony
They have aircon
Its an ideal location for exploring the city
Small mimi market directly across street
2 minute walk from La Ramblas
5 minute walk from the Aerobus
Friendly helpful reception

Cons:
Difficult to find as the taxi would not take us down the street and dropped us at La Ramblas and it took us over an hour to find as the locals have no idea where anything is.
On website is states rooms are sound proof - they are not
The man in the room next to us got the security guard to knock our door to say we were smoking in the room - we allowed him in as we were not!
No Bar

Overall it was a great experience despite a few hiccups! Would stay here again and would recommend to friends, family etc. Close to restaurants, shopping, sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

Disappointed doesn't even begin to describe how I feel about our stay at the NH Barcelona Centro. The hotel itself is in an awesome location, which is its only redeeming factor. It's about two blocks off la rambla on a quiet street. Very central to a lot of great sites. That's where the positive ends. The first room we got was gross. We expected small, but it just looked, smelled, and felt dirty. The bathroom especially was just run down and not very clean. There was no safe. The air conditioning was broken. We booked this one through expedia so I'm not sure whether or not we got put in a less desirable room because of that or not. We decided to leave one of our keycards in the slot to keep the electricity on so that it could cool down while we went site seeing. We came back six hours later and the room was stifling. We called down to the front desk, they sent someone up who confirmed that it was broken. They moved us to another room with working AC (and a safe, thank goodness), but it was still just as dirty and smelly as the previous one. The room itself smelled musty, but the linens and towels had a different and revolting smell. I requested new towels, which smelled only slightly better. Might be time to invest in a new washer or better detergent. There were stains on the wall and the bathroom again was just gross. The cleanliness was about what you'd expect at a run down motel 6 or some motor inn. It was just so disappointing and uncomfortable, I really regret booking this hotel and would never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel in early July, 2012. The hotel is located in the Old town at Gothic Quarter. The room and bathoroon were very clean and comfortable. I had breakfast in the hotelfor 12.00 euros and it is worth it. It's alrge buffet with breads, fruits, juices, pastries etc. If you want eggs, just ask the waitress the kind you want. As for other NH hotels, free wifi only in the lobby. Location is great! near everything and in a quiet street at the same time. Very good option if you want to stay inside this amazing part of the city, full of people, restaurants and stores, but want some peace at night and sleep quietly. It's near the church Santa Maria Del Mar, which definetely deserves a visit: amazing gothic church, full of light, beautiful! If you want visit the interior of La sagrada familia (just amazing!!), get your ticket in the ATM machine of "La caixa" just across the entrance. It has the symbol of La sagrada familia on it. It's better than staying in line for a long time. Another good tip: you want to have great and cheap tapas, take the subway (line 3, green) to Poble Sec and walk down Carrer de Blai. You will find several tapas bars in a row, not made for tourists, more authentic stuff. We had pintxos (pinchos), which are tapas on a piece of bread "spiked" with a tookpick. You should save the tookpick because you pay later when the guy counts the number of tookpicks you have in your plate. Pintoxs are delicious in Taberna Blai Tonight for 1.00 euro each!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

The hotel is based in the heart of the old town of Barcelona. A perfect locaton.
As most NH hotels, it is well and modernly designed.
We could not reach the hotel as it is located in a restricted zone. We asked for help but nobt own oody of the stuff was willing to help with the car nor with the luggage! Matress is old and need to be replaced Price was too high for a 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Fantastic location for sight seeing. Very close to las ramblas and 2 min walk to catalonya square. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Free wi fi. Comfortable spacious rooms with very good shampoo and bathroom materials provided. Breakfast was very nice and worth it's value. The hotel is ideally located opposite a very cheap super Market for your food/ drink needs. Well worth a visit and great value hotel. For the price, you won't get a better hotel/ location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Barcelona Centro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Barcelona Centro

Address: Duc, 15 | Ciutat Vella, 08002 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly NH Duc de la Victoria)
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#109 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — NH Barcelona Centro 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Barcelona Centro benefits from a prime location right in Barcelona's Gothic quarter, the city's oldest and most historical area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, NHHotels, Despegar.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your NH Barcelona Centro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Duc De La Victoria Hotel Barcelona
Nh Hotels Barcelona
Nh Hotel Barcelona
NH Barcelona Centro Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Barcelona Centro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.