We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel, staff fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Melia Barcelona Sarria

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Melia Barcelona Sarria to your Saves list
Melia Barcelona Sarria
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida de Sarria 50, 08029 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
up to -15% MeliáRewards
Ranked #102 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Surrey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel, staff fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Went for only 1 night for a girls weekend away. We had a great stay at this hotel. Can not comment on the gym or spa as we didn't have time to use these facilities.

Check in was quick and efficient. We had pre booked 'The Level' which I can highly recommend. It was nice to have a few hours relaxing on the comfortable sofa's, having a drink (or two!) and bite to eat in nice calm, quiet surroundings.

Very modern looking hotel, everything was spotless. Our room was lovely and as others have mentioned, had a great shower, jacuzzi bath, comfy bed, TV, great air con', kettle (although no milk or creamer in the room). We did call down to the front desk and they had creamer sent to our room within a couple of minutes and even rang us back to ensure we had it.

Front desk and the concierge at The Level couldn't have been more helpful and pleasant, booking our evening meal etc. All staff were a complete joy, hotel porter was lovely.

Breakfast was great too and had a nice choice.

Can highly recommend the open top bus tour for an opportunity to see this great city.

A very nice hotel, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We really made good use of The Level. It cost around 20EUR per person but we felt we made good use...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest EXperience Assistant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We really appreciate so much your positive comment about your experience in our Hotel Melià Barcelona Sarrià.
It is a pleasure for us receives this kind of comment from our customers, your opinion is very important for keeping working to obtain all our customer experiences as yours.

We are looking forward to see you soon, in your next visit to Barcelona and do not hesitate to contact us for any doubt you could have.

Kind regards

Jorge Robles
Guest Experience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    440
    131
    53
    26
See reviews for
166
505
48
253
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

When I arrived, the porter looked through the window how I was taking the luggage out of the taxi and into the hotel, without moving an eyebrow (of course no attempt to help).
I requested an early check in through the reservation web of the hotel... And they didn't even notice it (exactly what the man at the reception told me). Though, all must be said... After 1hour and 30 mins... I apparently got an upgrade and checked in the 19th floor.
The room was correct but the aircon was not working when I arrived. They sent a technician and solved the problem.
The pressure in the shower is very very low... Not up to the standard of a 5 star hotel.
And the "gym"... Is the typical tiny hotel room with 2 machines... Definitely not for active guests.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We appreciate and respect your opinion and we also thank you for having taken your time to send them to us. We are sorry you did not feel during your stay that our establishment is a five star hotel.
We would like you would visit us again and give us the opportunity to offer you The Excellence of our service and make you fell like at home, please do not hesitate to contact us , we will take care of all necessary arrangements.

Kind regards and we keep at your entire service,

Alexis Mazorra Sánchez

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This hotel has a number of things going for it. The hotel staff is friendly and hospitable and responsive. Within the rooms, the air conditioning is very effective and easy to adjust to the most comfortable temperature. It is within good walking distance to a metro stop and other public transportation.
The hotel is in need of some refurbishment and small repairs. My colleague had a leak in her sink, I had lights out in the room, and the handle on the sink simply fell off. The carpets in the guest rooms are in need of cleaning. Our rooms had a strange bed configuration of two twin beds pushed together. There was no iron and ironing board in the room. However, the rooms were good sized rooms, especially for a European hotel. The food is average at the hotel. I was here for a conference and the buffets were pretty much the same every day. Not much variation. The conference rooms had the typical issues of difficult temperature control and you cannot control it in the room. It was either freezing cold or it was off. The conference rooms did have good acoustics.

Room Tip: I did have a beautiful view of Barcelona from my room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moira, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

The Melia is rated as 5 star however I would say quality 4 star would be a better rating compared to other much superior hotels I have stayed in. The location is a little bit out of the city centre. 40 minute walk or 15 minute walk to the nearest metro. The room was very nice with a particularly fancy ensuite with multijet power shower. Bed large but very firm. Some may prefer this. Hotel was clean and staff friendly enough. There is a small inside pool and relaxation area which is a little haven after a busy day in town. Breakfast buffet is standard fare in spanish hotels not poor but nothing to rave about either. We got the hotel for a good Internet deal and if you can get a deal it is quality compared to some other Barcelona hotels.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
We appreciate and respect your opinion and we also thank you for having taken your time to send them to us. We are sorry you did not feel during your stay that our establishment is a five star hotel.

We would like you would visit us again and give us the opportunity to offer you The Excellence of our service and make you fell like at home, please do not hesitate to contact us , we will take care of all necessary arrangements

Kind regards and we keep at your entire service,

Alexis Mazorra Sánchez

Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Reallly enjoyed our stay at the Melia. We had a junior suite at the Melia Sarria which was excellent. Clean, quiet and extremely comfortable bed.

We stayed at the Level, and was worth the extra costs, as the lounge was a great place to stop after a busy day before going back to our room.

The service at the level lounge was exceptional, and a particular mention to Milo's, who provided the best imaginable service and Sandra who provided great assistance in planning day trips, etc.

The hotel is a little out of the downtown core (an 8 euro cab ride) as the metro line was not easy to maneuver.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Assitant at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
we really appreciate your positive comments. It is the best reward that we can obtain from our guests.

We will inform our staff of your Good experience in our hotel, specially Sandra and Milos.

We would be glad to welcome you in your next visit to barcelona.

Thank you very much


Jorge Robles

Guest EXperience Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Location of this place is really good! Easy walking distance to the metro....
The service was excellent too! The staff were so helpful.

The rooms aren't in great condition - the wood on the bed and windowsill was wearing away and the amenities in the room were a bit unexpected. In a 3*+ you'd expect an iron but they were happy to come up to give us one. There was NO tea and coffee making facilities which wasn't a very welcome difference we arent used to. The size of the room was huge and the bed... super comfi and large!!

I dont know whether its usal for Barcelona but we had to pay if we wanted to use the swimming pool which wasn't specified when booking our trip

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South River, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed at Melia Sarria 2 days before the cruise and 1 day post cruise. We were so happy with our stay! Daniel (I forgot his last name as there were 3 Daniels at the front desk but he is the shorter one with glasses and a bit of gray hair) was so nice and very accommodating when we checked in. He explained about The Level which costs about €50 to upgrade and it includes breakfast buffet for everyone in the room, access to the pool, gym, spa and tapas bar with unlimited alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages from 8am to 11pm. He even showed us The Level room to help us with our decision. Since we are Mas Rewards members, the upgrade was only €25 per day. It is soooo worth it! We checked in at 10:30am and we were surprised that 1 of 2 rooms we booked is already available! Best of all, they let us access the level dining room for lunch! Hugo, Carlos and Telmo at The Level concierge were all so helpful too! They recommended good restaurants and assisted us all the time!

The room we stayed in was huge! I love the toiletries (Tous) at the level room as they smell reallygood. The bathroom is big too! The only comment I have is that the water from the shower leaks from the door. But you can just put towel around it to prevent the water from spreading. The room has bathrobes and slippers too. I was so impressed that The Level rooms has Nespresso machines with complimentary coffee too! At night, on turn down service, they put chocolates and rose petals on the bed. And since we are club melia members, they put water, cookies, some sweets and chocolate milk on the table. What a nice surprise after a tiring day touring the city.

The buffet breakfast has a wide selection of international food. My favorite was the churros con chocolate and the Catalan corner as they showcase local food daily. I find it interesting to taste the local cheese and meats!

The location of the hotel is far from the metro. But is close to the hop-on-hop-off bus stop which we used in our 2 days there. Taxi is the most convenient for the location.

My daughter just wants to stay at the hotel and don't want to go out anymore. They have free wifi too which made my daughter really happy. :) All in all, we had a great time in Barcelona because of Melia and we will definitely stay here again! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the level room, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HOTEL_MELIABARCELONA, Guest Experience Manager at Melia Barcelona Sarria, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Firstly, we would like to thank you for taking your valuable time in order to share your positive comments.

These kind of comments help us to motivate to all our staff to keep working hard in order to give to all our guest the same experience.

We will inform all our staff of your comments and specially front desk and the level department.

Thank you very much again

We would be glad to welcome you in your next visit to Barcelona



Alexis Mazorra

Guest EXperience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Melia Barcelona Sarria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melia Barcelona Sarria

Address: Avenida de Sarria 50, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Barcelona
#10 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#46 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#52 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#71 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#79 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Melia Barcelona Sarria 5*
Number of rooms: 314
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Agoda, Melia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Melia Barcelona Sarria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melia Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Sol Melia Barcelona
Barcelona Sol Melia
Melia Barcelona Sarria Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Melia Barcelona Sarria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.