We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Ramblas Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Ramblas Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Ramblas Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   117, La Rambla, 08002 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #136 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Thornhill
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel is located in the perfect spot. It is a nice clean 4 star hotel. We chose this hotel because we were travelling with our 3 adult kids and we needed to get 1 room that slept 3 adults. When we arrive - very late - we were given a room that had a queen bed and then a single on the side. the biggest problem was that they went very "boutique style" and had a glass washroom at the back of the room. This did not work for parents with a 20 year old daughter. Luckily they were able to move us in the morning to a room with an enclosed bathroom. FYI the breakfast was not included in our rate but it was only 15 eros per person which was a great deal for what you got. Keep one thing in mind. European hotels are not as sound proof as North American hotels so you will hear things through the wall. All in all though it was a good hotel and I would recommend it to anyone looking for a 4 star in Barcelona.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    358
    467
    130
    45
    19
See reviews for
235
376
32
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is ok for a weekend stay, and the location is great for central Barcelona. However the price is definitely not worth it. Barcelona is small and easy to navigate by metro, and in my opinion, it would be better to stay in a much nicer hotel for a much cheaper price and travel 5-10 minutes on the metro if you want to see Ramblas.
The reception staff are polite and nice. Management however are rude, awkward, and unwilling to help as I witnessed. As a paying guest I was ashamed at how I saw the management deal with a young couples problem.
In summary:
Good location
Reasonable rooms
Polite front end staff
Massively overpriced
Unhelpful management

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We were in room 406 at the front of the hotel and were surprised by the modernness of this boutique hotel. The room was double glazed so no street noise really. Quiet air conditioning. Room was large for this city and very clean, along with the bathroom. I would say that whilst I dislike carpets in bedrooms this one had fake hardwood flooring which was lovely until people above us in their shoes would clip clip across the floor late in the night. The hallway seemed to carry noise along with the bathroom too and we could hear easily the water next door. People seem to have forgotten hotel etiquette so there was noise in the hallway and people allowing their doors to close loudly but this hotel was close to subways, buses, shops, restaurants, etc. and good value for money. The linens were clean and changed each day.

The breakfasts were, in my opinion, excellent, with selection of cereals, fruits, yogurt, cold cuts including their famous jambon, cheese, breads, pastries as well as the most delicious scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage. If you are American please note the food is delicate and not the typical greasy streaky burned up bacon we produce in US. I looked forward to this every morning. There is a variety of juices as well as teas and coffee. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and I think appreciate effort on the part of visitors when greetings are made in their language. The surrounding area is fantastic and a visit to the local fresh food market a must. The city is amazing and getting around is easy too from the tourist bus to the subway and walking around as well. Take time to enjoy the taste of Barcelona and visit some tapas bars as well as try the local sparkling wine called cava- delicious! Have fun it's a great city.

Room Tip: Go to the Meridian Hotel next door for a menu of the day three course meal for $19.99. Absolutely o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This hotel has a great location, close to transport, main tourist areas and places to eat.
N.B. Barcelona is cold in February!! Bring warm clothes! Hat, scarf and gloves are necessary! And thats coming from someone who lives in Ireland!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Majorca, Spain
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

good location towards the catalunya square end of las ramblas , rooms were very comfortable and clean. Plenty of car parks nearby and easy to get taxis etc. breakfast is not worth the 15 euro there are plenty of coffee shops within a few minutes walk offering better quality and value. overall a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for several days at the beginning of Jan 2013. The public areas and the room was very clean and orderly. The staff was courteous and helpful. The front desk staff was very knowledgeable about the area and where to go for.... just about anything you asked. The gentleman in charge of the breakfast every morning was very friendly and welcoming. The cleaning staff (housekeeping) was very cheery and did an excellent job every day.

I could not have asked for more - a great hotel, at a great price/value, at the best address in Barcelona. BTW, I had a Ramblas-facing room, and the double-glass ensured that my room very quiet at night, even though I could see people walking around the Ramblas.

I would definitely book at the Royal Ramblas again - and highly recommend it to anyone visiting there.

Room Tip: I was on the 'first' floor (which in the US would be the 3rd floor?), facing Las Ramblas. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This is everything you need on your vacation to Barcelona ! Superb location on the Rambla, 30 meters from Placa Catalunya, same from metro. All the fun is right there.
Hotel offered very good level of service, friendly English speaking stuff, good amenities. Room was clean and tidy. Free Wi-Fi available, although you're requested to enter some crazy username and password at the web browser each time you connect.
Breakfast is good - eggs, jamon, fruits, cornflakes, etc.

Had a great stay !
Recommended !

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Ramblas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Ramblas Hotel

Address: 117, La Rambla, 08002 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
#110 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#127 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#131 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Ramblas Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Ramblas Hotel is known for its privileged location in the heart of Las Ramblas, the most popular and well-known boulevard in the Barcelona center. The hotel is close to Catalunya Square (50 mts), the meeting point for leisure and culture in Barcelona and the symbol of its open and cosmopolitan character. Royal Ramblas Hotel offers 4 star facilities and an excellent location in Barcelona center which would make it the best option to explore the city. The hotel is at easy walking distance to the main tourist and cultural attractions such as Gothic Quarter, Cathedral, La Boqueria market, Teatre del Liceu, el Raval, la Barceloneta and the Harbour...And enjoys one of the best and gorgeous areas for dining and shopping from Plaza Catalunya to Passeig de Gracia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Ramblas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Ramblas Barcelona
Hotel Royal Ramblas
Royal Ramblas Hotel Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Ramblas Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.