We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view but very small rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Front Maritim

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Front Maritim to your Saves list
Hotel Front Maritim
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Passeig Garcia Faria 69-71, 08019 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #347 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Athens, Greece
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Nice view but very small rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our room was very very small and we had to pay much more to upgrade to a little bigger one. It was not worth it. Staff wasn't so friendly when we complained about the room. You cannot park near the hotel (there is a parking in the hotel but it was very expensive) although it wasn't close to town center. Very nice buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcsoriano, Director General at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comment, it is essential for us to know your opinion, and that our customers spend a few pleasant days with us.We hope to see you soon. Remember that we are close to the beach and this makes us a pofecto hotel to enjoy a few days of summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    189
    143
    57
    23
See reviews for
52
216
21
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nice Weekend

A few days ago my partner surprised me with a trip, a weekend in Barcelona, was very romantic and chose the hotel was very nice, modern and functional, the room had a view of a large bed, it was nice to wake up with the sunlight.
The employees were very helpful and friendly, had a good breakfast, plenty of choice.
They were two great days

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcsoriano, Director General at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comment, it is essential for us to know your opinion, and that our customers spend a few pleasant days with us.We hope to see you soon. Remember that we are close to the beach and this makes us a pofecto hotel to enjoy a few days of summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

So much for a relaxed getaway at a 4* hotel. On arrival I discovered we were booked into a room in some sort of basement. After viewing this room I felt forced to upgrade to a better standard, it was dingy, small and not very welcoming. Prior to paying an extra supplement of money, my upgraded room had a door which failed to lock! the staff dismissed this and simple offered to look at it; which they never got round to doing. We had an issue with the staff regarding the breakfast, our views were not acknowledged and management was quite simple outrageous. at all, its best attribute was its setting across from the beach. Do not recommend. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I booked this hotel because it was a 4 star hotel and even though it was not very close to the center, we thought it would be nice to spend our vacation in Barcelona for 5 days.
The hotel is divided in two towers. The main tower MIGHT be a 4 star ( I never had the chance to see the rooms), but when you check in, they tell you that if you want the newer rooms, you have to pay extra. The room we were assigned was so small that what they call closet, could not hung a hanger the right way... It had to be SIDE-WAY!
The room was so small that I didn't have any place to place our luggage. The bathroom was specious and acceptable. They provided some amenities like a box with shampoo, conditioner, 2 soaps, and a small folded clear zip lock with tissues (they didn't have a regular size paper tissues in the bathroom). The towels were so light from being washed so many times that they hardly dried your body.
The location was farther from the center than we expected. You have to walk a couple of blocks in order to get the bus 44 that will take you to Plaza Catalunya.
The Free Wi-Fi is only at the reception area and another place where they had some tables. There was NO Wi-Fi in the rooms or anywhere else.
The front desk personnel was not that friendly either, (even though we spoke Spanish).
The Breakfast was good for 9 Euros.
My final advise: DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL. There are plenty of nice places in Barcelona. We have been there several times and have always had a great time. I should have stayed at another place but I trusted the 4 star ratings. We stayed the 5 days because they would not give us a refund.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcsoriano, Front Office Manager at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thank you very much for your comment
The rooms with up -shell cost in not because they´re newer, is because they are a different kind of rooms (size, views, servicies-mini bar- etc) . The room that you booked is the standard one with his own sizes
WI-Fi is working in all the hotel totally free for the guests , you only need the password to get connectivity – desk is open 24 hrs ,making a call we offer this password-
The location is clearly indicated in our web page: in front of the beach ,10 minutes walking from the CCIB, one minute from the 41 bus -this one going directly to the city center in 15 - 20 min- Also Selva de Mar subway station - going directly to the city center as well- 8 walking from the hotel.


we are sorry for the inconveniences that this situation may caused to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delfgauw, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The staff in a hotel can make or break someone’s stay. In this case only one member of staff was great. On arrival there was a problem with my booking, the member of staff on duty was great and had every thing sorted out in minutes.
We had a great room over looking the sea with a great balcony, there are only two room like this in the hotel but are worth the extra cash, even if you are on a quick Business trip.
Room was clean, a bit on the small side but worked well for a five day break over Christmas.
Now where it all goes wrong is the staff on reception, As we where staying a number of nights we used up all the tea an coffee in the room, we had to ask at reception for more tea and coffee, the first time we asked there was no problem and tea and coffee was replaced. The next time we asked the person on reception said that this was not possible, the only way we could get tea and coffee was at the bar. We explained we just wanted tea bags and coffee to make it in our room. Again we are told that this is not possible.
The next day at breakfast I was shocked to see a person come from reception and help him self to 80% of the donuts, leaving the customers almost nothing. We had to ask for some more to be made.
On checkout all the person on Reception wanted was my money and get back to eating donuts. She was in such a hurry to get rid of me she did not even give me a receipt for my stay.
I did ask a few times at reception to speak to the Manager but was always told there is no Manger on duty.
So be aware this hotel is run by the staff for there convince, try not to ask for anything from reception as you may mess up there day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcsoriano, Front Desk Manager at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you Mr. Stuart for your valuable time. I had the pleasure to made your check- in with my college and clarified what happened with your reservation, and I appreciate your comment very much . You booked a room on the first floor sea view - with additional cost -(as clearly indicated at the contract from web page),but you thought you contract the`` Mediterranean room ´´(placed at the seventh floor with a great terrace and a beautiful sea view sight and slightly different price ). We made and up grade for you on the Mediterranean room without any extra payment because from second one, your comfort is our priority.

About the bill, donuts and manager request we must say - once checked the security system cameras recording :


1-The receptionist show you the bill -paper bill- (7.38 min am)
2-You put your glasses on ( 07.38 am)
3- Check the bill (paper) with your wife
4- Then you nicely paid and forgot -or leave the invoice- at the desk (07. 39 am)
4- You had a sit at the sofa and wait for the taxi (7.40 am )
5- No word about manager request´s or any other complain during the recording
6- Nobody with donuts (from 7.00 until the final cam check 8.00 am)
7- You say goodbye and leave the hotel (07:41am)
8- no hurries from anybody of the staff (always at the desk)

We have a copy of the recording in case you need to check all this information . to get the copy please send a mail to the following adress :

frontmaritim@besthotels.es

About the tea, my apologies.

Best regards

Front desk Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Stayed 6 nights at the Front Maritim in sept 2012, over the weekend with husband and then 4 nights and days for a meeting at the hotel.
There was a bad smell of sewage everywhere in the hotel, comig fron the pipes, apparently due to a nearby sewage station.
Service was not very friendly.
Room facing the see was ok, well appointed, not very big.
Key card did not work properly, add to go down to reception to get it reset at least once a day. This happened to most of my colleagues too.
Breakfast was not good. Food quality pretty low. Not an extensive choicr for healthy things - lots of cakes and very sweet, greassy things though.
During our meeting we were served food during breaks, times were wrong, staff not nice and confused.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This hotel was very nice, but the room was quite small but clean. I loved the bathroom .. is kind of fansy.. modern and clean. The food was good.. we enjoy it.
The metro station was at 3-5 minutes awy from hote.
Great view at sea side.. Great location..
At 5 minutes away there is shpping center Diagonal Plaza .. be carrefour.. the shoops are close in Sundays :) .. but you can eat and drink there.. at food court.

Barcelona.. Is was a great experience .. and this hotel.. worth it our money; so I recomand it for couples.. business.. and friends..

Room Tip: Ask for a room with sea view at last floor .. it will be great ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcsoriano, Director General at Hotel Front Maritim, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your comment, it is essential for us to know your opinion, and that our customers spend a few pleasant days with us.We hope to see you soon. Remember that we are close to the beach and this makes us a pofecto hotel to enjoy a few days of summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Front Maritim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Front Maritim

Address: Passeig Garcia Faria 69-71, 08019 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#171 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Front Maritim 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Barcelona right on the beachfront and a few meters from international congress centre CCIB, the hotel has 177 rooms with direct telephone line, internet connection, satellite TV, air conditioning, full bathrooms with bathtub or shower and hair dryer. Some of them adapted for handicapped people and some with sea views. In the hotel you can enjoy our fitness room, with cardio machines, sauna and steam bath. Also you can use our business centre with computers connected to internet and our restaurant where you will taste a large variety of Mediterranean cuisine. There is own parking available in the same building. The hotel has 6 meeting rooms with audiovisual equipment, natural light, in front of the sea and high speed internet connection. They are the ideal place for the celebration of your meetings, conventions, banquets and all kinds of social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Front Maritim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Front Maritim Barcelona
Front Maritim Hotel
Hotel Front Maritim Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Front Maritim, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.