We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My best birthday ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Save Saved
You added Barcelona Universal Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Barcelona Universal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #45 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
2 reviews
“My best birthday ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

We used trip advisor to select this hotel. Firstly, so easy to find from airport, one bus and train later and we were standing in the foyer. Lovely room, champagne for two delivered within minutes of checking in. perfect location to get to all main attractions, we actually walked everywhere from the hotel. breakfast was very good, nice choice of hot and cold. Prices in hotel bar not bad either, only 3 euros for large wine. Mini bar prices not so good so buy your own and use the fridge for that instead.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
First of all let me thank you for the confidence you placed in our hotel. Thank you very much for your comments which will help us improve our work performance. With your permission I will pass them on to the staff to share them in the most appropriate way. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,375 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,114
    1,008
    178
    56
    19
See reviews for
266
1010
39
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (405)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

The hotel is situated about a 10 minute stroll from La Rambla so very handy for exploring.If you use the airport bus get off at Placa d'Espanya and either walk down Avda Paral.lel which takes about 20 minutes but if you have a lot of luggage get a taxi for a few Euro. For interest our taxi from the hotel to the airport was 28 Euro
The hotel room was large and clean ( room 709 with a front view) as was the bathroom which had the usual toileteries to let you shower and scrub your teeth if you arrive empty handed.
The staff are all very helpful and their English will answer any questions.
We did not eat in the hotel so can't comment about the food.
Would we stay again? Without a doubt.

Room Tip: Front facing can be noisy if you open the window but they give great views the higher you are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Thank you very much for spending time and writing your opinion. On behalf of our staff we appreciate your words; to us they are helpful and allow us to assess both: quality of our facilities and the service we want to offer to our customers. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon among us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We would recommend this hotel to anybody that is looking to stay in Barcelona. Its situated around 5-10 minutes walk from La Rambla. The room is modern and clean. We had a room on the 7th floor which had great views across Barcelona. The staff are very friendly and speak very good English. The only small down side was the cost of the breakfast which was €15 per person and not a great quality but there are plenty of places to go elsewhere. We would choose this hotel again if we were going to head back to Barcelona.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Personally I appreciate your writing; I will discuss your comments with our staff. Your words are very useful in order to keep improving and trying to provide a good service. Much obliged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights last month and would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Barcelona! On arrival we were welcomed by friendly staff and much to our delight a free upgrade. We stayed in the skyline suite, which was spacious, had a terrace and not to mention a huge bathroom including a jacuzzi bath. The hotel was also in a great location with a tube station right outside the entrance which made it easy to explore the city. The breakfast was of good standard and catered to all tastes. I could not recommend a better hotel and would certainly stay there again if visiting the city.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Your feedback is important and of great value to us. It helps us to assess our work trying to improve ourselves and set new targets.
I sincerely thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 days and in our view the place is a perfect city break hotel.

We didn't spend too much time there as there is so much to see in Barca.

Saying that; it's clean, moder, nice staff, good breakfast, wonderful power shower, great coffee and has a swimming pool!!!

Booked in advance and had a room on the 7th floor at the rear of the building.

Couldn't fault it one bit.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Would reccommend to anyone!!!!

I booked the Universal Hotel 6 months in advance & got a GREAT rate with a free bottle of carva, late checkout & breakfast. The trip was for my boyfriend as a birthday prezzy, and he was over the moon!
Hotel was easy to find using the metro line from the airport, extreamly close to L2 & L3 lines.

Room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We had a road facing room, noise was't bad at all (blackout curtains = bliss) Windows didnt open fully but it was'nt warm enough for that, plus there is aircon.
The Free wifi access was a god send....... helped out alot when planning trips fefore leaving the hotel.
The metro was just like the London tube but BETTER, cleaner, punctual, cooler and cheaper. Make sure you get a 2 or 3 days travel card as it saves you money.

Rite outside the hotel there are restaurants that you will instantly recognise......Subway, KFC and a Burger King. Great for when your on all the go all day and just want a quick bite to eat for dinner.

Room had a safe, TV (not many English channels) Hairdryer, desk, phone,and a bath with showerhead.

Breakfast was continental and had a wide range of choice, cant complain really.

Barcelona in its self was a fantastic place. If you can and your into football (or even if your not really, like me) try and go see Barcelona play at Camp Nou...... atmosphere was amazing!!

HOT TIP: If you have an iphone then download the Barcelona Metro App helps you get from A-B on the metro in a few easy clicks!

Overall 10/10 for everything.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Once again thank you very much for your writing. It is very important to us that our guests are satisfied and their acknowledgment helps us keeping this mission. We appreciate your words and thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swindon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Stayed for two nights and cannot find a fault. Have read some reviews that can only be described as nit picking! Staff were very helpful and spoke good English and the location was ideal for sight seeing. Used the car park which was tight but then show me an underground car park that isn't. Had a room on the sixth floor at the back, quiet and not at all noisy. Breakfast was plentiful and varied AND good value, who wants to get showered and dressed and then go hunting for a cafe serving breakfast in order to save a few euro's, I'm sure I don't! Try booking direct with the hotel, you get a good deal and a free breakfast. The hotel was clean, modern and quiet, what's not to like? Was able to use a short cut to get Las Ramblas which was not not scary at all, the city is founded on Roman and Medieval architecture, not every street is going to be a wide tree lined avenue. I would (and will) recommend this hotel to friends and family.

Room Tip: Book direct with the hotel for special deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, Director General at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
We use our best efforts so that our guests are satisfied during their stay. Thank you for taking the time to share your opinion with other people; this is the best gift we can ask for. Best regards and thank you from the entire staff of our Hotel. (Thank you.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#36 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#42 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#88 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona Universal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.