We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“10:42 PM And The Party Is Still Going On” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel to your Saves list
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza Espana 6-8, 08014 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #186 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence 2014
San Ramon, CA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“10:42 PM And The Party Is Still Going On”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

There is a party tent in the middle of the hotel. I'm feeling badly for my friends who need to wake at 3am tomorrow for their plane departure as the bass from the party music and the mike announcements must make it impossible to sleep.

Also I was put in a smoking room. With as many rooms as they have, this should never have happened. There is no soundproofing in these hotel rooms.

Breakfast is good.

I will never return and am glad to be leaving tomorrow to another hotel in Barcelona.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,
We welcome your feedback, help us improve our service every day to customers.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    334
    151
    58
    39
See reviews for
164
326
63
227
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

While this is considered a "business" hotel, we stayed several nights while on a tour. It is clean and comfortable and nicely appointed. The best feature however is the location on the plaza, in walking distance to a museum and across from a shopping center that has a great view and nice retaurants on the top floor. A subway station is directly in front of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

We welcome your feedback, help us improve our service every day to customers.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We couldn't fault this hotel it was clean, friendly, had a great location for both getting to the port or airport as well as for exploring the city. The rooms were spacious and in good condition and we enjoy a very comfortable night there it


  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chihuahua, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

I loved the locattion. Through your windows you can see the MNAC (National Art Museum of Catalunya), which is a beutiful palace-like builging, with dancing fountains and light at night, the Ex- Bull fight plaza which is now a super cool shopping mall, and you have the metro station just a few steps outside the hotel´s door. The rooms are super clean an modern. The bathroom is huge. I felt like I was in a US hotel as I entered my room. Super globalized, not a European old fashion hotel. Wifi in the rooms didn´t work but the lobby wifi worked perfectly. Excellent ambience in the lobby, Really Kind Service, helpful peolpe 24/7. I stayed there for 1 week for bussiness and I loved it because I also had the chance to get to the touristic places fast and easy. Visit the coffe and bread shop 1 block away called Granier, its delicious fresh bread and delicious sanwishes, and the coffee is so good too. Had breakfast every morning there for from 6-8 Euros a day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

Thanks you for your comment. We really appreciate, and hope to be able to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Stayed once recently at this hotel - very convenient from the airport (the Aerobus stops almost at the door) - also, being situated at the Plaza de España, there is a major shopping centre next door as well as simple access to the underground (just in front of the main hotel entrance). I find hotels in Barcelona to vary too much in price, but we managed to obtain a good deal - seems to depend on local activities such as Conferences, Fairs and Tourist seasons. The hotel in itself is cold and good for accommodation only - too big to offer any individual service and also rather without character. We did however enjoy our overnight stay and I have no negative things to comment. The rooms are ok and equipped with everything needed. We'll probably overnight here again if the price is right.

Room Tip: The rear of the hotel is quieter (not in front of the Square - but if it is the view you want, then...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,

We welcome your feedback, help us improve our service every day to customers.

Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny, ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is located in a nice residential area with a lot of restaurants and cafe. Metro station is right outside the front door. Sants train station is 10-15 minutes walk away. Main attractions a short metro ride. Hotel is easy to access from airport by metro. Facing Magic Fountains and Catalonian Art museum. Our room had a beautiful view on the fountains and Montjuic. The room and the bathroom were clean, but in my opinion lacked the character. The hotel has a rooftop pool that was a nice touch. Have not tried the restaurant as it was tons of great places for breakfast and dinner nearby. If you are not looking for a central location, it's a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear guest,
We really appreciate your positive comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it helps us to constantly improve. I would like to use this opportunity to say that we would like to welcome you again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtonmore, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We found this to be a bland soulless hotel, a large box containing many smaller boxes. The decor is designed for easy cleaning and has little character. Same colour on the floors & walls. Good points: passable standard of cleaning, comfortable bed, nice cotton sheets, quiet room for a good sleep, good towels, amazing breakfasts, pleasant staff, centrally situated. Not so good: our room needed maintenance. The window latch was loose and awkward to use when we arrived, then fell off during our stay, the bathroom sink was cracked, there were rust stains in the bath, the bottom of the bathroom door had rotted due to damp [probably because the extractor fan didn’t seem to work], the ‘minibar’ mentioned in the brochure did not exist, one of the bedside lamps was loose and falling off the wall, the writing pad was torn, there were stains and sticky marks on the wall and a cracked area in the ceiling. Although there was plenty of hanging space, I lived out of my suitcase as there were no drawers for clothing. The view from the room [at the back of the hotel] consisted of a demolition site, graffiti and what looked like a centre for down & outs or drug addicts. The hotel “does what it says on the tin,” it provides accommodation for hundreds of people, is reasonably comfortably and close to the centre of Barcelona. I am at a loss to understand how it gets **** and very glad I was only there for three nights.

Room Tip: Good views at the front, quiet rooms at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sitja, Director General at Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear guest,
We really appreciate the time taken to write your comments about our hotel. The costumer’s opinion is a top priority for us and it help us to constantly improve. We take into consideration your review to work in those aspects that need to be changed.
We apologize the inconveniences caused and we really hope that you decide to visit us again in the future, for giving us another chance to exceed your highest expectations.
Yours faithfully
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel

Address: Plaza Espana 6-8, 08014 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#116 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#130 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 347
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This imposing hotel is situated in Plaza Espana, next to the Fira de Barcelona facilities and Montjuic. Guests can enjoy excellent connections with every means of public transport. It has its own parking facilities and offers ideal accommodation for business trips or short breaks. The panoramic terrace and most of the rooms have unbeatable views. The gardened marquee, which is located in the central courtyard, creates an ideal atmosphere for cocktails and dinner parties. We also offer you our 12 meeting rooms, where you can organise business meetings, conventions and family celebrations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Plaza
Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia Barcelona Plaza Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.