We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There is better in Barcelona” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Meridien Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Le Meridien Barcelona to your Saves list
Le Meridien Barcelona
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ramblas 111, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #72 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“There is better in Barcelona”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I've stayed in many of the 5 star hotels that Barcelona has to offer. There are two disappointments so far. Le Meridien is one of them.

The service was spotty at best. I was staying with 2 other colleagues and we all experienced the same problem : the climatisation of our rooms was actually simply heating. So the dial that said -5 actually did nothing... This meant that the option that was given to us by the hotel was to open the window (which was not really an option because La Ramblas is a very noisy street) or have a fan brought up which doesnt really solve the problem. Overall unsatisfied with this whole situation... specially considering that Barcelona doesnt really have a need for heating and both should be available in a 5* hotel.

The redeeming quality of this hotel is of course its location! amazing to get around.

Room Tip: Don't turn the AC on in the winter season if you want to cool your room. Ask for a room not over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    575
    163
    70
    35
See reviews for
293
728
80
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamsterley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

A convenient location in the middle of Las Ramblas. Although not the easiest to notice as its right on a corner and the main entrance is up the side street. Reception were very efficient and friendly. Rooms modern, clean, good bathroom and complimentary slippers and bottled water. We were also given complimentary coffees in the bar which I thought was a nice touch. I can't comment on breakfast as we ate out. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

grate location! just in the middle of la ramblas! rooms are a bit small. grate shawer, no tubs. our dlx room on the 5th floor has a poor view out of the window. staff are nice and frindly. helps you in any why they can. spa is a bit small. when we wanted to order a massage for tow on the same time there was only one staff working so it was inposibale. one of us has to give up.

Room Tip: any room that front the street. not the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Stayed here at the end of a cruise and was not expecting anything special. Was I suprised by the location and service at the LeMeriden. I have stayed at 5 star hotels In many cities throught the world and the service here was right up there with the best. Thank you for the attention and comfort you provided.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marthalena
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

The hotel is walking distance to everything and the front desk and concierge are very helpful. The bathrooms are great and the showers are stellar. The beds were merely so-so and the linens weren't really five-star but we got a great deal, so that's a minor quibble. If you can score a good price here, you'll love it. If you're paying full price, it doesn't truly feel like a five-star property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

For me this is the only hotel to stay at in Barcelona. It has style, friendliness of staff and location.
The rooms are also spacious and well presented. Our room this time looked over the Ramblas and we didn't have our sleep disturbed by noise from that quarter. Mind you we walked so many miles everyday nothing could have woken me! I cant wait to visit here again. It is superb.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel during the New Year holiday. The front desk and the concierge were super friendly and helpful. You get questions? They get you covered. Also, it is just a short walk from Metro.

The location is right at the heart of the Rambla, it was a little noisy during the night but we had no trouble to get to sleep even though our room was right on top of the busy boulevard. If you prefer quiet area but convenient location you might think about booking a hotel around Pg de Gracia.

If you do stay here, remember go check on the Mercat de la Boqueria which is just blocks away. When you just enter the market make a left turn to the far left edge of the market. You will see a seafood restaurant (or food stand) where we had one of those unforgettable meals there. The seafood was so fresh and delicious.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Meridien Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Barcelona

Address: Ramblas 111, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Barcelona
#21 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#54 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#62 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Barcelona 5*
Number of rooms: 231
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned for discovering the rich artistic heritage represented by Barcelona's museums, music and architecture, Le Meridien Barcelona is a five star hotel located on the city's most famous street, Las Ramblas. With examples of Gaudi's architecture, the Liceo opera house, MACBA and the Gothic Quarter, all main attractions within walking distance, guests can immerse themselves in local culture. Throughout the hotel art and architectural detailing catch the eye. In the central lobby is Le Meridien's HUB, a perfect place to rendezvous with friends and family. Furnished with contemporary designer pieces and decorated with specially curated art installations. The Hub is a great place to meet and offers a stimulating and fascinating environment. Each of the 231 rooms and suites combines comfortable living with art and design elements, including original works by contemporary local artists. Sublimely comfortable Le Meridien furnishings and multiple entertainment options ensure a relaxed stay. The Longitude 02º 10' Bar in the HUB is the place to enjoy a delicious Illy coffee, fresh cakes or a glass of wine or cava. Alternatively, CentOnze Restaurant offers great views of Las Ramblas along with the gastronomic creations of Chef Eugeni Cortes who reinterprets local cuisine using fresh ingredients sourced from the nearby Boqueria Market. Le Pop Cocktail Bar stimulates your senses with an exciting blend of cocktails, music and vintage savoir vivre with a modern twist. Located on the sixth floor of the hotel, the Explore Spa Studio is a blissful oasis of relaxation offering treatments and therapies based on renowned French Cinq Mondes beauty products. Open to both guests and members of the public who, in consultation with a beauty therapist, can choose from a range of offerings designed to aid skin rejuvenation and promote personal wellbeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Starwood EMEA, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, Amex, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Meridien Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Le Meridien
Meridien Barcelona
Le Meridien Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Meridien Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.