We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in Barcelona” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton to your Saves list
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mallorca 251, 08008 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 20% on Weekend Stays
Ranked #87 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Bradford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“First time in Barcelona”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

Stopped for 3 nights in early July and was wowed in every avenue. Great location lovely staff found all of them helpfull from reception, porter, breakfast staff. Paid for a superior room but got uprgaded to a suite room 516 was an amazing room.Massive bed and so comfy 2 tvs double jacuzzi bath and great shower twin designer sinks. Also seperate lounge area and safe deposit box. Lovely bar also at reasonable prices and lounge area with lounge seating. Stopped at W hotels and this compares alongside these.Only improvement could be tea and coffee in rooms and also breakfast could be quicker restocked as a couple of mornings had to wait for items to be replemmished.
Would recommend this hotel to everyone great location approx 6 minutes walk from top of Ramblas

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra_Hotel, Marketing Department at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Dear guest,

We really are very happy to know you enjoyed so much your stay at the Hotel Alexandra!

It is a pleasure for us to verify you liked our hotel location and rooms and you spent a wonderful experience at the Hotel Alexandra.

We hope we can have the pleasure of hosting you again in the next future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    307
    94
    37
    16
See reviews for
126
386
42
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

we enjoyed staying here as it was near to everything,it is a high class hotel the only problem was that there was no tea making facilities in the room, however they do a great breakfeast

Room Tip: be carefull of taxis who charge to much
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra_Hotel, Marketing Department at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, July 6, 2011
Dear guest,

Greetings from the sunny Barcelona!

We really are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Alexandra and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in the next future.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

The hotel was nice and clean. Great area right off Passeig de Gracia where lots of shopping can be done. I really enjoyed staying here. The only complaint I have is that the room smelled like cigarette smoke. Otherwise it was a good experience with a friendly, helpful staff. I would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra_Hotel, Marketing Department at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear guest,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Alexandra during your stay in Barcelona.

We are glad to see that you enjoyed our hotel and city, however we regret the cigarrette smell of your room.

We are sorry for any inconvenience might have been caused and hope to have the pleasure of hosting you again in your next visit to Barcelona.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2011

In terms of pros, the hotel has an excellent location, around the corner from Casa Mila. It also includes an extensive breakfast buffet. With regards to cons, the front desk staff were a fount of misinformation, such as how to obtain tickets to the Palau, the closing time of Corte Ingles, and where to post mail. The front desk staff seemed disinterested, as they were often on their cell phones. I would not recommend, as their are much better four star hotels in town.

Room Tip: Ask for a Superior roon, as they have been redone
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra_Hotel, Marketing Department at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, June 30, 2011
Dear guest,

Greetings from Barcelona!

We would like to thank you for your nice words referring our hotel property and location. It is a pleasure for us to verify you liked our service and our proximity to the most important sights of the Modernism art in Barcelona.

On the other hand, we really are very sorry for the impression you got from our reception employees. Usually, their behaviour is very professional and friendly, however, we have in consideration your comments.

Despite your experience, we hope we can have the opportunity to make you change your mind in a better way and look forward to your next visit to the Hotel Alexandra.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, Devon
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Alexandra between 28th-31st December 2010 and I realise I'm posting this a bit late but unbelievably it took until the end of April to get a final response to our compliant! I booked a trip with my wife to take her away as we now have three kids and time away without them is scarce.
I picked the hotel based on its good central location and it looked good. We wanted a nice relaxing, lazy break with a bit of sightseeing and some well needed lay ins.
On arrival it all looked great and the staff were friendly.
There was a slight initial hiccup when the TV didn't work but we swapped rooms - not a problem.
All was fine until the next morning when we were woken by a loud banging and hammer drilling noises.
I complained at the reception (along with another couple on our floor) and told them that we wanted to be moved to another higher floor and was told that they would speak with the Manager for when we return to the hotel as we wanted to go sightseeing.
When we returned to the hotel we were informed that the hotel was in fact fully booked and so we could not move rooms.
Well we encountered similar problems on the second and third days of our stay (although they did start a bit later on the second day) and this culminated on us being woken by two or three loud bangs at 6am on the final day, we were even wearing earplugs.
I went down the stairs to the floor below as it had been shut off from the lift, expecting to see builders doing a room or bathroom refurb but to my surprise there was a total refub of the floor going on...unbelievable (see photo attached).
I was livid and was going to refuse to pay when I went to check out but I had prepaid via e-bookers, I couldn't speak to the manager as he was away (I don't blame him if he lives in the hotel..).
I complained to e-bookers straightaway when I got back, it took over a month to get a response from the hotel, in the meantime to e-bookers credit they offered to refund half of the accommodation. The hotel eventually e-mailed an apology and said they had no knowledge of the problem (I saw at least three others complain...) and offered to put us up free of charge to repeat our three night stay. The problem was having kids it wasn't really feasible for us to accept, plus we would still have had to pay for fights so I declined again asking for a full refund on the basis that we wouldn't have stayed there had we been warned (they should have informed e-bookers) but to be honest they should have closed the hotel to carry out that level of work.
It wasn't until the 21st April (about two months later) that I had a final response from e-bookers saying the hotel had refused to refund the full amount so I took e-bookers up on their offer.
It was a great shame as being woken early really spoilt the trip and the slow response was appalling.
In terms of staying here, well you decide if they deserve your business...

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra_Hotel, Marketing Department at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Mr. Stephen,

First and foremost we would like to thank you for your stay in the Hotel Alexandra.

We really are very sorry for all the inconveniences your suffered during our hotel renovation, and hope to find the way to make you change your mind about our hotel and service.

We hope we can have the pleasure of hosting you again in our renovated property and make you spend a marvellous stay in Barcelona.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

Most of Barcelona's hotels were full when it came to booking so we opted to spend seven nights at the Alexandra. We found a special pre-paid rate on the hotel's website: a deluxe room with complimentary breakfast. It wasn't an especially cheap deal. On arrival we asked the woman at the front desk for a quiet room at the back of the hotel. Without comment she sent us upstairs to a very small, bare room with a tiny bathroom that was more no-tell motel than international four-star. According to my booking confirmation we were entitled to a large, welcoming, well decorated room, with king-size bed. Not even close.

I immediately called the front desk and within minutes a very apologetic young man came up and showed us three very nice options. What a difference!! In the end we accepted a lovely, sixth floor room at the front with a king bed, nice decor and large, beautiful bathroom. We were never disturbed by traffic noise while we were there: the hotel is at the top of the Ramblas in an up-market shopping district and is especially quiet during the week. I think the first woman I spoke with on check-in should have handled the situation more professionally. It is very unpleasant to arrive exhausted and start your vacation by complaining about the room. However, it was the only glitch..

I agree with previous reviewers who were thrilled with the breakfast. It was most unusual for a European hotel to offer such a range of hot and cold options. And the service was first class. In all, a good base for exploring Barcelona and there were plenty of bars and restaurants around the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra_Hotel, Marketing Department at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, June 17, 2011
Dear guest,

We are sorry to see you are not completely satisfied with your stay in the Hotel Alexandra. We regret you had to call the front desk to be provided with a room you liked, however, it is a pleasure for us to verify that you were finally happy with it.

Hotel Alexandra hopes to have the pleasure of hosting you again in your next visit to Barcelona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

Barcelona was our last stop among our 4 stops travel in Spain last week, and this hotel by far is the worst one that we have stayed in. Everyone else is right on its convenient location, but that itself should not qualify it to be a 4 star hotel.

Pros: Good location to Casa Mila, high end shopping area, 5 mins walking to closest metro/subway stop. Great looking lobby and good front desk staff

Cons: Everything else! The room has a feel of cheapness to it that words can not describe. It seems that only minimum effort has been put in to just keep the room just livable. The carpet is stained and old, you can see the walls are cheaply plastered and painted in a rush, the furniture probably wasn't changed since the 80s. And the fact the room cleaning staff probably spend the minimum effort does not help the cause either. Our used glasses/mugs are left totally untouched and not replaced, the hot water jar we got from room service are still left behind. All in all, this is one of those hotels that probably spent most of their budget in putting up a great lobby to be photographed, and did nothing remotely to improve the room qualities. We can hear everything that's happening in the room next door and the one above.

It remained to be one of the last unbooked 4 star hotels in the region for a reason. And if you do end up booking it, please set your expectation low, or else you'll definitely be disappointed as soon as you open the door to your room, just like we did.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra_Hotel, Marketing department at Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Dear guest,

first and foremost, I would like to apologise for any inconveniences might have been caused during your stay in our hotel.

We really are very dispointed to verify you did not enjoy your stay with us despite our hotel has been recently renovated.

We are sorry to know you were not satisfied with our cleaning service, therefore, we consider your complaint and will speak to the person in charge to verify what happened.

Hotel Alexandra is currently one of the nicest hotels in the area, that is the reason why we hope we can have the opportunity of hosting you again in your next visit to Barcelona to make you change your mind in a positive way.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton

Address: Calle Mallorca 251, 08008 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#43 Business Hotel in Barcelona
#62 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#88 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra Barcelona A DoubleTree By Hilton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.