We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in a Great Position” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Barcelona to your Saves list
Le Meridien Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramblas 111, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #73 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Faux, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in a Great Position”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We have stayed in this hotel on a number of occassions and are never disappointed, the welcome is always warm, and the staff are helful and friendly. The rooms are a good size, modern with great bathrooms. The breakfasts are varied and of good quality.

The bar area is a little impersonal and not a place that invites you to spend the night, but hey, you're on Las Ramblas with a wealth of night life on your door step.

We use the hotel as a before and after stop over for cruises from Barcelona and is a lovely way to start and round off a holiday.

Room Tip: If you get the offer to upgrade your room to a Ramblas room take it, it's well worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa B, Director General at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear LesAnglais24,

Thank you very much for keep coming back to your home in Barcelona and for sharing your moments with us!

It is good that you addressed a negative point, as this helps us in order to understand the needs of our guests and helps us to deliver unique moments! Our Le Pop bar has a rich and flexible cocktails offer, not only cocktails but also snacks + the sports menus to enjoy all sports events in our big screen! I hope you take a moment to discover it next time!

We will always be very proud to be your home in Barcelona, I hope to welcome you back very soon!

Kindest regards from Barcelona,

Elisa Barral
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    757
    578
    164
    70
    35
See reviews for
294
729
80
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed 5 nights at the Meridien Barcelona in mid-March and had a great experience. The location can't be beat as it is right in the heart of La Rambla: a 10 minute walk down to the coast, 25 over to the National Art Gallery, or 5 up to the Plaza Catalunya. The staff was quite attentive and my room had a nice view of the open square out front. The evening drinks in the lobby were a nice touch and decor was stylish. Overall, an excellent hotel that I highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa B, Director General at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Jason_878787,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us! Our ritual celebrating the transition from day to night with the glass of cava to toast is quite a moment, I am very happy you enjoyed it!

Thank you very much again and if you ever feel like coming back to Barcelona, we would be honoured to welcome you once again in the heart of the city!

Kindest regards from Barcelona,

Elisa Barral
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

No hotel could be better located. A short walk from the old town, food market, supermarket/pharmacy, many restaurants, shops, galleries and department stores. Of course this doesn't come cheaply. We used points as SPG members, but in cold cash this hotel would have been nearing $500 for a rather small room. Although the building is over 100 years old, the interior is totally modern. Our room was on the 5th floor overlooking the side street, therefore quiet. Air conditioner vents were well placed so they don't blow directly on you while you sleep. Bed was very comfortable after two weeks of sleeping on a cruise ship. A small table and easy chair were good for comfortable seating for a snack. The bottles of water were a nice touch. The fridge has half a shelf which is usable without disturbing the automatic charging system if you don't want to use some of their overpriced snacks and provide your own.
The modern bathroom has robes available for use and a scale if you dare weigh yourself after a cruise. A thoughtful touch was the blue nightlight. My only problem with an otherwise great bathroom was the very deep tub which could prove a problem for less agile people.
We had requested a very early check which they had ready for us at 10 am . The check-in was efficient and they had copies of English language newspapers at the desk for taking. Also on the 5th floor a table held apples, which from the way they were disappearing were popular with guests.
All in all, a very classy convenient hotel in a fascinating city.

Room Tip: Buy a fresh lunch at the food market, a two minute walk from the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa B, Director General at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear turtle1818,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for sharing your experience with us! Your point of view as an SPG is very valuable for us!

I am glad you enjoyed the new perspective from the heart of Barcelona! Our Deluxe rooms rates go from 199€, and of course, using your SPG points is always a great choice!
I am very happy that you could rest in our beds (made for Le Méridien only!) after what I am sure was a great cruise. Thank you for pointing your problem with the tub, as this help us understand our guest needs! We also have available rooms with no tub but with the relaxing rain shower!

It was a pleasure to have you at our hotel and if you ever feel like coming back to Barcelona, we would be honoured to welcome you once again.

Kindest regards from Barcelona,

Elisa Barral
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We spent three nights at the hotel post cruise. Our room was not ready and the complimentary coffee/biscotti was appreciated. The shower in our room had multiple leaks which spread water
all over the tub area. We reported it to the reception but nothing was done. There is no evening turn down service. For the price we paid ($520 per night) we would have expected much better service.
On the positive side the location is the best for visiting the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa B, Director General at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear mflyon,

First of all I would like to thank you for sharing your experience with us, Your feedback helps us to improve the service we deliver and therefore every single comment is worth a lot!

I want to assure you that this is very unusual, our associates put a lot of effort taking care of every guest and make their experience unique. It is sad to hear that this could not be delivered.
If you were in the room at the time or had a “do not disturb sign” on the door, the turn down service wouldn’t be done so we do not disturb you.

As for the shower, we keep a log of every guest request, and follow up accordingly. I will personally check what happened with your shower, and why nothing was done.

Even if this time, we could not meet all your expectations and you experienced unusual service, we hope you give us another chance to show you that we normally serve a higher level of service!

I honestly apologize for any inconveniences that occurred and hope to get the opportunity to welcome you again here in the heart of Barcelona some other time in the future!

Kindest regards from Barcelona,

Elisa Barral
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely rooms and wow...the bed is amazing! Better than my bed at home and the linens are devine. Nice staff. Check in desk area is very small but very efficient. After 17 hours of travel, arrived on a rainy, cold and gray day so it was nice to find the desk staff accommodating in getting us into our room quickly We had a 8:00 AM arrival after all night travel. Note: Rooms are not normally ready until after 12:00 PM (noon). Room service (lunch) was quick and tasty but it has taken us a bit of time to figure out the phone's for room service. I know...it sounds silly but the phones are not clearly marked as in other hotels with international "pictures" for the different services with in the hotel. Finally found the little black "service" button. We are here for two nights and will move on to our next destination is Spain. More to come...

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa B, Director General at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Cynthia B,

First of all I would like to thank you very much for sharing your experience with us!

Due to our location check out time is at 12 am, for this we guarantee check in time at 03 pm. With this in mind, and as you experienced very well, our associates at front desk do their best to accommodate all our guest as soon as possible!

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed our room service gastronomic offer! And thank you for mentioning your difficulties. Your comments help us understand better our guest needs, so it is not silly!

I hope you had a great time in Spain, and if you ever feel like coming back to Barcelona, we would be honoured to welcome you and your family once again!

Kindest regards from Barcelona,

Elisa Barral
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We travelled here pre-cruise for 4 nights, and had a great stay. Although we were nervous about staying in such a heavily congested, touristy area, we had a relaxing, great time, and benefitted from the centrality of the location (very close to placa catalunya), many shops, restaurants, and the Carrefour grocery store steps away.

We had a room that faced a side street on the SPG floor, so we got internet included, but it is free in the lobby I believe for other users. Water was complimentary, and the room was very modern an adequate for our stay. We enjoyed the service, proximity, and the consistency we get with SPG hotels (we also stayed at the W post-cruise).

We chose the "green" option you get when you stay past 2 nights and in lieu of housekeeping you get $5 euros to spend in the hotel bar for lattes. We also got 2 free lattes and free admission to the museum (we didn't use). There is a starbucks next door, but the hotel serves fantastic Illy coffee. For food I recommend you check out the grocery store next door Carrefour (also has a pharmacy--it is HUGE). You area steps away from everything. For dining check out Teresa Carles 5 min away on a side street!!!! We avoided the shops/restaurants on Las Ramblas.

TIP: download google maps to your iPhone (uses your GPS so it's free). Plot your must-sees and you are set!!! =) Barcelona is a walkable city and the only time we too transportation is to Parc Guell (another must see). You can buy a 10 trip card, which is sharable amongst two people (we just paid the $2 individual fare as we love walking). Walked all the way to the harbour and back, which is beautiful.

Let me know if you found this review useful, and I am glad to answer any questions!

Room Tip: SPG floor is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Third stay here in 5 years. Hotel remodelled since. Excellent service throughout, very accommodating in allocating room and facilities for toddler. Best location in town. Room was of adequate size and the bed is just awesome, very good sleep quality! Had room service twice and both times got the order wrong however was rectified straight away and the food was very well made and tasty, unlike other hotels room service fare. Yes, hotel is pricey but worth the money due to excellent service and the great location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa B, Director General at Le Meridien Barcelona, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear globetrotterboy,

Thank you very much for coming back to your home in Barcelona!

Did you notice we have changed the music in public areas + elevator? I hope you found it as a more enjoyable experience this time! We have remodelled since your last visit indeed: rooms, Explore Spa Studio, Hub... we always try to renovate so we can offer you not only the best service, but also the best facilities!

It is good that you addressed a negative point, as this helps us in order to understand the needs of our guests. I apologize for the misunderstanding with the room service order, this is very unusual, and I am glad our associates rectified on time!

Our first priority is to make your experience unique + unforgettable!

Looking forward to welcome you back!
Kindest regards from Barcelona,

Elisa Barral
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Barcelona

Address: Ramblas 111, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#62 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned for discovering the rich artistic heritage represented by Barcelona's museums, music and architecture, Le Meridien Barcelona is a five star hotel located on the city's most famous street, Las Ramblas. With examples of Gaudi's architecture, the Liceo opera house, MACBA and the Gothic Quarter, all main attractions within walking distance, guests can immerse themselves in local culture. Throughout the hotel art and architectural detailing catch the eye. In the central lobby is Le Meridien's HUB, a perfect place to rendezvous with friends and family. Furnished with contemporary designer pieces and decorated with specially curated art installations. The Hub is a great place to meet and offers a stimulating and fascinating environment. Each of the 231 rooms and suites combines comfortable living with art and design elements, including original works by contemporary local artists. Sublimely comfortable Le Meridien furnishings and multiple entertainment options ensure a relaxed stay. The Longitude 02º 10' Bar in the HUB is the place to enjoy a delicious Illy coffee, fresh cakes or a glass of wine or cava. Alternatively, CentOnze Restaurant offers great views of Las Ramblas along with the gastronomic creations of Chef Eugeni Cortes who reinterprets local cuisine using fresh ingredients sourced from the nearby Boqueria Market. Le Pop Cocktail Bar stimulates your senses with an exciting blend of cocktails, music and vintage savoir vivre with a modern twist. Located on the sixth floor of the hotel, the Explore Spa Studio is a blissful oasis of relaxation offering treatments and therapies based on renowned French Cinq Mondes beauty products. Open to both guests and members of the public who, in consultation with a beauty therapist, can choose from a range of offerings designed to aid skin rejuvenation and promote personal wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Le Meridien
Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.