We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, Clean and modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton

Save Saved
You added Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mallorca 251, 08008 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #64 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, Clean and modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I went for a weekend to this hotel with a friend and we really likes it. The staff is very nice, and they try to do their best to satisfy your requests.

We didn't try the breakfast, we only had coffee at the bar which is quite nice.
We had a deluxe room the windows were small because we had the last floor but at least a street view. We asked it in the reservation and it was done, just write room with view on 'carrer de mallorca'

Overall our stay was very good even though we didn't stay much at the hotel we had amazing weather.

I would recommend this hotel and definitely coming back in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel T, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Our hotel is the best choice for a city break.. our location, our rooms, our staff... I´m very proud to manage this Hotel...

I hope to see you soon and feel the cit,y the weather, the people that makes Barcelona one of the main destinations for weekend..

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    388
    272
    85
    33
    16
See reviews for
109
354
39
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We enjoyed our Alexandra Barcelona Hotel. The location was extremely convenient to the city center and since our stay was short (two nights), location was very important. There were many cafes nearby offering varied menus. Rooms were clean and comfortable and staff was helpful. There was a laptop and a printer available for guests. We found that helpful since we were driving and printed routes for our next destination there. I would not hesitate to stay at the Alexandra on my next trip to Barcelona.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel T, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your comments and your stay..

It´s true, our location is one of the best thing we have.. our bar, our gin-tonics, our staff, our rooms.. and everything with our smile and our service..

I hope to see you soon in the next future..

Best regards to Florida...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landstuhl, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was our second trip to Barcelona. On the first we stayed outside the city center, but this time we were driving and only had one day and two nights before our cruise ship departed, so we looked for a more central location that also provided parking. The Alexandra was perfect for what we wanted. The hotel is located mid-block between the two major shopping streets of Ramblas de Catalunya and Passeig de Gracia, with about a twenty minute walk to the Ramblas, the pedestrian and tourist boulevard that borders the old town. This was winter, but the weather was sunny and the walk was wonderful. Within two blocks of the hotel there are at least a dozen sidewalk cafes, which also offer interior service if the weather is too bad. Gaudi's famous apartment, La Pedrera, is literally around the corner from the hotel, and the Sagrada Familia church is only a few blocks away. As to the hotel itself, the decor is very, very modern (mirrored black ceilings in the upstairs hallways), which is not to our personal taste, but everything was clean and well maintained, so we had no complaints in this area. We found the staff to be friendly and helpful, as in investigating which flamenco shows were available for that evening. Breakfast was more than adequate. Our only complaint was that the scrambled eggs were not hot, but we were there shortly after breakfast started and there were not yet any other customers, so I don't think this is necessarily the kitchen's fault. While we loved having on-site parking, the garage is scarily small, even for persons used to smaller European garages, and there is a steep spiral drive to enter and exit , but there were not a lot of cars so we had no personal problem. I might be a little more concerned if it were high season. All in all, a fine hotel and we will stay there again when we get to Barcelona

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel T, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Thomas,

thank you very much for your kindly comments..

I´m very happy to know that everything was ok.. except the eggs.. we just change our buffe last week and we have a new one really nice..

I hope to see you again in your next cruise.. certainly our hotel is one of the best choice to spend one o two days before..

Best regards to Landstuhl...!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Excellent hotel in the best location in Barcelona. We had two adjoining rooms that were modern, clean and very large. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful, always willing to help us out with restaurant reservations and taxis. The breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel T, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Maria,

first of all thank you very much for your stay...

it´s really nice to read your comment and I´ll share with my team in order to celebrate one of our missions: our clients is the first..

I hope to see you soon in our city..

best regards to Montreux...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Beautiful design hotel, avant garde architecture, located in the very best part of the city, in the city center, close to Paseo de Gracia and Rambla Catalunya with their shops and restaurants. Also close to the works of Antoni Gaudi, the museums etc. Nice rooms, very spacious. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel T, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest,

it´s nice to read your comments... our location is the best one in the city.. everything is close.. restaurants, Gaudi, shopping area... we have all than we need if you want to discover our city..

thank you very much for your stay and your time writing this comments..

I hope to see you soon in Barcelona

Best regards!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The main positive for this hotel is the location if you want to stay in the Exaimple area: right in the main (expensive designer) shopping area, on Calle Mallorca between Passeig de Gracia and Rambla de Catalunya. Felt very safe at night and it feels like you're in a tourist area. There are multiple restaurants in the area of various price ranges. It is also only 5-10 minute walk from two of Gaudi's main works: La Pedrera and Batlo.
Beware that it is about a 20 minute walk to the core of gotic Barcelona. A very nice walk down to the old part of Barcelona and the waterfront, so I didnt consider it far from anything but our group liked to walk. Taxis are not expensive, and there are two subway stations close to the hotel - 2 small blocks away.

The worse experience was the check-in at this hotel. There were two people working at the counter and we were second in line, but for some reason it still took 30 minutes for them to get to us. The person that first serviced us was a young blond girl who didnt seem very friendly or concerned about getting the guests checked-in. As she serviced us, another guest who had just walked in approached her and she completely disregarded us and then started answering his questions...she didn't even say 'excuse me for a moment, or it will just take a moment"....she just walked away and started speaking with another guest. There's nothing more irritating than waiting for your turn in line and then being ignored when your turn comes so the person servicing you can speak with someone who just cut the line.
When her male colleague was done checking-in the guests ahead of us, we started getting serviced by her male colleague, then she shouted in spanish: "give them a room on the 1st floor". Up until then, we were speaking in english as we normally do, but we also understand spanish, so I spoke up to say we preferred a higher floor and told the gentleman that we had previously emailed to make this request. The gentleman seemed a little embarrassed that we had understood what the girl had told him and said that there were no rooms left on higher floors. We completely understand that higher floors are subject to availability, but if there are in fact no rooms available, there is no reason for the girl to say so as there would be nothing left but the first floor. The wait and check-in service was really not a good start to our 4-day stay.

ROOMS: the room was on the smaller side, perfectly fine for 2 people but it would be tight if more people. Modern decoration. We were very concerned that the traffic noise from outside would keep us awake, specially because there is a bus that runs till late at night. Fortunately, the noise from outside did not bother us. However, the walls were so thin that we could hear everything from the rooms next door. We could hear doors slamming, clothes-hangers hitting the wall, walking around, etc.
Also, only two TV channels in english. Very small mini-freezer.
The washroom was modern but the shower was terrible...the glass panel that half closes the shower is too small and no matter how hard you try, there's always a pool of water after you shower. The water temp also fluctuates, so sometimes you're scorched.

All in all, our stay was just okay. We didnt encounter any major issues, but also was not very wowed during our stay. We paid approx. $160 US. per night and think we have gotten better value at other hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel T, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest,

first and foremost thank you very much for your stay and your comments..

I´m going to talk with my front desk manager.. this kind of situation is not allowed in our hotel.. I´m so sorry...

In order to improve our customer satisfaction I´ll send an email to our works departament tryingo to fix your comments..

I´m so sorry for your feelings and I would like to see you again in the next future to see we really are a great hotel.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I searched for quite a while to find a suitable hotel for our "out-of-the-country-celebration".
Seemed difficult to find what we exactly wanted, but Alexandra met our expectations.
We had a spacious room with a south facing terrace on the top floor.
There was even a separate elevator to get to our floor on which, I think, there were only four rooms.
Large jacuzzi in the bathroom, wall-to-wall carpet in the bedroom (which I generally dislike) but the room was immaculately clean.
The terrace hade a thick hedge to the next room so the privacy is almost complete, except for the office across the street but that is not a big problem at all.

Staff was very friendly and cooperative. One of the lightbulbs in the bathroom disfunctioned but I went downstairs to get help, got a new and changed it myself. The morning after a very embarrased bellboy came up and asked if he should change it. Just a small mishap as far as I am concerned.

Breakfast was included (which it rarely is in Barcelona) and was a perfect start to the day.
Nothing missing, lots of fruit, nice bread, great scrambled eggs and whatever else you can think of.

Nice bar, free snacks occasionally and friendly staff. Got an Italian touch to it. But then again, if you don´t like it, the nearest nice Tapas bar is just 30 yards away on the street.

We never ate at the hotel though, apart from breakfast, too much tempting nearby at La Rambla.

Very nicely located although a bit far from the sea. I would highly recommend it though. Prices go higher the closer to the sea you get and this place is well worth the money.
Especially if you want a big terrace on your own.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel T, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear guest,

I´m glad to inform you that our Junior Suites Terrace (one of your choice) are completely renovated.. with no carpet on the flor and new terrace with a jacuzzi outside.. lovely..

Thank you very much for your comment.. it´s nice to hear from you that kind of things... :)

best regards to Stockholm !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton

Address: Calle Mallorca 251, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#39 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#48 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#82 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, TripOnline SA, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.