We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, value for money.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Atlantis

Save Saved
You added Hotel Atlantis to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Atlantis
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carrer de Pelai 20, 08001 Barcelona, Spain (El Raval)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #172 of 517 hotels in Barcelona
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Good location, value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Our family of 4 had 2 rooms for 2 nights on the 4th floor. We asked for a quiet section of the hotel which involved facing the inside court (no light) but then we weren't spending much time in the room. The rooms were clean and beds comfortable. The rating reflects that the staff were friendly and helpful since the property itself is more on the average side.

We used the Aerobus from the airport and walked to the hotel with our luggage ( 1 per person plus pack sack). This was doable but bring a map to avoid turning in circles.

The breakfast was continental style but sufficient to start out the day. Overall, if you are here just for a night or two and don't need to spend much time in the room, you will have a clean, comfortable sleep.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    185
    38
    5
    6
See reviews for
60
145
20
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Arrived at this hotel in the evening and the receptionist was nothing but rude and unhelpful when I asked for close places to buy a phone card and simple food items. When I arrived riots were also taking place up the street because of the current austerity program in Spain. The room (310) was unclean and upon opening the window was a rotten smell. I would instead recommend Casa de Marcelo for a personalized experience.

Room Tip: 310 has bad view with awful rotten smell outside window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Visiting Barcelona for the first time, I tried to choose a hotel which was close to the main attractions but still bne in a fairly quiert location. The Hotel Atlantis fitted that bill. Just round the corner from la Rambla and close to Place Catalunya, the location was ideal. It was very noisy, however, on our first night due to the following day being a holiday. Fireworks and firecrackers were still going off at 3-30 in the morning.
As for the hotel itself, check in was o.k. We arrived early but were allowed to leave our cases while we went to have a look round before coming back at check in time.
Our room was on the 4th floor at the front of the hotel. The room was clean but small. There was a mini bar and the prices seemed reasonable though we only used the bottled water from it.
Tea and coffee making facilities but no proper tea and the cups were paper cups.
The hotel has a bar but it is only open from 6-30 to 10-30 in the evening but not at weekends or holidays. This meant, arriving on Sunday and Monday being a holiday, the bar wasn't open until Tuesday. However, we decided to have a drink after being out for dinner on Tuesday night. The bar was staffed by a woman who didn't speak English. The selection wasn't very extensive so I had a half bottle of wine and my wife had a Cointreau which we took up to our room.
Breakfast was typical continental with some cooked items - scrambled egg, bacon, mushrooms and potato in breadcrumbs. Breakfast is normally served from 7-30 to 10-00 but if you come down after 9 there is a good chance there will be no scrambled egg left.
At check out we were again able to leave our case until it was time to leave for the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havant, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed in the hotel on the 30th May 2013 for one night and I completely agree with the location comment made in other reviews. You literally walk for two minutes down the road and you are right at the top of Las Ramblas, near HardRock Café etc.

The Hotel Reception is small, but modern and had a secure place to store your luggage, the room is a little dated, the décor is old fashioned, but the room and bathroom was clean and bed comfy, which is the most important thing.

Breakfast was terrible - we ended up in a café round the corner, it was a little cold, dry and stale looking and there wasn't enough tables for guests - but, this was a small inconvenience, it wasn't a problem.

From my comparisons the difference between staying in this hotel and another on Las Ramblas was about £60 and for a two minute walk down the road, it is £60 more to spend in Barcelona! I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I spent three nights at this hotel in March 2013. Based on the older reviews on street noise, I initially asked for a room away from the street - big mistake. The room did not have a window and it was like a dark cave. I asked the front desk for another room with a window to the street and they obliged. It the right decision; it was great to witness the street activity and the noise was not a problem at all once I closed the window. The room was decent; it was not a Hilton, but I had no complaints on anything. Internet connection was fine. The walls between the rooms were a bit flimsy - I could clearly hear the loud moans and groans of a couple making love in the next room on two nights - other than that this is a reasonably good hotel; conveniently located with respect to subway and other tourist attractions. I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If you are a tourist in Barcelona, ask for a room with a window to the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel has no pretensions but supplies comfortable beds in clean rooms with a good central location. The breakfast buffet was fine. The place was just what we needed and I'm happy to recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked this hotel because it was near Julia Travel and we were picking up a tour from their office after 2 nights in Barcelona.
It cost about €25 to get to by taxi from the airport.
Breakfast was included and I let them know in advance that because of being coeliac I needed gluten free - on entering the room there was a basket with a full loaf of gf bread, biscuits, cakes and cornflakes with a small carrier bag to take them down to the buffet breakfast, excellent service indeed. The breakfast was fine but busy as the hotel was full, there was a selection of hot and cold food, tea and coffee and you could have as much as you wanted.
The room we had was at the back and was very quiet and comfortable enough. Tea and coffee was provided in the room, a safety deposit box and free wifi.
The morning we left they provided a pack up breakfast as we had to check out early.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Atlantis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Atlantis

Address: Carrer de Pelai 20, 08001 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > El Raval
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#92 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#160 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Atlantis 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of the city; easily accessible to all places of interest; fully equipped rooms and a multilingual staff ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Atlantis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantis Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Atlantis Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Atlantis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.