We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff and convenient location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel America

Save Saved
You added Hotel America to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel America
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Provenca 195, 08008 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #167 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly staff and convenient location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Plus points: modern hotel not too large, friendly staff (especially Nuria at Reception - very helpful), breakfast buffet was comprehensive by continental standards, free wi-fi throughout, near to metro stations (Provenca and Diagonal), plenty of good restaurants within a few minutes walk. It's also in a safe area, but only 5 mins walk from Passeig de Gracia and 20 from La Rambla.
Negative points: can be noisy at times due to open design with light well.
Overall: would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    250
    238
    69
    35
    14
See reviews for
76
235
22
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

The America hotel is comfortable, pleasant, well located in a lovely and cheerful street. The rooms are modern, maybe could be a little larger. We also liked breakfast, not so expensive if you find an offer. We missed some bikes to go for the beautiful Granados street!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great and good value for money, one of the best i have stayed at yet. The staff are amazing, wish more hotels were like this one. The breakfast was beyond amazing, everything you can think of. They were especially friendly to my 2 yesr old who learned 'hola' by the end of our trip. I will definitley be returning.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

A group of friends and I visited barcelona back in 2010 and found this hotel to be our best choice for location and value. We got a good deal online, so were sceptical on the actual quality of rooms and service, until we got there.

We were very impressed with the whole experience. Everything ranging from the helpful receptionist (who armed us with maps and gave us tips on where to go and what methods of transport were best) to the quailty and comfort of the rooms, and the fact there is a jacuzzi and pool!!! The cherry on the cake really is how central the hotel was, just a walk into anywhere really, especially as we went when it was sunny and warm and did not mind walking.

If i was to go back to Barcelona, I'd book this hotel again without hesitation!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kununurra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is in a very accessible part of Barcelona. From my arrival staff could not have been more helpful. Room was clean and very comfortable. Wifi was fast and free. Many wonderful cafes close by and welcomng all day and night. Barcelona is a wonderful city loved every minute

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Clean hotel, nice staff, perfect breakfast, very nice rooms: worth the money. They are improving their hotel all the time. Plus is that you can get their car for free for 4 hours (or a little more). Save area, close to plaza catalunya and more tourist spots.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here in June. The location was perfect for both metro and overground trains. The hotel was clean and modern and right in the centre of Barcelona. The rooms were very clean and of a very good size with a clean and large bathroom. We booked via Travelrepublic and got a good deal including breakfast - which otherwise would have been 15euros per person - the buffet was small and if I had booked without breakfast i would not have paid the extra for it.The staff at reception were friendly and helpful. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Address: c/ Provenca 195, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#114 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#194 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel America 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel America Barcelona, Catalonia
America Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.