We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned but decent value, good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Dante

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Dante to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Dante
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Mallorca 181, 08036 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #81 of 517 Hotels in Barcelona
Paris
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Old fashioned but decent value, good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Hotel Dante is a good value proposition in the Eixample neighborhood, being close to the city center and the shopping area around Passeig de Gracia. There is a good offer of restaurants out there, even though you will not be close to a metro station (Provenca is the closest). Bathroom was clean but refills for shampoo/bath were limited (1 of each per day, while we were 2). Room was ok, but the real downside is bedding quality which is really poor (noisy and harsh spring mattress). Without that, I could have given the full stars as the price is decent and service very attentive.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    263
    48
    9
    6
See reviews for
127
220
43
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel is a great value for an expensive city. The breakfast was very good, and the room was spacious enough for two. It is roughly a 10 minute walk to the nearest metro, but the hotel is located centrally enough to see all the major sites with ease. The walk to las ramblas was roughly 20 min. or so, depending on walking speed.The room is a little dated, but was very clean nonetheless. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Dante, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Best Western Premier Hotel Dante staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed one night and then two nights at the beginning and end of a cruise. First night was a basic room, with a higher quality room for the two nights. The basic room was more than adequate and the latter room was excellent - very well appointed and comfortable.
Staff were very friendly, informative and helpful when arranging taxi transfers, etc. Rooms were spotless and the breakfast was more than enough to set you up for the day.
Plenty of shops and eateries surround this hotel and you are only a short walk (ten minutes or so) from one of the major thoroughfares and a very comfortable thirty minutes from the start of La Ramblas.
As far as we are concerned, no other place to stay on a return visit to Barcelona.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Dante, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Best Western Premier Hotel Dante staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

I was at the hotel for 3 nights in November. The service was excellent. We had reservations for 2 rooms but we arrived there about 4 hours before the check-in starts. The staff make sure we got at least one room so we're able relaxa little. They also give us recommendations about tours and care to take when walking at Las Ramblas (in my opinion there's not much to worry...).
The rooms are exactly what you see in the pics. Not very big but, at least for us, it was good. My only complain was about the locker, which is really very small. But we didn't have any problems with the things we left outside the locker. The bed is very comfortable and the shower is great with a good pressure. I'm fat I can was able to take my shower without problems. But, is you're very tall maybe you can have some. Height is adjustable, but even so, it is not very high. Not many channels at the TV, but it was not a problem for us.
The breakfast was great and for me it worths the 13 euros, since I took a good breakfast and just have dinner after it.
Location is great. About 10 minutes walking from Passeig de Grácia and there's a supermarketalmost door to door.
Definetly I recommend this hotel and would return.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Dante, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Best Western Premier Hotel Dante staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niteroi, RJ
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Barcelona is not a cheap city and this hotel is a little bit expensive too. Despite this fact, we really enjoyed our time there because the staff was very friendly, the room was comfortable and the breakfast was amazing!
We totally recommend!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Dante, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Best Western Premier Hotel Dante staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

I frenquently travel all over Europe specially Spain. I just insist stay at this hotel when I come to Barcelona. You might not know but the hotel holds an agreement with one of the best gyms in the city.
Breakfast is far abundant and the staff very helpful.
I would recomend anyone who stays in the city to select this place with no doubt.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Dante, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Best Western Premier Hotel Dante staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We travelled here by taxi from the seaport and found the staff very welcoming and friendly. The rooms were spacious enough and very clean. The bathroom was well stocked and the facilities in excellent condition. An in-room safe was also provided, free of charge. The free breakfast buffet was plentiful, with an excellent selection of hot and cold foods and the service was wonderful. The bar/lounge was nice to have a drink and a snack in the evening but we were disappointed in having our dinner there on the Sunday night. It seems that pretty much all of the part of Barcelona that we were in is shut down on Sundays. The food was barely passble and one would be better off going to one of the small local restaurants nearby where the tapas menu is terrific. Overall, we found the Hotel Dante more than adequate and a great value for the price. My test of of a good hotel is to ask myself if I would return, and my answer here, is definitely yes.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the main road was still very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vilajoana, Director Comercial at BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Dante, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. And your review will help us improving our service in the future. We hope you come back soon.

Please, do not hesitate to contact any member of our staff for anything you might need.

On behalf of all the Best Western Premier Hotel Dante staff, thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Dante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Dante

Address: C/ Mallorca 181, 08036 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#56 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#59 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#64 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Dante 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Dante has a privileged location in the heart of the city only three blocks from the emblematic Paseo de Gracia, walking distance to the Gaudi architecture, the modernist area and 10 minute walk from Catalunya Square. Whether traveling on business or pleasure the BEST WESTERN PREMIER Hotel Dante is the best area to stay. For shopping, you are in the right place. You will find the most elegant and fashionable shops at the Paseo de Gracia and all kinds of restaurants within a radius of 100 meters. NOTE: Tourist TAX 1.21 EUR per person/night for stays between 1 and 7 nights. The additional tax is not included in the rate booked and must be paid at the property. All children under 16 years of age are not subject to payment of the tax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Dante reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Barcelona
Barcelona Best Western
BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Dante Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Premier Hotel Dante, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.