We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located, quiet and convenient” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Atlantis to your Saves list
Hotel Atlantis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Pelai 20, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #161 of 514 Hotels in Barcelona
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Spain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Centrally located, quiet and convenient”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Ask for a quiet room in the back and you'll have no noise at all. We had a triple in room 515 and the room was plenty spacious as well as the bathroom. Front desk staff are stand-offish, but helpful when asked. The man was much nicer than the lady with brown hair but neither were remotely rude. TREMENDOUS location - we were able to walk everywhere but to Park Guell - caught the bus. Great value for the $ if you are looking for a reasonable, quiet hotel with a decent breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    248
    49
    6
    6
See reviews for
89
198
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This place advertises that it was rated "Very Good" on tripadvisor, well they are very wrong. The place itself is pretty standard, moderate rooms, breakfast in the morning, and in a good area - there is a lot around it. But the staff left a horrible taste in our mouths. The staff are rude, condescending, and will not help you if you have questions. Steer clear of the woman with dark curly hair at the front desk - she was the absolutely WORST. The cleaning staff leaves by 11/11:30am everyday, so make sure that you don't wake up late or your rooms will never get cleaned. The cleaning staff also doesn't knock - they just come right on into your room. Barcelona was wonderful but we ended up staying at our friends hotel most of the time because we hated this one so much. DO NOT STAY HERE.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed at the Atlantis Hotel and I found it excellent! Very clean, cosy and central! You have everything at you fingertips: shops, metro, airport-bus, sightseeing bus, the famous Ramblas.
The breakfast is really rich and the price is not so high! Our room overlooked the congested street of Career de Pelai. Nevertheless, the windows were soundproof and it didn't affect our sleep. Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
98 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family of 4 had 2 rooms for 2 nights on the 4th floor. We asked for a quiet section of the hotel which involved facing the inside court (no light) but then we weren't spending much time in the room. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. The rating reflects that the staff were friendly and helpful since the property itself is more on the average side.

We used the Aerobus from the airport and walked to the hotel with our luggage ( 1 per person plus pack sack). This was doable but bring a map to avoid turning in circles.

The breakfast was continental style but sufficient to start out the day. Overall, if you are here just for a night or two and don't need to spend much time in the room, you will have a clean, comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Arrived at this hotel in the evening and the receptionist was nothing but rude and unhelpful when I asked for close places to buy a phone card and simple food items. When I arrived riots were also taking place up the street because of the current austerity program in Spain. The room (310) was unclean and upon opening the window was a rotten smell. I would instead recommend Casa de Marcelo for a personalized experience.

Room Tip: 310 has bad view with awful rotten smell outside window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Visiting Barcelona for the first time, I tried to choose a hotel which was close to the main attractions but still bne in a fairly quiert location. The Hotel Atlantis fitted that bill. Just round the corner from la Rambla and close to Place Catalunya, the location was ideal. It was very noisy, however, on our first night due to the following day being a holiday. Fireworks and firecrackers were still going off at 3-30 in the morning.
As for the hotel itself, check in was o.k. We arrived early but were allowed to leave our cases while we went to have a look round before coming back at check in time.
Our room was on the 4th floor at the front of the hotel. The room was clean but small. There was a mini bar and the prices seemed reasonable though we only used the bottled water from it.
Tea and coffee making facilities but no proper tea and the cups were paper cups.
The hotel has a bar but it is only open from 6-30 to 10-30 in the evening but not at weekends or holidays. This meant, arriving on Sunday and Monday being a holiday, the bar wasn't open until Tuesday. However, we decided to have a drink after being out for dinner on Tuesday night. The bar was staffed by a woman who didn't speak English. The selection wasn't very extensive so I had a half bottle of wine and my wife had a Cointreau which we took up to our room.
Breakfast was typical continental with some cooked items - scrambled egg, bacon, mushrooms and potato in breadcrumbs. Breakfast is normally served from 7-30 to 10-00 but if you come down after 9 there is a good chance there will be no scrambled egg left.
At check out we were again able to leave our case until it was time to leave for the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in the hotel on the 30th May 2013 for one night and I completely agree with the location comment made in other reviews. You literally walk for two minutes down the road and you are right at the top of Las Ramblas, near HardRock Café etc.

The Hotel Reception is small, but modern and had a secure place to store your luggage, the room is a little dated, the décor is old fashioned, but the room and bathroom was clean and bed comfy, which is the most important thing.

Breakfast was terrible - we ended up in a café round the corner, it was a little cold, dry and stale looking and there wasn't enough tables for guests - but, this was a small inconvenience, it wasn't a problem.

From my comparisons the difference between staying in this hotel and another on Las Ramblas was about £60 and for a two minute walk down the road, it is £60 more to spend in Barcelona! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Barcelona hotels
El Raval
Reding Hotel
Reding Hotel
#166 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
El Raval
Lleo Hotel
Lleo Hotel
#171 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 765 reviews
El Raval
Inglaterra Hotel
Inglaterra Hotel
#140 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
El Raval
Grupotel Gravina
Grupotel Gravina
#202 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
El Raval
Hostal Grau
Hostal Grau
#87 of 514 in Barcelona
4.0 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Barrio Gotico (Barri Gotic)
Hotel Denit Barcelona
Hotel Denit Barcelona
#99 of 514 in Barcelona
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantis

Address: Carrer de Pelai 20, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#119 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#152 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atlantis 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the city; easily accessible to all places of interest; fully equipped rooms and a multilingual staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Hotel Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Atlantis Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.