We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient, good area, excellent service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Husa Illa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Husa Illa to your Saves list
Husa Illa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Diagonal , 555, 08029 Barcelona, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #396 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, Spain
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Very convenient, good area, excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Stayed 2 nights in april. Very large rooms, very quiet, back to the golden 80's ( carpet, size, deco). free internet in room. Walking distance to everything and shopping mall a must.
Travelled with 2 kids, 6 years and 9 months. Staff very helpful. Kids love the revolving door and the playground at the gardens. Our room faced the garden and the terraces area but was very very quiet. Breakfast buffet included in week end special rate plus late check out.
Very nice and classy neighborhood away from the tourist traps.

Room Tip: Ask for the garden rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    69
    66
    27
    13
See reviews for
40
49
5
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Pros: Room is rather big. Free internet. Attached to a shopping malls with Zara, Mango, Massimo Dutti, Bershka etc. Starbucks right across the hotel.
Cons: 20-mins walk to the nearest metro although there is a bus stop next to the hotel heading to Plaza Catalunya etc and it's faster to reach downtown by bus than by train. Poor selection of breakfast at EUR 16 per pax.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

I stayed at Husa L'illa for five nights. Overall a good experience. Would have been great if the bed were a bit more comfortable and the TV was not so old and with so few channels.

SERVICE - No complaints whatsoever. Lovely. A couple of very brief issues with wireless internet access were easily resolved with a quick call to the front desk.

ROOM - Spacious, basic accommodation. Very nice bathroom (though clearly the lighting was done by a man - haha!) The bed was a bit uncomfortable for me - I prefer a softer mattress than this. After the first night, I took the sofa cushion and put it under the fitted sheet for added softness. The television was VERY old (probably late 1980s) and the remote did not work, plus I think there were a total of about 15 channels and only CNN in English. I brought my iPad so this was no big deal, but I thought it was worth mentioning anyway.

BREAKFAST - A nice buffet, good coffee, open from 7:00-11:00 AM (included).

LOCATION - Attached to a nice little shopping mall. Outside the center of town, but I found it very easy to get around Barcelona. I bought a 4-day unlimited pass for the Metro for around $25 Euros. Several people mentioned that they thought the hotel was too far from the subway stop, but I disagree. You can get to the subway from the hotel by turning left on your way out the door and walking about 10 minutes... OR (much easier/faster), go outside the hotel and a little to your right - southeast - and just across the street (well, actually halfway across the street) on your right there is a stop for the Tram. Get on the Tram going toward the Maria Cristina Metro stop.

DINING NEARBY - Obviously there are a million great places to eat in Barcelona, but sometimes you are looking for something close to the hotel. I had dinner one evening at Piscolabis and it was quite good - just walk outside the hotel and take a left; walk about 5 minutes and it is right there next to the Starbucks. Good tapas, nice wine. I also had lunch one afternoon at the mall and it was not bad at all - just walk outside the hotel and take a sharp left turn into the mall; through the walkway at the back there are several little cafes with decent food and good people-watching.

Room Tip: I was on the top (5th) floor and had no issues with any noise from people or traffic. Not sure if t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed here for work for 2 nights in March. The hotel is fine, but has little to recommend it. As people have mentioned: once you get beyond the lobby everything is really dated, chipped, and a little tired. The lobby isn't any great shakes either, but it is a fresher looking than the rest of the hotel. I didn't try the breakfast, so I don't know if it any better (or if it is even in the price of the room). For me, the worst was that it was impossible to get fresh air anywhere. In the hotel rooms, the windows are locked shut. And, the air conditioner made a lot of noise, but produced very little air. In the conference room, they apparently couldn't cool it down (with the air conditioner), so they resorted to opening the one door into the room (out onto the non-useable). This still didn't provide much relief. Furthermore, the hotel is short hike to the closest subway station (maybe a 10-15 minute walk). It's not far, but with bags etc, it's too far for comfort. Lastly, I didn't compare with other hotels, but 108/night seemed a little steep for what you got (although I think you can get internet deals for as low as 88/night - but am not positive). That being said, there are some aspects that could recommend it depending on what you are looking for:
(i) the rooms are huge as is the bed, and the bathroom is old-school nice (marble walls, spacious, highish ceilings) - although of course, dated
(ii) the rooms are quite clean. Although tired and dingy-looking, the cleaning service is thorough (even fully making the bed the next day - often I find hotels don't fully make (e.g., tuck in the sheets completely))
(iii) the front desk tries to be accommodating - e.g., the second night we couldn't bear the stuffy room, so my husband begged that they open the window - and so they came with the key and after we promised not to jump or throw things out the window, they opened it... and it was luxurious.
(iv) the location is interesting and could be very good under certain conditions. If you're not familiar with Barcelona, the hotel is a pretty far outside of the main tourist areas (with the exception of Camp Nou - which is right down the street). To get to the Rambla you have to walk to the subway station (10-15 minutes) and then take the Line 3 for 7-9 stops (15 minutes) to get to the Rambla. However, it IS IN the heart (I mean literally in the middle) of a shopping complex that extends for several blocks. If you like to shop, there's a lot there (check the website for the list of stores: http://www.lilla.com/ca/). Furthermore, if you have kids this could be a great solution - as there is decent playground and open space behind the hotel. It has a smallish playground, a basketball court, and an AWESOME set of trampolines (fee-based) for kids. Furthermore, there appeared to be a gym of some sorts with sports like tennis, etc. there as well. Lastly, if you like to run, the opposite side of the street seems to be the main thoroughfare for runners(bikers) in the am. The blocks are long, the sidewalks are flat and wide (and there's a bike path), and in the morning it is in the sun. So, it looked like a good city run option (although I'm sure running down by the water is probably nicer :)). Furthermore, the area has a number of food options - not high end or particularly notable, but easy (many are child-friendly) and with decent food.

I probably wouldn't stay here again, but if I wanted to stay in the area, I might consider it (although there is a Marriott reopening down the street and there is an NH right behind, so there might be better options).

Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

I recently stayed at Husa L'illa for 5 nights. The rooms are definitely outdated (tvs are old, small CRTs). The free wireless internet only worked sometimes and when it worked was very slow. There was no iron in the room and when I asked for one, they said that they didn't have one (for the entire hotel!) and that they would have it pressed for me. They didn't tell me that it would cost $8 just to iron each shirt. So I was definitely surprised when there was a $40 charge at check out for pressing 5 shirts. Especially since I could have done it myself in ~15 min.

The only pro is that the rooms were clean. But I agree with other reviewers, you can do much better at another hotel for the price.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, UK
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

I chose trhis as the Hilton is closed and I knew I woudl only be there for one night and the locastion suited me perfectly for a metting the following morning.

The room was clean and the bed comfy. Furnishings chipped and the whole place was in need of a refurb / facelift - can't believe it has 4 stars.

My room key didn't work, but according to the man on the desk the computer said it did - so he would let me in with his pass, but wouldn't give me a new key - I would have to go back to reception if I wanted to leave my roomand then re-enter! Not too big a deal as it was fairly late. I took my luggage with me to breakfast the next day.

Breakfast (not included in room price) was straightforward and decent.

An OK place but I know Barcelona has better. I give it an average rather than poor because I did get an excellent night's sleep.

Room Tip: Make sure the key works
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Two things are most important for me: Rooms and Location. The rooms in Husa L'illa are BIG ROOMS. Very comfortable. Very neat. The Lobby is Small, But the dining room is big and breakfasts are nice.
The locatiob is quite far from the underground station (15 minutes - regular walk).
The staff is very helpful.
5 stars for the rooms. 2 stars for location. 4 stars for service. 1 star for the lobby.

Room Tip: All the rooms we saw were generous and big.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Husa Illa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Husa Illa

Address: Avenida Diagonal , 555, 08029 Barcelona, Spain
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#185 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Husa Illa 4*
Number of rooms: 103
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located in Barcelona's main financial area and forms part of the renowned L’Illa Diagonal shopping centre designed by Rafael Moneo and surrounded by splendid gardens, boutiques, shops and restaurants. Located right on the Avenida Diagonal, the hotel is easily accessible by public transport and from it the trade fair centre and airport can easily be reached. Set in a quiet area, the hotel provides 103 comfortable, spacious, bright rooms, all fully equipped with computer connections. There are also 10 fully equipped, spacious junior suites each with their own living room and two bathrooms. Cafeteria. Snack - Bar. The 'Amesis’ Restaurant serves an excellent choice of Mediterranean cuisine to savour at lunch or dinner. Banquet and meeting rooms can hold up to 120 guests. Easy access to the city's main tourist area. The hotel is also very close to the University Campus, the Camp Nou football stadium and the Palau de Congresos de Catalunya Conference Centre. Nearest metro stop is María Cristina on the L3 (green line). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Husa Illa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Husa Illa Hotel Barcelona
Husa l Illa Barcelona
Husa Illa Barcelona, Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Husa Illa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.