We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelona Universal Hotel to your Saves list
Barcelona Universal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Our stay at this hotel was trouble free and excellent value for money. It has spacious rooms, excellent facilities, a convenient location (next to a metro station) and the staff are very helpful and knowledgeable.

Room Tip: The rooms at the back are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,028
    910
    168
    47
    15
See reviews for
314
1,119
47
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed at this hotel for three nights with my wife, daughter and her husband the week prior to Christmas. We were allocated room 801 a lovely modern room with mini bar, free safe and air con, the only drawback was the window opened to a shaft, but no bother we were in a city centre and did not spend much time in the room. My daughter had a room on the 8 th floor also 817 they looked over the rooftops the floors 8 and above seem best. Lovely views from the roof pool area , very quiet on the corridors with a multi national clientele. The hotel have a security man on the door always he is very helpful as were all the staff especially the young Real Madrid supporter on the bar. Breakfast was lovely great choice of continental plus bacon beans scrambled egg etc. on leaving the hotel we left our luggage with the security man who gave us a chitty for the number of bags left and he locked them securely in the luggage room. Excellent as only he can access the room so you can leave all your bags.
Overall would recommend this hotel faultless all round.
Few tips for Barcelona get the daily metro bus pass which cost us 20€ Each for a 3 day unlimited metro and bus travel in the City zone. The city is vast and a maze, get a good street map, watch out for pickpockets don't keep money in your back pocket and bag straps round neck. Prices are reasonable and we had a great time. Also metro entrance right outside the hotel taxi to airport for 4 with cases €30.

Room Tip: 8th floor and above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varberg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just another hotel that works. You stay here to have a place to sleep. I general boring furniture through out the hotel. Hard and "high" pillows and a noisy street outside the window. Good breakfast and location with the subway 10 meters from the hotel. Great price ( in December)

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sirs;

Thank you for share your opinion with us.
Best regards nad Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chilliwack
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

There are many hotels from which to choose in Barcelona, and I believe many are very good. After a fairly extensive exploration of options we chose Hotel Barcelona Universal, and are VERY pleased that we did for the following reasons:
Location - the location was perfect for us. We drove into Barcelona and needed to "dump" the car at the rental office near the main train station. This was easy to drive to and was only 2 stops by subway to our hotel. In fact, the stairway exiting the subway terminated at the sidewalk right in front of the entrance to the hotel. EASY!. We purchased a couple of T10 subway tickets (good for 10 rides each) and zipped from our hotel to a variety of destinations throughout Barcelona in a matter of minutes. GREAT! Further, when it came time for us to depart from Barcelona and head to the airport, it was 2 stops to Placa d'Espanya to catch the aerobus and then 20 minutes to the front of the terminal. SIMPLE!
Quality - The room was modern, spacious, clean, and very comfortable with a balcony looking out on the city and Montjunc. The breakfast provided extensive choices, was nicely presented, and very tasty.
Staff - Front desk staff and breakfast staff were at all times courteous and helpful. Check in and check out processes were quick and efficient.
Should we visit Barcelona again, and I believe we will, Barcelona Hotel Universal is where we will stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Customer;

Thank you very much for your review,
Best regards and Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was fairly spacious and the bed comfortable. View was of the backs of flats with washing strewn over the balconies, so not great but quiet. The staff were friendly. We had dinner there one evening and it was very good. We ate breakfast and other meals elsewhere as there is a great choice within walking distance. Having a Metro stop right outside the hotel was a big plus. I have only given the hotel 3 stars as we checked out on 25th November and the next day I emailed them to say I had left 2 items of jewellery on the desk in the room. To date ( 19th December ) I have not had any acknowledgment that they have even received my mail.

Room Tip: Our room, at the back of hotel, did not have a great view but was quiet. Rooms at the front may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sirs;

Thanks for your review, we never receive an email from you, can you please check it and resend it again to the Hotel. We have your values but we have no way to contact you.

Please check our website to find our contact mail because we can not send you an email adress by this way and write us in order to arrange how to send it to you.

Best regards and Merry Christmas.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Clean hotel at a good location. It is located in art district so you will see many theaters there. The locals call this the ghetto side (old china town and red light district were there) but we had no issue walking around at night. It is 10-15 mins walk to La Rambler and the metro is right outside the hotel. Free wifi. Breakfast isn’t included and I believe it’s $15 per person. Many cafés open around 8am not far from the hotel and La Rambler. I would stay there again.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Customer;

Thank you very much for your review.
Merry Christmas and happy 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I stayed here for five days on a bed and breakfast basis in mid September 2014. We were pleased with the room, the cleaning service and the knowledgable and friendly hotel staff, including the concierge. It was a lovely breakfast (warm/cold continental options) and there was different cakes/dessert treats laid out as part of the breakfast spread each day, which is always lovely for sweet toothes like myself!

The hotel was well situated and within walking distance of a good few attractions and there is a metro station right outside for those attaractions that are further out.

This hotel somewhat undersells their roof garden, it's great up there; I wish we'd discovered it sooner.

Overall, both my partner and I agreed that were we to return to Barcelona, we'd stay here again without hesitation given as the experience and facilities are good value.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel (think it's the Eastern side). Our immediate view was of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Sirs;

Thank you very much for share your opinion with us and other posible guests.
Best regards and MERRY CHRISTMAS !!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona Universal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.