We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No need to look further, stay here. . .” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Condes de Barcelona

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Condes de Barcelona to your Saves list
Condes de Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Gracia 73, 75, 08008 Barcelona, Spain (La Vila de Gràcia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Atlanta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“No need to look further, stay here. . .”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2009

This is a mid-size boutique hotel located in the Exemplar district. It's a 10 minute stroll down to the main Plaza outside of the old city and at the start of Las Ramblas, the pedestrian boulevard with its shops, street vendors and street acts.

The Exemplar itself is a wonderful area to explore and has some of the best examples of Gaudi architecture a block from the front door of the hotel.

We had rooms in the "original" building. (Apparently the hotel expanded at some time by purchasing a property across the street.) The hotel is clean, and quiet. The decor of the hotel in understated elegant. (If you prefer the decor of a Ritz Carlton, this hotel is not it.) The rooms we had were nice sized facing an interior couryard. What the room lacked in a view was more than made up for in a quiet stay--no exterior city noise to speak of. The rooms were nicely appointed--stone floors and counter-tops in the bathroom, wood floors in main area, heavy draiperies, high ceilings, comfortable linens and bedding, LCD TV. Great HAVC-quiet and efficient.

The service at the front desk was veyr helpful for dinner reservations and other recommendations and they are licensed to exchange currency as well.

The only negatives-- the two PCs used for web access are not free. The rooftop pool is small--but hey, we were not in Barcleona to sit around and swim laps. The mixed drinks at the rooftop bar are quite expensive at 12 EU. My recommendation is to enjoy the free salty snacks, order something soft and enjoy the view as the sun sets because it's absolutely spectacular.

For most of us this hotel would be considered a gem. For special room rates, try paying for your stay, in advance and in-full with no refund available. Kind of like Priceline. . .

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    462
    123
    43
    27
See reviews for
176
476
33
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2009

My husband treated me to a weekend in Barcelona for my birthday. I stayed for three nights at the Condes with my sister, and we booked through Easyjet. Wow, what a fantastic hotel! I have to agree with the five star comments contributed by other visitors. When we arrived at the hotel we didn't realise it was on two sites on opposite sides of the road. We went into the the buidling that has a very old and glamerous lobby, and were told we would be staying in the buidling opposite. The building across the road has a really modern lobby, but the receptionist told us the rooms were the same. The room we were allocated was beautiful; lovely wooden floors, a georgeous bathroom and comfy beds. My sister and I are both non-smokers so had to ask for a non-smoking room. There are floors of rooms for smokers and floors for non-smokers. We didn't eat at the hotel as it was very expensive, however we saved 20 Euro each and had breakfast on the last day...well worth it.

Getting to the hotel:
We didn't do our homework and got a cab from the airport which cost a whopping 40 Euro. We then found out about the bus; this cost just 4 euro 75 cents each, took 23 minutes and dropped us of off outside the departure doors of the airport.
Eating out:
We got ripped off in a restaurant on La Ramblas on our first night. Next evening we discoverd a restaurant called Qu Qu on the paseo de Gracia. The food was good, prices and staff great and it was totally non-smoking too.
Getting about:
The Bus Turistic was great value. 27 Euro each for two days hop on hop off...9am to 8pm

  • Stayed August 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croatia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2009

I really enjoyed my 5-day stay in this hotel. The hotel is actually composed of two buildings each at one side of the street. We booked the hotel over easytobook.com and were first given a room in the part of the hotel in which the rooms have not been renovated. The room was OK, but I really disliked the bathroom, as it was visibly old, especially the bath-tub and the shower was fixed high on the wall and could not be removed and that is something I really hate. Furthermore, this room was overlooking the street. It had a wonderfull view onto La Pedrera, but it was however too noisy, especially in early morning because of traffic. So we decided to change the room after the 1st night and we were given a room in another part of the hotel and that one was completely renovated, everything was brand new, bathroom was aslo brend new, there was a tub with a normal shower. The new room was overlooking the garden, which was also a very nice view and it was soooo quiet.
The hotel location is perfect - it is between two beatiful and famous Gauid's buidlings -La Pedrera and La Casa Batlo, both in the closest vicinity. The hotel is actually situated in a modern administration street, lined up with shops of famous brends. La Rambla and other sightseeings are at the walking distance. We used metro for some locations, there is a metro-station very close to the hotel and sometimes we used a taxi, which is not expensive. The lobby of the building with the renovated rooms has a charm of an antique building. You can see the stairs at my photos. There is a tiny swimming-pool at the roof, as well as a sun-bathing deck, which is also small and there are not to many chairs. But it is so convenient to refresh in the swimming-poll after sightseeing and then continue the tour of the city, as everything is so close. In the building with not-renovated rooms, there is a very nice roof bar.
The staff is helpful, but could use some more kindness and helpfullness, but it is a problem all over the city. At least, they speak English quite well.
There is wirelless and fixed Internet access, but nothing free of charge.
We didn't try the restaurants, only the roof bar.
I would recommend this hotel to my friends. It offers excellent value for the money.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster,UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

This hotel is perfectly located in the city and is in walking distance from may of the main attractions of Barcelona city centre.
We made our own way to the hotel using the train from the airport, this service is fast , cheap, clean & efficient and the station Passing de Gracia is within 3 minutes walk of the hotel just further along the Passing de Gracia road.
The hotel staff were very friendly and were happy to recommend a variety of restaurants and bars to us as well as offer good advice on ways to reach the main attractions.
The open top tourist buses stops about 100m from this hotel so it is very handy for a great base for sightseeing.
The room was spotlessly clean and well presented although the mini bar fridge was warm ( seriously, that's the only complaint we could find for the room!)
We visited in August and the temperatures in the afternoon reached mid-30's so the rooftop sun terrace and pools were a welcome relief from the heat - you get a fantastic view of the city from here.
The road this hotel is on is known as one of the best shopping streets in Barcelona and directly opposite the hotel is Gucci, LV, Chanel and next to D&G shops. It is also very close to the Gaudi buildings so very handy for sightseeing.
We used the rooftop bar in the hotel a couple of times and did find its prices to be quite expensive ( 20 euros for half a lager and a cosmopolitan) but the fantastic view of the basilica de familia was well worth the money; the bar had a relaxed and friendly atmosphere and is a must if you stay at this hotel.
This hotel is of a high standard and in an excellent location for a break in Barcelona, it has a 'boutique' feel to it. There are a number of good restaurants, cafes and bars in the area and breakfast can easily been bought in the these cafes. We found a supermarket in one of the side streets off the Passing do Gracia and were able to buy snacks and beers here for a fraction of the price in the main cafes.

Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, Surrey.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

Very pleasant hotel in the heart of the Gracia shopping area.
Despite being on a busy road junction, the triple glazing meant little noise was heard at night.
The rooftop bar was lovely at night with superb views over the city.
Breakfast did not have the variety of other similar 4 star hotels but was adequate.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2009

The hotel was very nice and the terrance rocks! The location was perfect..

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2009

This hotel is perfectly located for designer shopping and sight seeing (gaudi buildings within walking distance). There is a fantastic view of sagrada familia from the terrace bar. We stayed in the beautiful modern side of the hotel with a large bedroom with outside seating area. The bathroom had no bath (minor grumble) and bvulgari toiletries (lovely). The outside pool is quite small although I presume that this is just for dipping in to cool off from the soaring heat in Barcelona. We ate in both reataurants loidl and lasarte. Loidl was nice, I had the veal which was lovely. They do the same kind of main course of veal (more expensive though) in lasarte which my spouse enjoyed. I had the sea bass which was lovely. Avoid apple pie in lasarte, a major disappointment, soggy pastry and too much apple. Enjoy their bread though at the beginning of the meal. The staff in reception were lovely, however we felt the restaurants could do with a major personality injection especially when one is spending a considerable amount of cash to eat in them!
I must commend the housekeeping staff though, every day our room was immaculately cleaned.
We ate in many beautiful restaurants during our stay. The one that stood head and shoulders above the rest was 'hisop'. Its not michelin star but certainly should be. Staff and food were fantastic. The suckling pig and john dory were incredible and very well priced compared to the well known michelin starred restaurants we ate in.
Have the apple desert in ll'ucantes restaurant in barcelonetta area. It was divine, as were the sea bass and kobe beef .
Avoid taller de tapas absolute rip off for what you get as is 'brown' restaurant, 6 euros for a tiny glass of orange juice?? Also hotel Omm. Beware they charge 1.50 euro servicio omm (not massive I admit, but its the principle). I enquired as to what this was and was informed it was for the use of the cutlery?? even after spending the bones of 40 euros on 2 cocktails and a dodgee sandwich!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Condes de Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condes de Barcelona

Address: Paseo de Gracia 73, 75, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Vila de Gràcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#59 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#63 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#68 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#70 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Condes de Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Hotel Condes de Barcelona 4* esta inmejorablemente situado en pleno Paseo de Gracia, en el corazon de la Barcelona modernista, frente al famoso edificio "La Pedrera" de Gaudi, a escasos minutos de la Plaza Catalunya y el centro historico de la ciudad. El Hotel, que ocupa un antiguo palacetes del siglo XIX, presenta una oferta de alojamiento de 126 habitaciones y un servicio de restauracion a cargo del chef Martin Berasategui, poseedor de siete estrellas Michelin.El Hotel Condes de Barcelona es ademas una referencia gastronomica de prestigio pues cuenta con Martin Berasategui como director gastronomico. Berasategui asesora y supervisa toda la Restauracion del Hotel.Destaca su Restaurante Loidi y la espectacular Terraza Alaire con las mejores vistas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Condes de Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condes De Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Condes De Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Condes De Hotel
Hotel Condes De Barcelona
Condes De Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Condes de Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.