We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We highly recommend” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelona Universal Hotel to your Saves list
Barcelona Universal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We highly recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in October 2012. The staff was extremely nice and helpfull. All our wishes regarding the hotel room were fullfilled. We enjoyed some morning swimms at the nice
pool on the rooftop of the hotel. The location was excellent. We would definitely choose this hotel again, if we would be travelling to Barcelona in the future.

Room Tip: The highest floor was quiet to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, General Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
For us it is a challenge trying to improve every day. I would like to thank you personally for the time spent writing to us, as well as for choosing our hotel for your stay in the city. Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    908
    168
    47
    15
See reviews for
313
1,115
47
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Our stay at the hotel was great, the room was very large with a balcony overlooking the city. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. The location is not in the central tourist area but is an easy walk to the Ramblas and all other major tourist areas plus the subway stop is directly out the front door. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We were on the 9th floor which is the business floor and the room was very large
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

Fantastic hotel and fantastic location. Had 3 rooms booked 2 months in advanced i sent email to ask for the rooms to be on a hight floor and at the back. We got the 5th floor facing the back, fab, very quiet no noise.
Breakfast was included in the price, what a great breakfast it was, loads of choice.
Metro station was right outside. 10 minutes walk you were on las ramblas.
All staff were friendly. Would go again.

Room Tip: Choose rooms at the back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, General Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Continuous improvements in the quality of our facilities and the service provided are our top priorities. Your feedback helps us continue maintaining the facilities in line with the service. Thank you. We are very pleased by you choosing us for your stay and the fact that you enjoyed your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

My fourth trip to Barcelona and the second with young children. This hotel is in an excellent location right next to Parallel metro station and the funicular railway station. It is also walking distance to Las Ramblas, but it is in a quieter location. There is a large supermarket a few blocks away and also a number of cafes for breakfast and lunch.

The hotel is very good and worthy of its 4 stars. Because of the kids, we were given an extra large corner room. It accommodated us well and there was still room for the girls to run around. Everything was clean and the air conditioning was very powerful. The staff were friendly and helpful. The free wifi in the rooms was a bonus.

The only disappointment was the roof top swimming pool which was more like an extra large bath. It could barely accommodate all the people who wanted to use it!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, General Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
First of all let me thank you for the confidence you placed in our hotel. Thank you very much for your comments which will help us improve our work performance. With your permission I will pass them on to the staff to share them in the most appropriate way. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

When we arrived the staff were excellent they checked us in and told up about the city details. The staff on reception were very helpful indeed. The rooms are very nice well appointed with mini bar tv air con and good beds and clean bathroom. Also hotel's location was very close to subway and a couple of blocks away from La Rambla.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslemere, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived the staff were excellent they checked us in and told up about the upcoming festival and other things to see which was great. Christian on reception was very helpful indeed.

The rooms are very nice well appointed with mini bar tv air con and good beds.

Breakfast is very nice its fresh with a good range of fruit, meat, cheese and some hot including various local egg dishes and bacon. Good pastries as well.

There is some road noise if at the front of the hotel so if your a light sleeper you won't be happy. The tv in our room also had varying reception with different channels on different days. The BBC channel didn't work and when asked the staff did not fix this and didn't seem that concerned.

That said overall the hotel is great and the roof has a nice view and seating area. In terms of location its perfect 2 stops to rambla or a slow 10 minute stroll similar distance to the port. The tube and buses from here are good and easy.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Barcelona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

A nice hotel a couple of blocks away from La Rambla. A very friendly staff, clean and spacious room. Metro stop right in front of the entrance. Definitely worth a stay and would go again.
Minuses: Our room only had the tiniest of windows facing a back alley. No day light coming in whatsoever.
As we left, we were ushered into a taxi that conned us. The old "your credit card didn't go through" - trick. Not the hotel's fault, I guess.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertoCifuentes, General Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you very much for spending time and writing your opinion. On behalf of our staff we appreciate your words; to us they are helpful and allow us to assess both: quality of our facilities and the service we want to offer to our customers. Thanks again and we hope to see you soon among us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#41 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#61 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona Universal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.