We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelona Universal Hotel to your Saves list
Barcelona Universal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Barcelona Getaways
Ranked #49 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at the Universal 26th-29th April for a girls 50th weekend away. Hotel absolutely brilliant, modern, clean, comfortable and exceptionally friendly and helpful staff.
Near to The Ramblas, about a 10 minute walk which leads straight into the Gothic area. Metro outside the front door & Sagrada Familia only 4 or 5 stops away.
Roof top pool and lovely bar with views all round. Loved it there and such a fantastic location. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,409 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,168
    991
    186
    47
    17
See reviews for
351
1,260
53
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (498)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Excellent hotel in a great location. Nothing special to look at from the street but the interior and rooms are very nice and tasteful. Our room was spacious and comfortable and had a fantastic view over the city. Great breakfast buffet. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

It's not cheap but nowhere is in Barcelona I don't think. The location is excellent, with a metro station literally outside. A short walk takes you to the port area and the Ramblas. We've stayed in four different hotels in Barcelona, and this is the only one we'd definitely go back to.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the 8th floor or above at the back - great views of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We booked this hotel via the BA website and got an amazing deal for 5 nights and 6 days. The hotel has a metro station right outside (stop:para.lel) which has line 3-pretty much the only line you will be using to get around. The metro also has a tram link that you can use to get to the cable car point for Montjuic castle. The hotel is situated at a good location, there are many restaurants around and las ramblas is about 10mins walk away. The best food we had near the hotel was at a Chinese restaurant called xin Gracia. We did not opt for breakfast at the hotel as we wanted to try different places near the hotel. We did not enjoy breakfast along the strip of restaurants we had next to our hotel and decided to try the hotel breakfast one morning. It was delicious and we definitely recommend people opt for it. Our room was a standard double, it was medium sized and kept clean. The hotel also has a roof top pool and a solarium area which we used when the weather was good. The rooftop pool gives you stunning views of Barcelona including a view of the sagrada, toor agbar, barceloneta beach etc. Hotel staff were very helpful and kind. We booked a one day open bus tour and tickets to see a flamenco dance show with the hotel reception. Both were great and well worth it. We did majority of our sightseeing via the metro and just bought a 4 day travel card for two which cost roughly £40. The metro is very very simple to use but when in Barcelona you have to keep your bag close to you at all times. On one of the nights we decided to order room service and ordered pizza and chips with alioli. The food tasted alright...Barcelona do not really do great Italian food! We also tried the hotel bar by the reception which was cosy and had a good selection of food and drinks. The hotel also has a luggage storage room which was great as our flight was in the evening and so we spent the afternoon roaming around Barce and soaking up the sun. The only negative review we could give about this hotel is the late checkout. The website says we have the option of a late check out but when we called reception to confirm they said we had to check back with them on the day of check out. We called them early on check out day and they said the hotel is fully booked and therefore they cannot give us a late checkout of 2pm and we could have to check out at 12pm. This in our opinion did not give us an 'option' for late checkout. Nonetheless we would definitely recommend staying at this hotel and would definitely come back :)

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

We visited Barcelona in April, after flying to girona we then got the bus to Barcelona. The hotel was really easliy reached by the metro as the entrance to the station was literally outside the hotels front door. We were greeted at reception by an incredibly helpful man who spoke excellent English and gave us a map, talking through all the best places to visit ans how to get to them, and warning us about areas to avoid after dark. We were then shown to our superb room which was lovely and modern, clean and well equiped, The hotel is in a fantastic position, 5 mins walk from las ramblas and with the metro entrance just otside the door. We bought a T10 ticket for the metro which was perfect for our 3 night stay and we travelled and saw everything. Breakfast was delicious, in fact we ate so much each morning we rarely needed to eat again till mid afternoon. The hotel was busy but we heard no noise at night and slept well in the comfortanble bed. Reception was so friendly and helpful and after a long day walking we did make use of the pool and roof terrace for a dip and glass of wine in the sun shine. The only disapointing thing was the paella we had from the roof top restaurant just before we left for the airport, the sea food was overcooked and it was disgusting, especially as it was quite expensive. Other than it was a great stay.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley Surrey
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I booked this hotel in an inexpensive package deal with BA. We were 9 ladies celebrating my 50th. Good hotel - very close to La Ramblas, metro round outside to take you to Sagrada Familia and Cable Cars just 5 mins up the hill. Best bit was the rooftop bar with views over the city. Great Mohitos and Sangria - and lovely waiter up there while we were staying. Rooms were modern and comfy. Great showers. Nice quality linen and fluffy white towels. Breakfast was superb - but please please put more staff on at weekends as those 2 poor waiters were overwhelmed. We didn't like the queue! But would definitely come back - well deserved Certificate of Excellence.

Room Tip: Go to the bar round the corner - la Prudencia del Raval - best G and T ever!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eidsvoll Municipality, Norway
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Er have a great stay for 3 days. We can for sure recomend this hotel. Very central in Barcelona also a quit place. We will for sure come back.
Short way to Rambla and other places in Barcelona. :-) :-)

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Centrally located, convenient to public transportation, helpful and gracious staff, immaculately clean and at a great price - couldn't ask for more. It's been newly renovated, and although we had a room in the front of the hotel (on the 7th floor) it was completely insulated from the street noise.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#36 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#98 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona Universal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.