We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large rooms, great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton

Save Saved
You added Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mallorca 251, 08008 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% off
Ranked #66 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
London
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Large rooms, great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

This was my first stay at this hotel, the lobby and breakfast areas look like they were recently refurbished, the bedrooma (mine was at the back of the building) was huge if not a little old-fashioned. The breakfast room is great, and the choice was also great, cold and hot items, and freshly sliced hams. Location is perfect.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the building are newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    376
    267
    86
    34
    18
See reviews for
92
328
35
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mlebourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have stayed in quite a few hotels in Spain lately, however, I would have to say this is by far the best in terms of quality and service. Have no hesitation on staying again and throughly recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

stayed here for 3 nights with my wife its modern ,clean, sharp and in a great spot. the rooms are nice, well appointed and very clean. breakfast was great plenty of choice and lots of coffee. ate in the restraunt found it exeptional value and first class food and menu. would recomend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I normally give great reviews and I am a very easy going traveller too, but after going to this hotel I was quite disgusted. I bought a voucher on Living Social and was told that this place was awesome! It wasnt THAT cheap to be honest and I thought that the room would have been a lot better than it was! Although the credit to the front desk staff, they were extremely kind and helpful. We didnt complain as we were travelling around europe and we just couldnt be bothered. The breakfast was average, although it was included in the price. The bar was great, free wifi was great (Although slow), the location was incredible.

The bathroom as we entered it for the first time had bugs crawling out of the corner of the shower unit, the shower unit didnt have a handle either and was filled with limescale. We then asked for an iron and they brought us up an ironing board that had stains all over it and an iron that has seen better days!

I guess looking at other reviews it looks like I could have just had a bad room, or maybe its because we got this "deal" on living social that we were given the short straw and they gave us the worst room in the hotel. Either way, I doubt I would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juan Manuel T, Director General at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear guest,

first and foremost I would like to thank you for your stay in the Hotel Alexandra.

I´m so sorry, for me it´s a surprise your review.. like you say, nobody write nothing like you about the rooms...it´s absolutely unusual and, of course, it´s not for the way you booked the hotel. we haven´t bad rooms.. I´m so sorry too for our iron, Sometimes we want to provide service quickly and we gave you a old iron.. not happen again..

At least our staff, our, location, our bar and our wifi was great..

I hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the next future... give us a chance to exceed your expectations

best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The hotel location is great, all the best restaurants and shopping is in the area. The service is terrible though. The rooms aren't cheap and I've never met staff so unwilling to help in any way.

Our room was super warm and were told that the "aircon" had been changed to be heating only a few days before. When we asked of we could store our bikes in the parking lot a conversation in Spanish ensued after which the guys at the desk established we should pay them 10 euros a night for storage directly, dodgy! A small thing but no free tea or coffee in the rooms. 5 euros for a couple teas, not cool.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ra'anana, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

You can't beat the location of this hotel is this fascinating and thrilling city. The hotel staff is extremely courteous and helpful. However, the hotel is split into two sections- a "renovated" section and an "unrenovated" section. The renovated rooms, like the lobby and restaurant, are ultra modern, which in Barcelona seems to mean extremely dark- black actually, The hallways are painted completely black with dark carpeting and mirrors and the rooms are black, taupe, and minimalist. A very chic, masculine, business-type appeal, I guess. Not at all romantic and not at all appealing to me. HOWEVER, as it turns out- the "unrenovated" rooms are large, bright, charming with classic cherrywood paneling and marble bathrooms. The hallways are bright and elegant and though the bathrooms are a bit older overall these "unrenovated" rooms were FAR more appealing than the "updated" rooms. There are two triple rooms on the eighth floor that are very large and beautiful with a sitting area surrounded by full size windows overlooking the city. We loved the triple rooms. They cost only 10 euro more than the standard room and are well worth the added expense. There is not much of a restaurant in the hotel, but there is a bar that serves light snacks and the hotel is surrounded by excellent restaurants, bakeries and cafes which makes for an even more interesting experience. The location is unbeatable- excellent shopping, architecture, Gaudi's La Pedrera and so much more literally around the corner. Again, I would have been miserable in one of the dark "modern" rooms. But once we changed into an "older" room in a higher floor, the hotel was perfect.

Room Tip: The rooms on the lower floor are noiser. It's true that there is double glass but if you dare t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stay here at least once a month, and never fail to have a great experience. the location is perfect for business, restaurants, shopping, etc. and the rooms are comfortable and very clean. The internet / wifi is always reliable too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton

Address: Calle Mallorca 251, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#36 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#49 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#83 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.