We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hesperia Del Mar

Save Saved
You added Hesperia Del Mar to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hesperia Del Mar
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Espronceda 6, 08005 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #258 of 516 hotels in Barcelona
Milan, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in Hesperia Del Mar for 5 nights. It's a nice 4 star hotel, not too luxurious and pretentious, but elegant and friendly.
We arrived at Barcelona airport (El prat) at about 10 in the morning. We then took a taxi which can be found just in front of the airport entrance. The driver knew where the hotel is located and in 25 minutes we arrived in front of the hotel. The taxi ride costs 25 euro. You can also reach the hotel by using the AeroBus shuttle service to Plaza Catalunya, and then take the metro to station Poblenou on line L4. The line L4 does not stop directly at Plaza Catalunya, so you can either go 5 minutes north of the piazza on foot, figure out the metro changes. The shuttle costs 5.35 euro, one way. The metro costs 2 euros per ride, but you can by a 10-ticket carnet for 9 euro (so much cheaper). From Poblenou station you can reach the hotel on foot in 10 minutes.

The check in starts at 2pm, but you can leave your luggage at the hotel and go to the beach. We changed the clothes in the hotel toilet and went to the beach which takes 5-10 minutes on foot. The hotel staff is very nice, they speak english perfectly and some of them speak Italian too. Our room was at the 4th floor. The bed was pretty comfy (with 3 pillows). There is a desk, a TV and a minibar.
The size of the wardrobe was enough to place 2 small pieces of baggage full of stuff inside. It also contains a little safe. Bathroom is large with a bathtub, hair-dryer and some small gadgets (sponge, toothbrush, shower cap, soap). The room is small, but clean and sound-proof. The breakfast costs 13 euro per person, but we preferred to eat at other places.

Next to the hotel there are some places where you can eat for a good price (kebab, grilled chicken with rice, tapas). There is also a bank and a couple of groceries stores. A supermarket is found just south of the Poblenou metro station. There is a pharmacy just next to the hotel.

The area is pretty cool and quiet. You can see a lot of people walking around, skating or biking which looks fun! The beach is good, clean and supervised by the police; there is some fitness equipment and showers. Of course there are lots of bars, restaurants and clubs, you have lots of choices!


Overall, it was a positive experience, we really enjoyed our holiday in Hesperia Del Mar. However, the last night, we were woken up by the fire alarm. Luckily there wasn't a real fire, but some [--] was smoking in the hotel...

Last tip: the water in Barcelona is not good, it tastes like chlorine, so buy some bottles of mineral water as soon as you can!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    66
    136
    74
    20
    4
See reviews for
24
102
11
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
west london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I stayed here with my other half and daughter and found the stay quite pleasant, its a nice clean hotel and very close to the beach and the centre of barcelona is just a cheap taxi ride away. The barcelona tour bus stops outside the hotel and you can purchase tickets for any attraction in the hotel reception who are very helpful. My only complaint about the hotel I can give is the price of the drinks from the minibar which I found quite expensive, but you can get drinks from the cafe which is just outside the hotel at a very cheaper price. The rooms also come with toiletries included and a minisafe which is free to use. Air con is very cold so so don't set to the coldest setting otherwise you will be freezing throughout the night lol

Room Tip: The beachside ones are 15 euros a night extra and come with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful, The room is big enough with a beautiful view of the sea. The bed is super comfortable.
5 minutes walking from the beach . The hotel is out of the main tourist routes so u have the chance to experience local food and chill out in bars with local people, very nice!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

Was staying here whilst attending a conference at the International Conference Centre. Given the late booking of this room I was happy with the location (10-15 minute walk to conference centre). The hotel was clean but some parts of the room were a little tired around the edges. The hotel was about a 10 minute walk to the metro which gets you into central Barcelona pretty quickly
. Would recommend this hotel if it suits you requirements, I don't think it was excellent value for money, but the lateness of the booking may have had something to do with that!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Hi,

We stayed here 7 nights and we were very pleased with our choice. The staff was very nice, they provided lots of informations.
I heard that the main problem in hotels/rentals/hostels in Barcelona is the noise. Well, we haven't dealt with it here. Quiet and nice, and very clean.
If you are lucky to have a room with a view, it's even greater. We had one, third floor, view to Mediteranean Sea. This room also had a small balcony which was super cool for mornings and evenings.

Also, this hotel has a farmacy near, a bus station, 41, if I remember correctly which goes directly to Plaza Catalunya, and a lot of places to eat. But the most important, the beach is only 100 m away. The metro station is 5-7 minutes away and it`s called Poble Nou. Also, easy to reach.

From here it's easy to go almost anywhere, because Barcelona has an excellent metro infrastructure. First we wanted to stay in the center of the town, but staying here was a wise choice. The metro is fast and it's very easy to reach Plaza Catalunya just in half an hour. And of course, this part of the town is great.

I recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 3rd floor or higher, with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hesperia Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hesperia Del Mar

Address: Espronceda 6, 08005 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Barcelona
#146 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hesperia Del Mar 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, NHHotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Hesperia Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hesperia Del Mar Barcelona, Catalonia
Hesperia Del Mar Hotel Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hesperia Del Mar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.