We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location, Unexpected Hostility at Check-in.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Condes de Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Condes de Barcelona to your Saves list
Condes de Barcelona
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Paseo de Gracia 73, 75, 08008 Barcelona, Spain (La Vila de Gràcia)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Location, Unexpected Hostility at Check-in.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

My wife and I stayed here with 2 other couples for only 1 night in May. Let me start by saying that I thoroughly researched Barcelona hotels and chose Condes because of the location, boutique character and reputation. We had a wonderful stay except for one discordant event: I was treated with rudeness bordering on hosility at check-in by Manuel F. My travelling companions observed this unprovoked behavior and they were similarly shocked and baffled by it. Management was later apologetic but the gentleman concerned never said a word about his conduct. Fortunately, I was able to recover from this initial negative impression, and thoroughly enjoyed the brief stay. The hotel is modern, luxurious and well-appointed, although an upgrade to the better rooms is worth the cost for the additional space and amenities (sitting area, better view, bathtub and shower, larger TV etc.) The real gem of the property is the rooftop bar which is chic, comfortable and fun, with fabulous views of Barcelona. Enjoy Cava (sparkling wine) up there and any other shortcomings are forgotten.

Room Tip: Upgrade. While the standard rooms are fine, if you intend to spend time in your room, the upgraded...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raimon S, Director General at Condes de Barcelona, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guests, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for sharing your experience with other travellers. We work for the satisfaction of our guests so we are very happy to learn we met your expectations and you enjoyed our services and the location. We apologize for your unfortunate check-in and keep working to keep improving. Looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Condes de Barcelona in a near future.
Yours cordially,
Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    461
    123
    43
    27
See reviews for
176
475
33
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

The Condes is a charming hotel in a very clean, elegant city. Well situated in a beautiful residential and commercial shopping district, the Condes makes access to all of the city walking tours easy. We found the rooms surprisingly roomy for a European hotel. The shower facilities and bathrooms were modern, clean, and well maintained. The two level electric shades made for a nice touch allowing complete dark, or some light. The neighborhood has one of the best tapas restaurants in the city (Cerveseria Catalana). Expect a long wait there but it is well worth it. The Condes staff is friendly, helpful, and well informed and speak English comfortably. The breakfast each morning was outstanding. Also, the Condes has an amazing rooftop with expansive views of the city, specifically Gaudi's Sagrada Familia and Casa Mila. We didn't use the pool because the outside temperature was too cool, but it looked lovely. Taxi-cabs and public transportation were easily accessible. One small criticism, if we could have gotten better restaurant advice. One of the hotel's recommendations was only mediocre. But overall, very good value, terrific location, facilities were beautiful, and staff was excellent. We'd go back again.

Room Tip: Design rooms are spacious and comfortable. We'd pick that room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raimon S, Director General at Condes de Barcelona, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Steve, Thank you very much for leaving such nice words about your stay at Hotel Condes de Barcleona. We work for the satisfaction of our guests so we are very pleased to learn your stay was enhanced and you enjoyed the hotel and our services. Looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Condes de Barcelona in your next visit to Barcelona.
Yours cordially,
Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Hotel Condes de Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunset, South Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were booked into this hotel by our cruise line. Unfortunately it had manny issues. The staff was friendly and helpful but to start with the inside lift was under construction as well as the sidewalk and surrounding street right outside the hotel. This hotel is in the very swanky part of town. All the designer shops surrounding the area.So to hear the sound of jackhammering all day after a fifteen hour flight thanks. The room itself was nice on the surface. Sharing it with my daughter so two twin beds. Comfortable enough.But no view and the shower floor was so slick I very nearly fell on my you know what. I literally had to put a towel down inside the shower. Bring your own hair dryer!The pool and hot tub are not very big or warm. However the view from the roof top is nice, a good place for drinks. Tapas some good some just ok. The breakfast that came with the overnight was very nice, good selection and fast. Beware the jewelry store owner next door he did not like us lowly Americans waiting for our delayed bus outside his upscale store.

Room Tip: Wait until the construction is finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raimon S, Director General at Condes de Barcelona, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear Karen, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona. We work for the satisfaction of our guests so I am very dissapointed to read certain details did not live up with our standards and with those of a hotel of our category. We take your comments into account to keep improving. Looking forward to welcoming you again at Hotel Condes de Barcelona to demonstrate you the high category of our standards and facilities.
Yours sincerly,
Raimon Senpau
General Manager
HOTEL CONDES DE BARCELONA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Hotel Condes De Barcelona -- "THE PLACE TO STAY" Great central location makes City Centre & La Rambla walking tours easy. Modern, spotlessly clean! 3 restaurants including rooftop terrace Alaire - fantastic! Excellent Management & Staff attentive to every need. Barcelona is a must visit & Condos de Barcelona is a must stay!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raimon S, Director General at Condes de Barcelona, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Donald, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for sharing your nice experience with other travellers. We work for the satisfaction of our guests so we are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the location. Hope to welcome you again at Hotel Condes de Barcelona in your next visit to Barcelona.
Best regards,
Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Hotel Condes de Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

I have been staying here for more than 10 years whenever I come to Barcelona. When a hotel makes you feel like your at home then that's the best for me. Rooms are clean and spacious and the staff are always helpful and accommodating. They have suggested excellent places to eat and things to do. Over the years the hotel has constantly upgraded and represents excellent value. Location is first class as it is only a 10-15 minute walk to the Ramblas and a two minute walk to two of the fabulous Gaudi houses. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raimon S, Director General at Condes de Barcelona, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Ron, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona. We work for the satisfaction of our guests so we are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel and our lovely city. l hope to welcome you again at Hotel Condes de Barcelona in your next visit to Barcelona.
Yours cordially,
Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Hotel Condes de Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edisto Island, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We were staying at the Condes for a few days before cruising with Oceania Cruises in November 2012. We had a wonderful time as the hotel is well located and the staff were very helpful. The breakfasts were some of the best we've ever had and we tended to linger before heading out to explore the city. Overall, it was a nice place to relax before our cruise.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raimon S, Director General at Condes de Barcelona, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Josie, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for sharing your nice experience with other travellers. We work for the satisfaction of our guests so we are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the location. Hope to welcome you again at Hotel Condes de Barcelona.
Best regards,
Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Hotel Condes de Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

Fantastic location, loved the terrace bar. Staff were very helpful and friendly, just need to ask if you need anything and they get in done promptly. Would recommend if you like shopping and the buzz of city life, all within proximity of wonderful monuments, great architecture and art.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raimon S, Director General at Condes de Barcelona, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest, First of all we would like to thank you for choosing us for your stay in Barcelona and for sharing your nice experience with other travellers. We work for the satisfaction of our guests so we are very pleased to learn you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and the location. Hope to welcome you again at Hotel Condes de Barcelona in your next visit to Barcelona.
Yours cordially,
Raimon Senpau
General Manager
Hotel Condes de Barcelona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Condes de Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condes de Barcelona

Address: Paseo de Gracia 73, 75, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > La Vila de Gràcia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#67 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#69 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#72 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Condes de Barcelona 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Hotel Condes de Barcelona 4* esta inmejorablemente situado en pleno Paseo de Gracia, en el corazon de la Barcelona modernista, frente al famoso edificio "La Pedrera" de Gaudi, a escasos minutos de la Plaza Catalunya y el centro historico de la ciudad. El Hotel, que ocupa un antiguo palacetes del siglo XIX, presenta una oferta de alojamiento de 126 habitaciones y un servicio de restauracion a cargo del chef Martin Berasategui, poseedor de siete estrellas Michelin.El Hotel Condes de Barcelona es ademas una referencia gastronomica de prestigio pues cuenta con Martin Berasategui como director gastronomico. Berasategui asesora y supervisa toda la Restauracion del Hotel.Destaca su Restaurante Loidi y la espectacular Terraza Alaire con las mejores vistas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Expedia, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Condes de Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Condes De Barcelona Hotel Barcelona
Condes De Hotel Barcelona
Barcelona Condes De Hotel
Hotel Condes De Barcelona
Condes De Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Condes de Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.