We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location if you want to be near a metro and the main train station, nice rooms and good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sercotel Abbot

Save Saved
You added Sercotel Abbot to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sercotel Abbot
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Roma 23, 08029 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #404 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good location if you want to be near a metro and the main train station, nice rooms and good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Staying in Barcelona is not cheap, but this place was great value for money. We had a room on the corner on the 4th floor and it was a large room with good aircon it was perfect for our needs. There was a supermarket accross the road which was handy! Breakfast was included in the price which was decent and filling. Stay here if u want a decent Sleep, good location and for sightseeing around town.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    60
    48
    26
    10
See reviews for
13
53
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

A great hotel if all you are wanting is a bed for the night whilst exploring barcelona. Rooms were small but clean, staff were friendly and helpful!

Greatly situated for the train and underground, as its not in central barcelona which we loved.

Supermarkets just outside along with cafes.

I'd re come d this hotel to weekend break travellers ant time.

Don't let the bad reviews put you off :))

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My family arranged an overnight stay in what we understood to be 4 start accommodation in Barcelona. The website gave the impression of comfort and cleanliness with a price deal that included breakfast and seemed unmatchable. The availability of a triple room for myself my wife and 12 year old son was a bonus or so we thought. The staff on arrival were courteous although the decor in reception was unimpressive. Keeping an open mind we made our way to our room ignoring the dents in the stainless steel at the lift entrance. Dismay awaited us as we entered the bedroom. There was no room to move and the room was shabby and reminiscent of hostel accommodation. Fittings were damaged and the walls and floor were in need of serious renovation. A camp bed was the only adaption to a small double room. What appeared o be a bargain turned out to be anything but! After making an immediate complaint to Hotel Click who sourced the deal I determined I would not subject my family to this experience for a moment longer so we left, We managed to agree a refund but what concerned me was the time wasting involved and the misleading impression of the hotel provided on the website.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuchars, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was good overall, friendly staffed and clean but basic rooms (good shower and free wifi). The location is great for this hotel only 5 minute walk from the train station and metro and 30 minute walk to camp nou, would defiantly consider staying again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Hotel was fine but easytobook told us the wrong check in time. Also told us the city tax was included in the price we paid and it wasn't. Staff were friendly and helpful and the room was very clean. Pleasant stay all round!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We were at the Sercotel Abbot in May 2013 after a cruise.

The hotel is conveniently located in the Sants district of Barcelona. Metro and train station are near. Sants Hosts the "AVE" high speed train. There are a couple of Metro stations near the hotel including Sants Estació and Entença.

The hotel itself is confortable and the rooms are rather spacious for Barcelona.
We had room 405 since we requested a room at the back of the hotel. Barcelona is a busy city and Avinguda de Roma is noisy. The only real drawback is that because every corridor is marble and the room-doors are not well insulated you can hear people in the corridors. So if someone comes in late it might disturb your sleep.

The beds are hard mattresses. The bathroom had a bath-shower combination, bidet, sink and toilet concentrated in a small space but very functional.

The hotel has a back terrace with tables that you can access from the 1st floor. Remember that in Spain the 1st floor is normally the 3rd level as the main floor is call Planta Baja, the 2nd floor in the case is Entresuelo and then comes the 1st floor.
There is also a solarium on the 7th floor.

Service and conviviality at the hotel is given by 4 attendants of which 2 are really efficient.
The 2 men, Sergio and Guillermo are really service oriented and well informed on the things to do in the city. They will go out of their ways to help.
Our room maid Encarna was excellent. The room was kept extremely clean for the 5 nights we spent there. See pictures of the room.

We have seen the lady who is the director of the hotel and she seems to strive for the best service.
The hotel offers a buffet breakfast which costed 8euros90 at the time. We found it a bit expensive so we found a litlle café place (called "bar" in Spain) which serves good continental breakfast for 2 euros on the same sidewalk across the first corner toward Sants Estacio called Bar Paris 1.

Walking distance from the hotel is Plaza d'Espanya at about 10-15 minutes where there is a large shopping center called "Arenas" located in the old Plaza de Toros of Barcelona.

The hotel offers the reservation of the Hop-on Hop off bus and of many others transports and attractions.

All in all it respect its 4 stars rating with excellent service and I will not hesitate to go back there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

The hotel is in at an excellent location about 200m away from Sans Station underground station which actually connects most of Barcelona sighseeings. And that;s all about it. However the hotel is too much for its money taking into consideration the fact that the rooms are seperated each other with minor wooden walls and you can actually hear everything during the night from one room to the next. The internet although free is poor since the signal is weak and you need to move to different places in order to get connected.
Reception was not friendly at all no smilling or anything like it, (not as Spanish hospitallity is supposed to be) and considerably irrelevant in giving valuable information regarding sightseeing or travel information. For example they did not even know that there is a nightbus every 20 min serving the airport. Perhaps because they get a tip from the taxi drivers at night. At the end of my staying they informed me that the room was charged to my credit card through the agency (pamediakopes.gr) and I had to pay an extra tax for Catalonia (???). Why did not tell me in the beginning about it? Anyway, considering the fact that most of people stay at Barcelona for 4-5 days, if you location is the most important thing on your accomodation you should consider it to be a wise choice.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with trip.ru

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sercotel Abbot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sercotel Abbot

Address: Avenida de Roma 23, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#188 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sercotel Abbot 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Sercotel Abbot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sercotel Abbot Hotel Barcelona
Comfort Hotel Barcelona
Sercotel Abbot Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sercotel Abbot, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.