We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelona Trip Sept. 2011” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barcelona Universal Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Barcelona Universal Hotel to your Saves list
Barcelona Universal Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Barcelona Trip Sept. 2011”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The hotel was in a good location, rooms were small, if on the front of the hotel difficult to sleep from the noice on the street below. I will same the rooms were clean, comfortable beds, friendly staff, however for the price you pay, I would have expected a more luxurious place. Rates were weeknights about $298.00 and on Sat. nights $400.00. I thought it was very overpriced. Bathrooms small as well.

Room Tip: Ask for room off the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageruniversal, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thanks for your review!!! Your review is bittersweet for us. I mean that I thank you very much for your honesty because you are recognizing that our hotel is very clean and our staff did a good job (this makes us very happy). However I can understand that you could be disappointed for not finding a luxurious hotel after paying 400 USD/ a night. I want to be as honest as you have been. Our hotel is not a luxurious one. Our hotel is a business & tourism hotel, well located and clean (and apart of it we try to give the best service possible acording to the kind of hotel we are). However, I am going to explain one thing: the price you paid cannot be justified only for the hotel itself, it can be justified because of the dates you stayed here with us. You stayed in September 2011 when a big congress was taking place in Barcelona (ITMA 2011) and there were no rooms available in the whole city for that week (it was a week considered "peak season", what is more than "high season"). Probably you decided to book our hotel at that price because there weren't alternatives available for those days in Barcelona center. Thanks again for your honesty, it is deeply appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,026
    909
    168
    47
    15
See reviews for
314
1,117
47
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (446)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

This hotel is very near Las Ramblas. You can walk the entire length of the Ramblas in about 1 hour (back and forth). I think the best thing about this hotel is it's proximity to the metro (literally outside it's doors). There is also a supermarket half a block away where we bought our snacks for the day at decent prices. Parking is tricky. If you plan to rent a car, park outside the hotel and the doorman will guide you to the parking garage. The staff were friendly and the hotel is very clean. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the main avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageruniversal, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you for your review!!! Thanks for your comments about the cleanliness of our facilities, the friendliness of our staff and our good location. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel, Connecticut
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This hotel was well located! Right on venue Paral.lel....very clean, good breakfast, very helpful staff, and the metro right in front of the hotel! For the money~ this was a great find...
I would tell a Barcelona bound traveler, to tour with the touristica buses, they visit all the sites, and you can get on and off at leisure... side trip to Girona and a visit to the Dali museum is a must... the same company (Julia tours) provides a good tour...our trip to Monsterrat was less than hoped for....the line to approach the icon was endless, but the geological sight was very interesting... again on the hotel~ a staff person on the desk got me a ticket to the FC Barcelona vs. AC MIlan soccer game .... great hotel!

Room Tip: Stay above the first floor ! We experienced the subway going through regularly! We did get used to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageruniversal, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Thank you for your review!! Thanks for your comment about the cleanliness of our facilities and our good location. Regarding our front desk/concierge staff I can say that if what you ask for is possible, they will do it! They are happy to help with Bus Turistic discounts, soccer reservations, restaurants, touristic information...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Barcelona universal is quite new decorated rooms..very near to most attractions La Rambla ,port and also subway station is just in front of the hotel .It is only few stops to reach Gran via Fira Barcelona ..Old exhbition center is only walking distance.
But be careful to thieves dont talk anybody even good looking.Somebody stole my credit card during buying metro ticket.The guy waas good looking and pretending like just helping a foreigner.In few seconds he had taken the card.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

Reception staff were serious and not very helpful on arrival. Had to find my own way with luggage to lift. No information about the restaurant or facilities of hotel was given. Room was clean but very limited free bathroom selection available. The breakfast was ok, something for all tastes. Restaurant staff were under staffed and had to wait for hot drinks. I ordered eggs and boiled eggs arrived (unsure how they would be cooked!!). A small but adequare gym, very average sunroof swimming pool (depth waist height!) but sunroof was o for a city hotel with clean towels provided. Bedroom did not have slippers or dressing gown. No instructions for the TV, or room service provided.. Adequate safe. Mini bar very limited, bring your own! Outside traffic evident which kept me awake.

Room Tip: Get a high floor room as metro train noise evident on lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manageruniversal, Manager at Barcelona Universal Hotel, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Thank you for your review.
I am sorry you felt that way with our Front Desk Staff. The Reception Staff is working 24 hours a day and they are always in a good willing to help anybody who ask for help or indications. The behaviour described by you does not match with the behaviour described about the reception staff by most of the reviews. It is strange but we take note of it and we will consider your comments and of course I will comment this with them.
About the rest of the hotel I see that you are a bit negative because you are unsure even about things like if our cook is able to boil eggs. I am sorry I cannot agree that in our rooms there are no instructions for the TV or room service menu. These instructions are provided in all rooms, I do not find any explanation to understand why you did not find them in your room. Regarding the minibar that you say it is very limited, I have now re-checked the list of items we put in the minibars and there are 27 items (including alcoholic drinks, soft drinks, water, snacks, chocolates…). If it is limited or not I think it is a subjective opinion, but you have to think it is a mini-bar, not a bar. Around the hotel there are a lot of bars and also there are supermarkets (most of them open until 9 PM and at least one of them near the hotel open until 2 AM).
Anyway I thank you very much you at least are very honest by recognizing we are “fairly” located in the city, so I want to understand you liked it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Barcelona Universal on the night before our cruise. We had a room with a large terrace that we really enjoyed even though the view was of the back of several residential buildings. Some on TripAdvisor have complained about the hotel being noisy but we did not notice that at all - possibly because our rooms were not fronting the street. The rooms were clean and very nice. The location is excellent as it is within easy walking distance of La Rambla. An excellent breakfast was included in our rate. The front desk also gave us a recommendation for an excellent restaurant for dinner that was only a couple of blocks from the hotel. All in all, I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: If you want quiet, ask for one of the rooms with a large terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We had 4 nights at the Universal after reading good reviews on Tripadvisor and were not dissappointed. We got a large corner room that had a great view down onto the street. The room was excellent after staying in small rooms in Paris. The hotel is right next to La Rambla and an easy stroll from the marina and beaches etc. Breakfast was good and although the hotel was full it did not seem at all crowded. The rooftop pool was a little small but ample for getting wet. I would stay here again without any hesitation. Make sure you hire a bike to get around Barcelona, definately the best way to see the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barcelona Universal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barcelona Universal Hotel

Address: Avda Paral.lel 76-80, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#41 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#44 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#62 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Barcelona Universal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located just a five-minute walk from Las Ramblas, Hotel Barcelona Universal grants its guests easy access to all parts of the city. Metro lines 2 and 3 stop just outside the main entrance, at “Paral·lel,” and nearby buses can take you to the beaches of Barcelona, Park Güell, and anywhere in between. A stroll from our hotel near Las Ramblas will take you to some of Barcelona’s favorite tourist attractions.Hotel opened in 2001 and renewed in 2011.Hotel Barcelona Universal has 167 rooms, each equipped with free Wi-Fi Internet. Three “Barcelona Skyline Suites” feature a Jacuzzi and private terrace. Families and larger groups may be accommodated in triple or superior rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Barcelona Universal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Universal Barcelona
Hotel Barcelona Universal
Barcelona Universal Hotel Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barcelona Universal Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.