We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and welcoming hotel in a good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel America

Save Saved
You added Hotel America to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel America
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   c/ Provenca 195, 08008 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #142 of 520 hotels in Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Comfortable and welcoming hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Myself and my partner booked this short stay through low cost holidays and we were anxious about what to expect! We weren't disappointed at all, the whole holiday ran smoothly. The hotel itself - for us was in a good location, nestled away far enough to be away from the main strip, but close enough to walk with ease or to catch the metro. We found a lovely little local bar called The Moon, where we had some cocktails for half the price than in the main area. The room was comfortable, a little tired in places, but the bathroom was lovely with an amazing shower! The breakfast wasn't great, but filled us up good enough. The only issue we found for the whole holiday was finding good places to eat, I don't know if it was us, but we just didn't seem to find much variety? I follow a gluten free diet, and can be very ill if I have gluten- on the last night we came across a wonderful restaurant who cooked me something to order. The hotel staff were very helpful and accommodating, overall there is nothing that we can fault. The only one thing, is that there was no tea or coffee facilities in the room, but maybe that's a old British thing!!

Room Tip: We were on floor 2 with a view over the front of the hotel, so would definitely recommend a high flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    224
    63
    32
    11
See reviews for
72
218
21
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Queens, New York, United States
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

My husband and I stayed here on our first stop of our Spanish honeymoon. The staff was unbelievably helpful and friendly. Everyone spoke fluent English and was very helpful with maps, trains and suggested attractions. Breakfast is available daily but us being vegans it wasn't worth it, so we went to a cafe down the street every morning. We were here 5 nights and thought it was fantastic. We even got upgraded to a suite since it was available + a complimentary bottle of champagne!

We booked this hotel via Totally Spain and found it just fine with our taxi from the airport. It's in close proximity to some Gaudi attractions and sightseeing bus tours however we were spending a lot of time in the Gothic Quarter. Should we return to Barcelona, we'd prefer to stay there so it's less time spent getting place. But it depends what your interests are, I wouldn't hesitate booking here if it's in the area you want. You can be sure that the neighborhood is quiet and you're not woken up by church bells or street noise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Staff were very friendly! The bar was resonably priced.
Breakfast was lovely a good selection. The resturant room it self was nice, modern, clean and the same with the rooms.
Rooms were bright, very clean. Comfortable beds.
Location was good only 10min walk to las rambla and plenty of bars and resturants.
Would stay again if in Barcelona

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

What a pleasant surprise to,discover Hotel America...large well designed rooms with large modern bathrooms and lots of nice amenities...even the bathroom had bath salts and candles.The staff was very helpful especially Christian at the desk who set us up with the hotels's courtesy loaner car...what hotel has that? So we explored the Costa Brava courtesy of the hotel.Oh and did I mention the included breakfast serves fresh orange juice!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern ireland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was in a great part of the city, very handy to all the big designer shops and surrounded by restraunts and bars. It was still quiet enough that you could escape the hords of people on the main tourist shopping areas which was about a fifteen minute walk away. A thirty minute walk would take you down to the sea and the old city.
The hotel itself was spotless, and our room had a wonderful large bath. The sun terrace on the roof with the little pool is lovely and at a warmer time of the year would be a great place to spent a hot afternoon to rest after shopping!
Breakfast was great with everything anyone could want.
As stated before the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful.
We noticed no street noise at all, however the great Spanish wine probably helped with that!
The area also appeared very safe, we certainly had no problems wondering around the area late at night.
All in all a great place for a long weekend, and a wonderful city.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

wasnt happy at all, there was a pickpocketter inside the hotel reception, my husband kept his backpack on our luggage and went to check in, within 3 seconds of him keeping the backpack it wasnt there, luckily for me i saw the backpack gone and started screaming on the road, seeing the pickpocketters running towards a car which was waiting for them , i guess because of me screaming on the road he dropped our bag and entered the car waiting for them 5 steps away.... when i complained to the reception desk that how r pickpocketters inside the reception of your hotel - his answer was this happens in the entire barcelona every street so we cant do anything, ok if they cant do anything why is there a cctv inside the reception - is that only for show ??? even the rooms werent cleaned properly, the floor would always have lots of dust , the end of our comforter which would touch the ground would be dusty...............

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alicante-Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Good location, service, spotless and good breakfast, we like the option of 4 hours free rental car -Fiat 500 to use but at the end we prefer to walk around. Perfect for a weekend break. Good heating and power shower.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel America? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel America

Also Known As:
Hotel America Barcelona
America Hotel Barcelona
Hotel America Barcelona, Catalonia
Address: c/ Provenca 195, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#90 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#101 Family Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel America 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel America reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel America, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.