We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of peace in Barcelona.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel America

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel America to your Saves list
Hotel America
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Provenca 195, 08008 Barcelona, Spain (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #211 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Spilsby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A little bit of peace in Barcelona.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from our first visit to Barcelona, staying here for 3 nights bed and breakfast.
I booked the hotel through easyjet holidays after alot of research into location and reviews. I was not disappointed.
The hotel is situated about 5 minutes from passeig de gracia (very good shopping) and about 30mins from sagrada familia - and that wad with a 5 year old. If you were up to some walking though you could pretty much walk anywhere in barcelona from here!
You are also well placed for the metro which is about 2 mins away. We used it one day to visit park guell and the beach.
The staff were helpful and friendly and helped in any wsy they could.
The room was modern and bright, my only slight criticism would be that there places were the room was not as spotless as it could have been, but it was by no means dirty!
The breakfast was very good and there was plenty if it!
We had a fantastic time in barcelona and at hotel america!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    257
    77
    33
    14
See reviews for
90
265
23
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Margate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfortable hotel in excellent location. Staff friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet (hot and cold) had a surprisingly wide range. Free wi-fi was a bonus. Nothing negative to add. The room we stayed in was quiet at night (double-glazed) and we both slept very well (the wine helped!)

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

very good hotel!

me and my friend stayed here last september. The rooms were beautiful and comfortabel (nice bathroom). At night there was noise but that's normal when you stay in a city that doesn't sleep. the swimpool is also a nice + after a long day of visiting Barcelona. The staff is friendly. The food is good, I expected to see some bagels (american breakfast) because it was american buffet but there weren't any. I recommend this hotel to anyone who's planning a trip to Barcelona.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Plus points: modern hotel not too large, friendly staff (especially Nuria at Reception - very helpful), breakfast buffet was comprehensive by continental standards, free wi-fi throughout, near to metro stations (Provenca and Diagonal), plenty of good restaurants within a few minutes walk. It's also in a safe area, but only 5 mins walk from Passeig de Gracia and 20 from La Rambla.
Negative points: can be noisy at times due to open design with light well.
Overall: would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The America hotel is comfortable, pleasant, well located in a lovely and cheerful street. The rooms are modern, maybe could be a little larger. We also liked breakfast, not so expensive if you find an offer. We missed some bikes to go for the beautiful Granados street!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel was great and good value for money, one of the best i have stayed at yet. The staff are amazing, wish more hotels were like this one. The breakfast was beyond amazing, everything you can think of. They were especially friendly to my 2 yesr old who learned 'hola' by the end of our trip. I will definitley be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A group of friends and I visited barcelona back in 2010 and found this hotel to be our best choice for location and value. We got a good deal online, so were sceptical on the actual quality of rooms and service, until we got there.

We were very impressed with the whole experience. Everything ranging from the helpful receptionist (who armed us with maps and gave us tips on where to go and what methods of transport were best) to the quailty and comfort of the rooms, and the fact there is a jacuzzi and pool!!! The cherry on the cake really is how central the hotel was, just a walk into anywhere really, especially as we went when it was sunny and warm and did not mind walking.

If i was to go back to Barcelona, I'd book this hotel again without hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Address: c/ Provenca 195, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#191 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel America 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel America Barcelona, Catalonia
America Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.