We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Barcelona in july” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Catalonia La Pedrera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Catalonia La Pedrera to your Saves list
Catalonia La Pedrera
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   C/ Corcega 368, 08037 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Corcega Hotel) (Eixample)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #306 of 518 Hotels in Barcelona
Frankfurt Am Main
1 review
“Barcelona in july”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The hotel is clean and has a good ac. Sleeping in late is difficult, since there is big noise from hallway from the cleaning ladies/other guests. They didnt provide any toilet brush (said for hygenic reasons, ridiculous) and sold stamps for postal card too expensive, we had to pay more 1/3 more than written on stamps and werent told that in advance. Weird. The rooms are reasonable but.wouldnt justify more than 3 stars in central europe. All in all too expensive for the service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    109
    45
    15
    8
See reviews for
20
110
20
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryborough, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

For the record I was happy with my allocated room which was the most spacious of the three hotels in large cities I've recently stayed in. It was clean tidy and comfortable. The hotel is well situated and the area is pleasant. Good so far. I came back after sight seeing all day and began to relax when my bathroom ceiling began to leak. It was swiftly attended to by the staff and I was relocated. A minimum of staff meant I had to pack and go down to reception for the new key but I was happy with the new room and the overall handling of the problem. Great shopping around the corner and taxis are relatively cheap here. I'm not very fit but walked to Julia travel to meet my tour.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife stayed here for 8 nights in July. Personally I would find somewhere else to stay, it can be in the same chain, but this particular place, is a 3 star at best, passing itself off as a 4 star for room charges I imagine so they still make lots of money. Below are my pros and cons.

Pro's
Breakfast is nice and plentiful, heaps of fruit, cured meats cereals toast bacon, whole eggs or scrambled if you prefer.
Staff are friendly and do what they are able to.
Reasonably new record although somewhat basic.
Free wifi which works pretty decently.

Con's
My first room service order took 2.5 hours to arrive. This is because the hotel does ot even cook it in house, they order from an outside establishment and then they deliver it to your room and if the restaurant stuffs then you have to deal with them and not the hotel.
Never enough staff is working. Especially at night when only one person is on at times.
You can order wine on room service, but there is no cork screws to open it in the room, and if no one is in the bar (cause sometimes it is even open at 7.30pm) the tot takes 20 minutes for the reception girl to find it, then your dinner goes cold.
Mouldy shower/bath tiles all around the bath/shower. (Photo attached).
The cleaners do not clean the toilet properly and there is stains at the bottom (photo attached).
Claims to be a 4star hotel, does not have a pool, fitness centre, in house or 24 room service.
I booked a double and it was confirmed at the reception, then I end up in a twin (not even the European beds pushed together thing).
Always understaffed and the people who are working suffer and are overworked running around doing things for people. Numerous times I called reception and was told they would call me back in a couple minutes (never called back).

All in all I would for recommend this hotel to anyone I know, and will not do so. I will not return. Dampened my honeymoon somewhat.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lapedrera_direccion, Gerente at Catalonia La Pedrera, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
After having spent eight days at the hotel is a disappointment us know your opinion about us, for several consecutive days has banned cleaning your room and also we have not commented any impact except room service that was requested and also gave you a free bottle of wine.
Now we know that we can not solve anything but we do not want to have this perception of us.
The hotel does everything possible to help the needs of each client and this time we are late.
we are willing to rectify and welcome your suggestions for meeting you in the future.Carlos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here mid June on tour with Riviera Holidays. Excellent food (at breakfast and dinner), room clean, bed comfortable. Staff all very polite and helpful at all times. Not much of a view from our room unfortunately - but who goes on holiday to sit in their hotel room looking out of the window? Would definately go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The most annoying thing about this hotel was having to go through the "signing in through their own portal" procedure every time to access the net - a waste of time. I did not want to see their Facebook page every time I wanted to access the web. Having said that the Wi Fi was provided without extra charge and the signal was strong and adequately speedy.
Pillows had nasty scratchy zips on them.
Views from windows poor - but what can you expect from a central location in a crowded city like Barcelona? The location is very good being near shops and cafes and many of the sights of Barcelona.
Cooked breakfast was excellent. Staff were polite and quite helpful.
Overall standard of cleanliness was pretty good but the bath was badly chipped and floor tiling in bathroom cracking.
Overall an adequate and anonymous business hotel - hardly 4 star.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was the second time I stayed at this hotel. it is a comfortable, nicely old-fashioned hotel in a convenient place - round the corner from Gaudi's la Predrera and not too far from his church. An interesting 20 minute walk takes you to the heart of the 'Rambla' and ten minutes more takes you to the old cathedral and the Picasso Museum. Or you can use the Metro.
This visit, I had a kind upgrade to room 709. It was really excellent - a suite with a large balcony with a beautiful view of the cathedral on the hill. I sat each evening, watching the misty images with a warm wind blowing towards me. If you can get this room - I thoroughly recommend it. But I hope it will still be empty when I next arrive...
I took a short taxi ride to the beach from here - and - of course - I really recommend that you do that - watch the sunset from the 26th floor of W Hotel, eat in one of the restaurants beneath and stroll along the sands. Then return to the excellent value of Catalonia La Pedrera.
By the way - Spain's ancient laws mean theft is not prosecuted by more than a fine unless the thieves have more than 600 euros on them. Which means the professionals are out in force. Watch your bag - sling it across your shoulders, mind all belongings. even within your hotel!

Room Tip: A premium room gets you a kettle. My review based on small suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Great location for being near Metro, Sagrada familia, and La Pedrera. Subway in for more old city locations or walk via las Rambla or passeig de Gracia. In Eixample neighborhood with hip architecture, great shopping and cool tapas restaurants. Try La Pepita just down street. Breakfast was fantastic and beds are European firm, which we happen to love. Room and hotel tho are NOT 4 star, perhaps 2.5 at best. Breakfast and location make up for what it lacks. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Catalonia La Pedrera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalonia La Pedrera

Address: C/ Corcega 368, 08037 Barcelona, Spain (Formerly Catalonia Corcega Hotel)
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona > Eixample
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#162 Luxury Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Catalonia La Pedrera 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Catalonia Corcega is situated in the neuralgic centre of the modernist route of Barcelona, it surrounded by the best buildings built by architects such as Gaudi, Domenech i Muntanter, etc. It is nearby the crossing between Av. Diagonal and Paseo de Gracia, the best commercial, services and business area. Opened in 2001, the hotel offers 77 rooms and 2 suites. All the rooms are fully equipped corresponding to a hotel in this category. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Venere, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Catalonia La Pedrera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalonia La Pedrera Hotel Barcelona
Hotel Catalonia Corcega
Catalonia Corcega Barcelona
Catalonia La Pedrera Barcelona

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Catalonia La Pedrera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.