We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but I expected more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Condado Hotel Barcelona

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Condado Hotel Barcelona to your Saves list
Condado Hotel Barcelona
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Aribau 201, 08021 Barcelona, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 516 Hotels in Barcelona
São Paulo, São Paulo, Brazil
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good hotel, but I expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We spent two nights at the hotel.
The room, including the bathroom, was okay, nothing special.
Location is pretty good, as it is easy to take a bus to anywhere and is surrounded by several restaurants and bar. The only problem is that the hotel does not offer parking space and parking in the area is extremely expensive.
Although the room does not have minibar, the hotel offers unlimited fresh bottles of water.
In summary, the hotel is good but a little behind my expectations.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    395
    56
    11
    5
See reviews for
166
426
32
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle and Gateshead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Stayed here for three nights recently. Overall very pleasant, but not anything out of the ordinary. The rooms don't have tea or coffee making facilities or fridges. I accept the fridges on each level, did always have drinks in them, but you were asked not to put your own food in them (We had picked up some fruit and a sandwich whilst our). Also, not to offer room service or the use of an iron and ironing board seemed a little unusual and something you'd usually routinely expect. These isn't a bar or a designated area, save for reception, where you can chill and sit with a beer or cuppa. The hotel is in a decent location and is a twenty or so minute walk to the Playa Catalunya and another 10 minutes or so to the Rambla. The room we had was street side and did suffer from some nighttime noise from the club opposite, but not too intrusive, after all it is a bustling and vibrant city. In summary, if you want somewhere to drop your bags and explore the city without the trappings you normally expect from a hotel charging almost €200 a night, then it might be for you or you want a bit more comfort and service options, I'd look elsewhere.
The staff on reception were very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper then ask for a room that isn't facing Aribau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCondadoManager, Director General at Condado Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your time reviewing your stay with us.

Unfortunately, fridges available in all floors close to the main elevator are for our complimentary bottle of water (daily replacement around 13:30 h.).

However, we have available, at the front desk, 24h. different fridges to store food, drinks or even, in another one, medicines.

We are a family run hotel with no other F&B services (clearly indicated in our website or third party ones) than breakfast and limited room service (07:00 - 11:00 breakfast service).

Your review will help future visitors but I highly encourage all travellers to check what services are available at any hotel in the world prior to book to avoid misunderstandings like yours.

Once again, thank you for your review. Kind regards, Ignacio Casellas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights in June. Lovely smart looking hotel. Good large room with large bathroom. Offer free bottles of water on each floor which is a nice touch but often fridges were empty. Think people just empty them! Shame hotel has no coffee facilities in room although many are the same in Europe that I've been to. They have a free safe in the room which is good and I advise to use. My partner had her make up stolen whilst we were out in the city. Best thing is the location, is only around 10 minute walk to diagonal metro station and passieg de Garcia, the 5th ave of Barcelona!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland, West Virginia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed here for spanish Grand Prix. Excellent find. Easy to get from airport on coach. Get coach to square and then hop on a local bus across the road to get to hotel. Stops right across the road. Can also walk to from main square. Lovely rooms. Will definitely come back. Also just 20min walk to get to bus from hotel out to track.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

Me and my wife stayed in this hotel during first week of June 2014, The ROOM - We booked a double room for 183 euros for 2 nights with wifi and without breakfast. Room was comfortable and clean but bit noisy (Ask for a room which not street facing). Surprisingly the rooms do not have refrigerator, there are two of them for the whole floor and are generally out of stock. STAFF - Hotel staff was professional but not friendly. They helped us with cheaper tickets for hop on hop off bus tour. LOCATION - Hotel is not close to the beach or any tourist attraction but is close to Place de Frencesc Marcia where you can catch red or blue route of Barcelona Turistic tour and also it is opposite to Cervecería 100 Montaditos Aribau - for cheap and quick breakfast. Direct bus service to Barcelona sants railways station which takes around 15 minutes.

Room Tip: Please dont choose rooms which are street facing or are close to the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelCondadoManager, Director General at Condado Hotel Barcelona, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for your time reviewing your stay with us.

I would like to clarify (for future visitors) the following point:

You are right: There is no fridge in the rooms.
However, we (daily replacement around 13:00) offer bottled water (no extra charge). Additionally, there is a really cost effective vending machine unbeatable vs. a fridge in the rooms.

As last, we provide 24 h. available fridges in the Front desk to store drinks, food or medicines (in another fridge).

In case you would like to get more information, please do not hesitate contact me (go the header of our site on TA to check our contact details).

Once again, thank you for your time and for choosing us for your stay in our city. Kind regards, Ignacio Casellas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

I like to visit Barcelona every year. I was delighted to find this hotel and have now stayed here twice. The staff are helpful and efficient and address u by name. Rooms are spotless. The hotel is great value for money. The location is not in the middle of tourist town, but I prefer that. There are lots of nice restaurants and cafés nearby and the bus runs close to the hotel.
The one extra thing I would like in this hotel would be a small fridge in the room.

Room Tip: This hotel is not noisy, but the rooms facing away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

I had a nice two night stay at Hotel Condado.

I had requested a balcony room however the front desk clerk advised me upon check-in that my Expedia booking was only for a standard room. He did however kindly offer me a balcony room on the second night for the same price which was greatly appreciated. The room was beautiful and spacious and very clean.

The hotel offers free bottled water in the fridges located in the halls and Lobby which is a nice touch.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Condado Hotel Barcelona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Condado Hotel Barcelona

Address: Aribau 201, 08021 Barcelona, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Barcelona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Best Value Hotel in Barcelona
#56 Family Hotel in Barcelona
#60 Romantic Hotel in Barcelona
#77 Business Hotel in Barcelona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Condado Hotel Barcelona 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Condado Barcelona has a privileged location at the business and shopping hub of Barcelona's Diagonal Avenue, just a few minutes away from Paseo de Gracia, Rambla de Catalunya and the famous modern style route. We offer a personalised service, absolutely focussed to our guest’s satisfaction during your stay in our city, Barcelona. The was recently fully refurbished, reaching an avant-garde and a very comfortable atmosphere like most boutique hotels in the world.In addition, the Hotel is located in an upmarket residential area of central Barcelona within walking distance to famous modern style route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Condado Hotel Barcelona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelona Condado Hotel
Condado Hotel Barcelona Catalonia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Condado Hotel Barcelona, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;